We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience on New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Greensboro Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   304 N. Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Experience on New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Marriott Downtown Greensboro on the busiest night of the year - New Year's Eve. There was a big concert in town (Avett Bros :)) and the hotel was crazy busy. Check in was a breeze, we even managed to switch our room from a double bed to a king size bed. Our room was on the 11th floor, very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff and greeters were nice/very helpful.
Sky and Katherine helped us with all our questions and needs. Thank you!

Yes, the hotel is older, elevators were slow. We could hear doors opening/closing within our room all night (it was NYE after all) but this would have not been a problem had I remembered my travel fan.
Thermostat worked well. Bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable. Price reasonable.

Based on our stay, I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    51
    28
    10
See reviews for
47
43
15
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I come to this location several times a year, and I love it - the staff is so nice and they make you feel as though you are part of the family. I know Marriott has a great reputation and I usualy stay with them, but none of the others I have been to have a group of people who are so genuine. They are enthusiastic about thier favorite places to eat and always willing to spend time on helping you find your way or making suggestions on things to do. I appreciate them more each time I visit. I see that some other peole have not posted such nice things about this hotel - I suggest you go and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I work with a basketball team and we stay at MANY Marriott hotels... Several things were wrong with our stay. Without going into a lot of specifics the hotel staff was not in a rush to fix the issues, the food was average at best and was very expensive. I can tell you for sure that I will not recommend this hotel to the rest of the sports teams at my university nor anyone for that matter. Very displeased from a rather loyal Marriott customer... I will certainly think twice in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just what you'd come to expect from a full-service Marriott. No surprises. This hotel is downtown, and is very convenient to the new ballpark (NewBridge Bank Park). The restaurant is fine and the front desk personnel could not be nicer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is not what I expected from Marriot. The hotel is starting to show it's age. Rooms are average for a hotel of this level. Please compare others if you expect high end accommodations. Service at front desk and restaurant where good. Maintence staff were prompt in repairing heating issue. The one plus they have is to the night life of downtown Greensboro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is very convient to resturaunts. Staff is eager to please. We were in town for the Nascar race in Martinsville. The same weekend was homcoming for a local clollege. It was cvery noisy the first night but the hotel did their best to contain the problem.

Room Tip: Try Opah a greek place within walking distance. Also La Italia for pasta delivery
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here on business. I expected Delorean to walk down the stairs any minute- what a throw back to the eighties. Very solid hotel saved by the front desk staff. Don't know if I would stay there again or try to find a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro/Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
O. Henry Hotel
O. Henry Hotel
#2 of 75 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Greensboro
1.9 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#3 of 75 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Address: 304 N. Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensboro Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.