We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Meeting That Went Off Without a Hitch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandover Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandover Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Grandover Resort and Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Thousand Club Road, Greensboro, NC 27407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Business Meeting That Went Off Without a Hitch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

These folks know how to do business meetings! I had a small gathering (25 people) with a light breakfast & lunch at this property. From the moment I called to inquire/book the meeting to the meeting's conclusion...it went off without a hitch. Even in some of the more pricey hotels, this doesn't always happen.

The room was set up exactly as I had requested and there was plenty of space to move around in the room and yet not so cavernous we felt overwhelmed. Coffee & soft drinks were refreshed throughout the meeting and we barely even noticed the wait staff doing it.

I let the sales person (Amanda VanScoyk) guide me as to the food served and I was not disappointed. I'd rate it 10 out of 10. It was fresh, very appealing and not your "standard fare." I also felt the price was fair and didn't feel they were trying to gouge me. They waived the cost of the meeting room for the number of sleeping rooms we reserved.

Greensboro is a terrific, central location in North Carolina and is served by an airport. We were able to bring people in from Chicago, D.C., and Atlanta easily. The drive into the property is quite impressive and sets a positive tone.

The sleeping rooms were just a tiny bit tired but still comfortable & clean. No complaints.

The restaurant (Di Valletta) was very good. It was nice though to have a choice (golf course grill) for a more casual dinner that night prior to the meeting as we all arrived late, it had been raining & some of us were in no mood for a production. Pool tables were a nice touch; fun to just relax in jeans instead of staying in business attire. Some of our folks found the covered, outdoor area perfect for enjoying a cigar and a cocktail.

The interior of the resort is done very well with multiple places to sit for an impromptu discussion. Lobby bar is great for that too.

We are already planning to switch several meetings to this location in lieu of larger cities. Hotel parking fees of $40, airport congestion, and price are wearing thin on the nerves and the budget.

I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    56
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
33
72
10
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Wonderful event planning, staffing, and facility. Very easy to work with and very thorough! I have been hosting events here for years. Top notch!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

It seems that they put effort into meetings and weddings. The rooms are tired and haven't been renovated in years. There are many items in disrepair. The facility is nice, but it simply hasn't be kept up. The pool has many areas with broken tiles. They only have bellman during specific hours. Trying to get one's bags brought down for an early departure is like an act of congress. The security guard acts as the bellman after hours. He is obviously put off by this duty. He piled my heavy bags on top of my laptop bag and then proceeded to dump my files over while going out the front door. The place has some potential. They must step it up a bit to match their star rating. The facility (albeit rundown) is 3 star, and the services are 3- at best.

Room Tip: high floor golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I booked this resort on a whim and as a surprise for my husband. I thought it was a bit pricey for the resort being so empty. Just the same everyone we came in contact with was super friendly. The restaurant was not busy, but the food was fresh and delicious. Theirs a courtyard outside the restaurant, my husband and I sat outside and enjoyed the view and the weather, he was able to smoke his cigar with no complains. Our room was partial gold course, but if you ask me, you couldn't tell the difference. We had a great night of food and drinks!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

First off, I'm not a golfer. So there may be something spectacular about the course that has people excited about their stay at the Grandover. Otherwise it's an overpriced generic hotel without even an attempt at service.

I got in too late to meet my group for dinner but was anxious to catch up in time for cocktails - so I ordered room service - a cold sandwich and tea. 45 minutes later I called to check. Oops we'll be right there. 30 minutes later - really he's on his way up. No offer to no charge only a bored "sorry". $24 chicken salad was edible.

Valet is hit or miss. Bartenders seem anxious to return to their real jobs. The front desk is apparently the entry level position - huh? How do you spell that?.

Room was ok but small for the money. Another resort wanna be without a bellman or conciierge etc. if you are stepping up from the Best Western maybe....
There are much better hotels in GSBO- the O'Henry and the Proximity to name 2.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere les
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We recently had a large company event at the Grandover and my expectations were definitely exceeded. I work with several convention centers in the U.S. and I have never worked with one as accommodating as the Grandover. My sales contact was amazing - she went above and beyond to make sure our event was successful. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Our banquet events went smoothly and the food was excellent! Overall, I was very pleased with the Grandover and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just wanted the staff at the Grandover Resort to know how much I appreciate their help in making our event a success! Everyone raved about the food, service, golf, spa & guest rooms! We look forward to working with you in the future! I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandover Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandover Resort and Conference Center

Address: One Thousand Club Road, Greensboro, NC 27407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#27 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grandover Resort and Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the North Carolina Foothills is the Grandover Resort, a picturesque resort with 247 guestrooms, Spa at Grandover and two 18-hole championship golf courses. Indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, fitness center, restaurants and lobby bars. We are the perfect choice for meetings or conferences with our flexible meeting space, on-site catering, audio & visual, and much more for you to have a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Grandover Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandover Resort Conference Center
Grandover Greensboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandover Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.