We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandover Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandover Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Grandover Resort and Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Thousand Club Road, Greensboro, NC 27407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love it! Going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend of my wedding (1/4/2013). We reserved the British suite. It's nicely decorated and spacious. It has a kitchen area, living space with flat screen TV, and a spacious bathroom for the room and a half bath for the living area. The bathroom in our room has a whirlpool tub (which was perfect for the day of my wedding) and a shower.

The service was wonderful. Amanda Vanscoyk was very helpful. She gave me and my husband an extensive tour of the resort prior to our wedding.

Also, the resort has a room for shooting pool with a bar, which we used for our "family gathering night" (very fun). It also has a restaurant which we used for our rehearsal lunch (the food was delicious).

Everything was in one area and it was perfect for us.

We got married about 15 minutes away from the resort at the Castle McCulloch Crystal Garden Ballroom.

We've decided to go back every few years just because of our wonderful experience and great food.

The photos are from our photographer at BG Photography.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    56
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
33
72
10
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent four nights at the resort. Beautiful and well maintained facility. The staff was hit and miss. We checked in in mid-afternoon and did not need help with our bags. Directed to the elevators, but no other information or map of the hotel or resort. First nights dinner-good service until we had been served our main course and then the waiter disappeared. Similar spotty service at next mornings breakfast, but great service at last evening dinner and last morning breakfast (all in DiValetta). Friendly staff in two of three meals in Cafe Expresso East. The cafe is a good choice for a light breakfast or dinner. Golf staff friendly and helpful-someone finally told us how to deal with our golf clubs. No map of downtown Greensboro or directions to attractions available. When we asked a doorman for directions to the gardens, he first directed us to an outside walkway and then took the time to lead us through the hotel to a back entrance to the gardens. Only one bath towel per person, used wash cloth left in bathroom when we arrived. With a littlework, this could be a great place, but it's not there yet.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 11th floor with a great view of the East Course (1 and 10) and golf range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked our stay for a "girl's" weekend. We found the majority of staff friendly and hard working. The exception was the front desk folks. We made our reservations separately, when we checked in, we asked if we could have adjoining rooms or at least rooms next to each other. The front desk clerk was surly and said it was impossible but MAYBE we could be on the same floor. When we woke up in the morning, there were newspapers outside only about 1 in 8 or 10 rooms on the floor. Just because the front desk clerk did NOT KNOW how to change our rooms so they were close to each other, she chose to be surly and say it was impossible instead. UGH! UGH! UGH! That said, the waitstaff in the restaurants made us feel pampered. Our glasses were refilled almost before we had a chance to take a sip. Our food was delivered hot and promptly. The food was good, and I am pretty picky. The staff at the pool really hussled and delivered us beverages poolside. We also scheduled some spa treatments. The manager was accomodating to get us appointments with overlapping times so we could socialize while getting our treatments. The aesthetists were some of the best i ever experienced. We truly felt pampered. The rooms were a good size, the linens and towels relatively soft (not scratchy) but not the best I have experienced. The room was clean. It was nice that the room had a "wet bar" with a minifridge. The hallway noise was not too bad. Noisy, drunk girls arrived on the floor at 1 AM, their voices were muted enough that I could not make out what they were saying, but enough noise/laughter came through to wake me up. I could be convinced to stay here again. But I would want to speak to the manager about room choices next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here during a spontaneous, short trip to Greensboro. The grounds and hotel are beautiful! Our room was very clean, and we only heard minimal noise during our stay. The view from our room was great, overlooking the golf course and trees as far as we could see. There was free wi-fi access in the room. We did not experience the frustrations with the staff that other reviewers described. We found them to be helpful and pleasant. We ordered room service for breakfast (french toast and an omelet) and were quite pleased. We were pleased when the plates unexpectedly came with a side of fresh fruit. Two critiques--one elevator had a terrible odor and no pay-per-view movie option in the room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beautiful property. Quiet, and out of the way from main street traffic. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The lobby bar was enjoyable. The bartender was on point with the drinks and prompt service. The standard room was nice and quiet. No outside or room to room noise. Also very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel was nice. Found it to be clean and in good condition. Service was good. Had dinner at the bar and the bartender was very nice and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again if occasion required.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As others have noted, the road into Grandover and outside presentation is outstanding! However, almost everything else about the hotel is sub-standard.

People:
Check in: Not bad
Bellstand folks are sour (ie. gave our guy $20 for bringing luggage up....no thank you).
Breakfast: another set of sour folks
Golf shop: great people....good customer service

Facility:
Elevators: distasteful smells....thought I was in a dumpster
Rooms: beds Ok, no HD television (plus if you have a TV on 11th floor it needs to be continually reset by accessing menu and having TV learn channel set), has ref refrig BUT one of our party woke up with bug bites all over his leg. My interpretation: BED BUGS. Be careful of rooms on 11th floor.
Food: breakfast buffet OK if you want eggs. Fruit, cereal, yogurt was lacking (ie what yogurt they did have was thoroughly soaked...ice had melted and bowel was now water.
Golf: Played East course. Greens were in awful shape and fairways were spotty. I had played there 7 years ago and the course was in much better shape then!
Fitness: Fair at best. Lifecycle bike, several ellipticals and one multi-purpose machine in a fairly large room. They should invest in a few more weight machines

Bottom line: bad food plus bugs = I will never stay there again. I'll book at the Umstead in Cary (a world class hotel) and drive the hour to Greensboro next time

Room Tip: Normally I'd say book a high room but one of our rooms on 11th floor seemed to have bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandover Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandover Resort and Conference Center

Address: One Thousand Club Road, Greensboro, NC 27407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#27 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grandover Resort and Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the North Carolina Foothills is the Grandover Resort, a picturesque resort with 247 guestrooms, Spa at Grandover and two 18-hole championship golf courses. Indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, fitness center, restaurants and lobby bars. We are the perfect choice for meetings or conferences with our flexible meeting space, on-site catering, audio & visual, and much more for you to have a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Grandover Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandover Resort Conference Center
Grandover Greensboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandover Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.