We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Greensboro Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   304 N. Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staff was so friendly and I loved the location! We were able to walk to dinner and to a bar with live music, and to a baseball game! The staff gave us great recommendations and a walking map. It was a last minute little getaway and we did not expect Downtown Greensboro to be so much fun! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    72
    48
    22
    9
See reviews for
41
37
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The first thing I noticed about this hotel was that all of the staff I encountered was southern-style friendly. As a Marriott Platinum, I was given a room on the Concierge floor. It was pretty much a standard Marriott room but being on an upper floor, you had a nice view of the stadium and the surrounding area. The room had a flat screen TV but only a handful of cable channels and all of them were analog - nothing digital or HD even though some of the channel labels claimed so. The internet speed was pretty decent the whole time I was there.

The in house restaurant had menu items that sounded pretty gourmet, but the execution was only fair. The Concierge lounge had a breakfast and evening snacks/dessert, but these were pretty basic.

There were no surprises here - good or bad. If I were back in the area, I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with two teenage boys who were competing in a local sporting event. The hotel is adequate for short stays.

Located at the north end of "downtown" Greensboro, it was convenient to get to the Greenboro A&T College stadium. It is also close (two or three blocks) to the minor league baseball stadium (Greensboro Grasshoppers). Downtown itself seems to close up after 5 pm... there are a few restaurants but a thriving metropolis this is not. (Restaurants... Nico's upscale Italian and Smith Street Diner for breakfast if you don't need to eat healthy, the place called "Venice" doesn't feel very clean and has either an eclectic menu or is downright schizophrenic... Italian and Mexican though I had a Greek Salad.).

We were on the 6th floor of the hotel which provided a decent view. The hotel was clean, though perhaps could use some updating. Shower head was tall enough for me to stand under (at 6 feet) and had good pressure. We parked in the hotel garage ($11 per day) and they provided a pass that made getting in and out quick and easy. Room service late-night bacon cheeseburger and fries got very high marks from teen boys.

The only criticisms are that despite the signage, there is no longer a whirlpool at the pool, and it is criminal in this day and age to be charging $9.95 per day for wifi!

Room Tip: Upper floors have decent views as Greensboro has few tall buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We passed through Greensboro and used the opportunity to catch a minor league baseball game in a great new stadium. We chose this hotel because it is a mere 1/3 mile from the stadium. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was very accommodating when asked for a fridge and extra towels. Water pressure was very good even on the 11th floor. We were there on a Sat. night and there seemed to be loads of free parking in metered spaces around hotel. The breakfast buffet was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My family visited Greensboro for my mother and her twin sister's 65th birthdays. We arrived at the hotel early due to some family being Elite Reward Points members and were guarenteed early check ins. Once at the counter, there was an obviously new employee that was very sweet, yet needed help in several areas of the early check in process. Those within earshot were shocked at the way more seasoned employees talked down and rolled their eyes at this newbie. Once seeing me in my pregnant state, my husband and I were informed we would be allowed to check in early as we to put my legs up after touring the International Civil Rights Museum a couple blocks from the hotel. Once we returned around 2pm, our room was still not ready. After several minutes we were given keys to a room with a dusty floor and an odd odor. I was surprised to see an older model box style television with no HD. I did not want to complain due to my legs starting to swell. I went down the hall to rest in my mother's room and when I walked in I noticed folded, dirty towels and face cloths intended for her and my sister to utilize! I could not believe at the rate we were paying, the type of oversight in minor details! Later that night my sister realized she could not get the air conditioning to go off which made their room feel like an igloo while the air in our room across the hall did not seem to work. The family checked out before 11am to get relief from the dueling temps in the rooms. We probably will not revisit this particular location unless there is extensive upgrading and bathrooms are somehow expanded because being pregnant and being afraid to bump your tummy into the door at every turn is no picnic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and i stayed three nights at the Mariott in downtown Greensboro, NC
The hotel was clean, bed wonderfully comfortable and staff excellent~ We were surprised and totally delighted. Their workout center was small but adequate.

The location is great, easy to get around on foot and by car.
We would stay there again if returning to Greensboro.

We discovered a delightful coffe shop around the corner (a great little coffee shop around the corner...IGreat coffee, good light snacks (homemade baclava, muffins...) cool place to sit and enjoy your coffee, good music and very kind owner...Via Dolce Aroma coffee Bar~)
and a really good brewery called Natty Greene's...both walking distance frm this hotel~

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator: if there is a problem with your room (one nite we returned fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donato P, General Manager at Greensboro Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with others about your stay at the Greensboro Marriott. We truly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is my preferred hotel when I'm in Greensboro for work. Location is great: walking distance to lots of good restaurants and bars, right by the baseball field if you want to go to games. Staff is nice. It looks dated from the lobby and hallways on the guest room floors, but the rooms themselves are very nice and updated.

If you have status, the concierge lounge has decent breakfast. Eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit, sodas, juices, etc. It's free if you have access, so I'm a fan. Contrary to lots of these reviews, I think they have fixed the lack of hot water issue. I've never had an issue with hot water here. Beds are comfortable, rooms are a decent size and very clean and the bathrooms have marble counters.

I don't like eating in hotels if I have to pay for it, but I did have dinner here once. It was average quality and only moderately overpriced, so pretty much your standard hotel fare. That being said, I don't intend to pay to eat here frequently.

Good things: concierge lounge, beds, room cleanliness, convenient parking garage, fast internet

Bad things: the TVs in the rooms are old box style, the gym is seriously lacking in most things (just has a few treadmills and some free weights)

Conclusion: this Marriott is your standard business hotel. There is nothing terribly awesome about it, but there also isn't anything wrong with it either.

Room Tip: Go higher to get a better view, but it isn't a tall hotel to begin with (11 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Address: 304 N. Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensboro Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.