We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and impressive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Civil Rights Center & Museum

International Civil Rights Center & Museum
134 South Elm Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
+1 336-274-9199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Greensboro
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The International Civil Rights Center & Museum (ICRCM), located in Greensboro, N.C., is an archival center, collecting museum and teaching facility devoted to the international struggle for civil and human rights. The Museum celebrates the nonviolent protests of the 1960 Greensboro sit-ins that served as a catalyst in the civil rights movement. Our vision is to memorialize the courageous stand of the Greensboro Four as they launched, for posterity, the sit-in movement Feb. 1, 1960. We hope that the ICRCM, with its focus on the sit-in activities at the F.W. Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro in 1960, will inspire the vigilance and fortify the spirit of all oppressed people to step forward in the ongoing struggle for human freedom.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fascinating and impressive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The museum displays are very well done. I learned a lot. There were original pieces making the learning process feel authentic. You can tour on your own but I recommend using the guided tour. I don't think it costed extra.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    45
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Celebrating historic event but total waste of time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Civil Rights Museum celebrates an important event in our history, but save your money and read a book about it. The city (taxpayers) have spent millions renovating this building, and it will finally go broke after years of being propped up by the government. It is obvious a lot of other people feel it is a waste of time to visit also.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“This museum was very well done and exceeded my families expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a guided museum experience which was fantastic. Our tour guide was amazing so I feel my family learned so much more this way. While partly focusing on the first Woolworth sit in, which happened right in that building, the broad focus was the entire Civil Rights Movement. The experience made me want to learn more about that part of our country's history. The building was beautiful and very clean.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“International Civil Rights Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very good exhibit of pictures and items from the 1960's civil rights movement, especially the Woolworth "sitin" by the four African American students from A&T University. Also has exhibits of other discriminatory events from that era.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Maybe I am somewhat biased as I grew up in Greensboro during the sit ins and frequented Woolworth's lunch counter before and after the sit in. If you are not from Greensboro, the guided tour is very educational, but it sometimes drags out. Would prefer prefer self guided tours along with an Ipod so one could spend more time in an area for further research.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Civil Rights Center & Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Civil Rights Center & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Civil Rights Center & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.