We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific selection of beers on tap, excellent pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
609 South Elm Street, Greensboro, NC
(336) 235-2840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 723 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Terrific selection of beers on tap, excellent pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wish the Mellow Mushroom chain was not just a regional one; I wish I had access to it everywhere. The Greensboro location, downtown (so parking can be difficult), features large stained-glass windows so you get light without having to look at other buildings. The mighty bar has about 32 beers on tap, plus bottled varieties. I had a bowl of the mushroom soup (rich and creamy), shared a muffuletta (good bread and tasty topping), and ate a couple slices of the "Mellow-terranean" pizza, which is notable for its delicious crust. It's not often I think the crust is just as yummy as the stuff piled on top of it. There are so many unusual types of pizza, but you can also build your own by choosing toppings. Jeremy, our server, was friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It all started with pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went here on a recommendation for carryout pizza. Ordered our pizza and tried one of the many beers on tap while waiting. Pizza was worth the wait. Came back 2 times for lunch to try some of there different sandwiches. If you like mushrooms, try the soup. Stain glass windows really add to this old building. Will return again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Greensboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Coming from New York, it's been nearly impossible to find anything close to acceptable pizza in Greensboro. Mellow Mushroom's pizzas are very good. The crust is probably the best part along with the excellent choice of ingredients. The beer selection is vast and there's even a beer club you can join.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch last week on our way home from Charlotte. I've been to several Mellow Mushroom's and I believe this one may have been the largest yet.

arrived just in time to grab a couple slices. Also ordered a salad because I figured the slices wouldn't be enough. WRONG! The slices were so huge that they hung off the plates. I could only eat one and ended up taking the other home.


the caesar salad had the perfect amount of dressing and the pizza had the perfect amount of parmesan. Perfect perfect perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We can always count on great food, drinks and service at this location. The Kosmic Karma is awesome! And the guys love the mighty meaty.. Great place to just hang out and have a drink also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.