We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the consistently BEST restaurants in GSO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Valley Grill

Green Valley Grill
622 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
336-854-2015
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Green Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 770 restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway
Description: Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic decor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the consistently BEST restaurants in GSO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've eaten at the GVG at least 10 times over the last few years and it always pleases. Taking your wife out (or girlfriend...or fill in the blank______), entertaining clients, or to enjoy an adult beverage after work? This place is great for all of the above. The bar always serves up on-point cocktails, although there beer selection could use some more craft selections. The wine list is an emersion into every wine production center in the world.

You came here to eat right? If they have sea scallops on the menu...get them. The menu changes by the season and I always look right for the duck and scallop selections. Their specials never disappoint and they always have a great vegetarian option for the non-omnivore.

Service is always top notch and the place has a great decor that gets better come christmas time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for being an advocate of everything we are about! We are very proud of our handcrafted cocktails. Mark and Ashish really know how to create delicious cocktails that deliver in taste and presentation--they are never ordinary! You are right about the scallops...it's a guest favorite because the scallop dish changes every menu. I'm also delighted to see your comment about our decor--we have an in house florist team that delivers beyond expectations from events in the hotel, fresh lilies in the restrooms, and plants and decor in our outdoor dining and the cloister garden. Christmas time is also my favorite here because Brenda and Tom decorate our spaces beautiful with the right old world style holiday elegance. See you on your next visit to Greensboro.

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    231
    101
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant in O'Henry Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Probably my favorite restaurant in Greensboro. An old, established, pleasant, comfortable restaurant with great menu and excellent food! Plenty of American comfort food, but also Italian meals. Very good home-made soups and excellent hamburgers cooked to your taste. A classy place, with old-world charm. Great service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are honored to be your favorite restaurant in Greensboro! I have to agree with you--our hamburgers are delicious and the soups our team makes are top notch. Right now with Strawberries and Tomatoes in season the soups are my favorite. We appreciate such high praises!

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Nicaragua
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great in lots of ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food is well prepared and lots of choices...and service matches, even when busy. A must stop when in town for business or a night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted you think of us for both business and a night out. We will see you on your next visit.

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had the nicest meal I ever had (on 2-12-2013); and amazing place, quality worth the price. Nice variety of menu items, but not so many to be confusing. Just overall wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Wow! We appreciate such high praises! We can't tell you how thrilled we are to see your comments. It is part of our first three mission planks to provide you with the experience you had, and we couldn't be more proud of our team for delivering the nicest meal you ever had to you.

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, very good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found the setting to be lively, but not so loud that we could not engage in conversation. The food selection was very nice, but their selection of wines by the glass could be expanded. Everyone loved what they ordered and there were few leftovers. I would highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, Manager at Green Valley Grill, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We actually do have a variety of 75 wines by the glass. Im so sorry your server did not fully explain to you our wine list--we are very proud of it, and it recieves the wine spectator award of excellence every year. Next time you visit please let us know and we can make sure you see the list. We are thrilled to see you highly recommend us. See you on your next visit to Greensboro!

-Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Valley Grill also viewed

 

Been to Green Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Valley Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.