We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience on New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Greensboro Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   304 N. Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #37 of 75 hotels in Greensboro
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Experience on New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Marriott Downtown Greensboro on the busiest night of the year - New Year's Eve. There was a big concert in town (Avett Bros :)) and the hotel was crazy busy. Check in was a breeze, we even managed to switch our room from a double bed to a king size bed. Our room was on the 11th floor, very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff and greeters were nice/very helpful.
Sky and Katherine helped us with all our questions and needs. Thank you!

Yes, the hotel is older, elevators were slow. We could hear doors opening/closing within our room all night (it was NYE after all) but this would have not been a problem had I remembered my travel fan.
Thermostat worked well. Bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable. Price reasonable.

Based on our stay, I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    60
    46
    22
    9
See reviews for
34
34
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I come to this location several times a year, and I love it - the staff is so nice and they make you feel as though you are part of the family. I know Marriott has a great reputation and I usualy stay with them, but none of the others I have been to have a group of people who are so genuine. They are enthusiastic about thier favorite places to eat and always willing to spend time on helping you find your way or making suggestions on things to do. I appreciate them more each time I visit. I see that some other peole have not posted such nice things about this hotel - I suggest you go and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I work with a basketball team and we stay at MANY Marriott hotels... Several things were wrong with our stay. Without going into a lot of specifics the hotel staff was not in a rush to fix the issues, the food was average at best and was very expensive. I can tell you for sure that I will not recommend this hotel to the rest of the sports teams at my university nor anyone for that matter. Very displeased from a rather loyal Marriott customer... I will certainly think twice in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just what you'd come to expect from a full-service Marriott. No surprises. This hotel is downtown, and is very convenient to the new ballpark (NewBridge Bank Park). The restaurant is fine and the front desk personnel could not be nicer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is not what I expected from Marriot. The hotel is starting to show it's age. Rooms are average for a hotel of this level. Please compare others if you expect high end accommodations. Service at front desk and restaurant where good. Maintence staff were prompt in repairing heating issue. The one plus they have is to the night life of downtown Greensboro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is very convient to resturaunts. Staff is eager to please. We were in town for the Nascar race in Martinsville. The same weekend was homcoming for a local clollege. It was cvery noisy the first night but the hotel did their best to contain the problem.

Room Tip: Try Opah a greek place within walking distance. Also La Italia for pasta delivery
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business. I expected Delorean to walk down the stairs any minute- what a throw back to the eighties. Very solid hotel saved by the front desk staff. Don't know if I would stay there again or try to find a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel
Marriott Greensboro
Greensboro Marriott
Address: 304 N. Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensboro Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.