We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MJ's Steak and Seafood

MJ's Steak and Seafood
620 Dolley Madison Rd, Greensboro, NC 27410-4242
336-852-4889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MJ's Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Friendly Ave
Transit: Corner of Guilford College Road and West Friendly Avenue.
greensboro, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved our meal. Superb food, attentive staff, charming decor. Our visit exceeded our expectation in every way. I had scallops over risotto. It was so good. Thank you MJ's...we'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth Seeking Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

MJ's is an attractive little house converted into a gourmet restaurant. Parking is limited, so I'm glad we went early. The jumbo sea scallops were perfection, and the lobster mashed potatoes were a special treat, chock full of hunks of lobster. The strawberry shortcake dessert was disappointing. Although I asked if it was traditional shortcake with fresh strawberries, the answer was vague, "Yes, we have strawberries in the kitchen." When delivered, the slice of cake was layered with plain cake, vanilla cheesecake, and topped with strawberry mousse. On the side was one large strawberry carved into a rose! The service was a little uneven for a white tablecloth restaurant, but overall it was worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good seafood, ok experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited MJ's as part of a large party celebrating a graduation. The food was very good. The service was a little shaky. We in the party didn't all know each other, and the check splitting stuff is always awkward, but the waitress could have handled it better. One person wanted to order a bottle of wine, but didn't know what to pick, so she asked another guest to select. The bottle ended up on the selector's check.

I'm not sure what prices should be in Greensboro, but they seemed a bit high.

Rooms in a former house are pleasantly decorated. Parking is tight.

We'd go back, but it might not be our first choice in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Worst experience. Service is bad. I ordered medium well steak, it came rare, then when they brought it back it was burnt. My friend ordered shrimp on pasta. It was too rubbery and was too small too. Prices are rather too high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eden, nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great service, good food. Situated on an old house so the place is a little on the small side. Tight parking lot. Will be back in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Steak and Seafood also viewed

 
Greensboro, NC
Greensboro, NC
 

Been to MJ's Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MJ's Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.