We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great; 4 stars a stretch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghassan's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ghassan's Restaurant
1605 Battleground Ave, Greensboro, NC 27408-8005
336-272-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Restaurant details
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good, not great; 4 stars a stretch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

My son and I tried their signature dish: the steak and cheese platter. We both agreed it was very good. The fries were average. Portions were satisfactory.

As a gyro lover who lived in Greece for 2 years, I also wanted to give the gyro a try, so we ordered the gyro salad. What we got was a big pile of iceberg lettuce, a small portion of gyro meat (beef & lamb), a few cucumber slices and a hint of feta and tomato. Oil and vinegar -based sauce on the side was good, otherwise the salad was disappointing and not all Greek.

Gyro is typically accompanied by tadziki (cucumber sauce) but I had to ask for it. I now regret my request - the tadziki was not at all fresh. I didn't realize until later that I was charged extra for this.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, locally owned.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great food, convenient locations, and locally owned. It's a can't miss choice.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT Steak & Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I went to the Battleground Avenue Ghassan's for lunch and were very impressed with the steak & cheese sandwich. My only regret is that I got the 6" instead of the 8" - the 6" is a bit small. The gyro sandwich was good but we prefer Mythos Grill which is just down the street and has a better Greek salad and tzatziki sauce. Ambiance leaves a bit to be desired - they had a 101.5 sanitation grade but my husband didn't like the strong disinfectant smell - the dining area was dated and not the cleanest (despite the fact that we were the first lunch customers of the day) but for a delicious steak & cheese, there isn't a better one in Greensboro.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Decent and quick place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Ghassan's has been a part of Greensboro for many years. In those years I have eaten here many times. Although I don't think their sandwiches are the absolute best in Greensboro they are very good and the fastest in the triad for a hot sandwich.

They do have vegetarian options which makes this a place I'll go to in a heart beat. The prices are reasonable and based on the crowds at lunch this place is popular.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Gyro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Went for lunch on a weekend. The food was good. Order a gyro platter which consisted of a lamb and beef gyro, fries and salad with feta. The salad dressing was excellent. The lettuce was chopped fine so you have to scoop more than stab, but tastes great. The fries were nice and crispy (not hard though). The gyro itself was good. The cucumber sauce topping was good (maybe too much of it which makes it a little messy). Good amount of food for the price. Didn't leave much on the plate. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghassan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ghassan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghassan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.