We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service..not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindley Park Filling Station

Lindley Park Filling Station
2201 Walker Avenue, Greensboro, NC 27403
+1 336-274-2144
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 785 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hamburgers, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service..not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have loved coming for lunch and Sunday brunch LPFS for a couple years. They have a very unique menu, full of yummy sandwiches and salads. I normally always get the Brice Street if I go for lunch and for brunch I get the eggs benedict with bacon. A friend and I went yesterday for brunch and service was slack and slower than usual. Food was a little iffy, but the bloody marys are delish. The service hasnt always been this bad so I think possibly a couple new employees are to blame..not sure though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wish I could say it was still one of my favorites...SERVICE IS RUDE!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well where to start? My husband and I used to be regulars, like at least 3-5 times a month for lunch however after rude service we had slacked off going. Today I called to place a to go order and was greeted with the rudest service to date. So bad I actually called back and cancelled my order and speak to a manager. When the guy answered and I said I wanted to cancel he hung up without letting me say anything further. Sad because the service and food used to be amazing...not sure what has happened but I doubt I will consider it again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Another one of those local, neighborhood gems we'd neglected for a while - so this became our lunch spot today. This is very small, cool, kinda funky place in the Walker Avenue neighborhood where I spent my early teenage years.

A lot of the salad and sandwich choices are named for streets in a 2 or 3 block radius. This place was a filling station, as was the place across the street that now houses a pizza restaurant, and just across the street, down further, is Emma Kay's, which was Raynor's Barber Shop in the 50's & 60's.

This is a soup, salad, and specialty sandwich place, with some interesting choices, and some interesting takes on a few traditional items. For example, they offer an open-faced pulled pork sandwich melt (The Wright Avenue) - yeap, swiss cheese on pig. It is served on Texas Toast with slaw, and goes for $8.95 with a side. While it will not replace traditional NC style barbecue, at least for me, this is a nice change of pace, with some heat in the meat, and some zip to the slaw. The cheese didn't add anything for my taste.

The Corner ($4.25) is an all beef wiener in a dense, crusty bun, and comes with chipotle ketchup, red onion, and sweet relish. I ordered it because I eat hot dogs - once was quite enough. It does come with a side, so there is some value here. I tried their Pasta Salad, and it is very nice. They also have a Sausage Dog - which is a better choice, I think.

The Park Sampler ($8.95) is a choice of 3 salads from Egg Salad, Tuna Salad, Rosemary Chicken Salad, Black Bean Hummus, Roasted Red Pepper HummusNew Bliss Potato Salad, Garden Salad, and the aforementioned, Pasta Salad.

The Egg Salad is exceptional - loaded with great flavor, and nice chunks of egg white. The Chicken Salad is also very good, and rather different - with bits of chopped green and red pepper, and a mild rosemary taste. The Tuna Salad is equally good.

Some interesting, eclectic food choices in this tiny place - 6 bar seats, and about the same number of small tables. Service is generally good, but things can get hectic at peak times, and brunch on Sunday. Ownership is same as Josephine's a couple of blocks over on Spring Garden

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“David Nance rocks the kitchen!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great mushroom burger cooked perfectly and super tasty potato salad! Loved every bite! I will stop here every time I am in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped by Lindley Park for a quick drink outside on the patio. Great atmosphere and very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindley Park Filling Station also viewed

 

Been to Lindley Park Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindley Park Filling Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.