We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and convenient on the Main road leading in-land.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Swiss Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mikumi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan Swiss Lodge
Dar es Salaam-Zambia/Malawi Highway | P.O.Box55, Mikumi National Park 000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Central and convenient on the Main road leading in-land.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Accommodation and breakfast was very nice. When we arrived there at first we wanted to use the camping facility but I thought the camping site was neglected, so opted for room accommodation which was a good choice. The camping area is also used by 'over landers'. The towels in the room is too much used or either 20 years old, quite a disappointment in contrast with the rest of the room (nice pillows and linen). No self catering in the rooms allowed. Dont expect lush green lawn and garden. Good enough for just a sleep-over and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Tan-Swiss for 2 nights as it was a very convenient place to stay to do a safari in Mikumi National Park. Travelling from Zanzibar we took the boat to Dar Es Salaam (about 2 hours) and then the local bus to Mikumi town (about 6 hours) and then a piki piki to Tan-Swiss (about 5 minutes). It was a tiring journey but we were met by friendly staff and a glass of fruit juice. Check-in was quick and were shown to our room. We were in one of the bungalows which was really nice, extremely clean and quite spacious. Television, A/C, mosquito nets and towels are provided. I believe there is also a camp site available and also higher levels of accommodation. The rate included breakfast which was plentiful and very nice, mainly western food. The restaurant food was also good, although I only ate one meal there so cannot expand. Tan-Swiss have their own safari vehicles and guides for reasonable rates. Our guide, Sam, was excellent and showed us a really good time in the National Park. I have been on a fair few safari's in Africa and would safely say that he was the best and most knowledgeable guide. Despite the hotel being very quite, due to off-season, I would highly recommend it for anyone passing through the area or like us doing a safari in Mikumi National Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean good size rooms, hard but good quality mattress and bedding,mosquito net,a/c,tv all works, big shower.
Breakfast basic but acceptable , very good fresh passion fruit juice. restaurant meals acceptable and pricing excellent compare Dar.
Swiss managed place that was my first attention caught about the place. Service stuff friendly (in African style).
No complaints.
Recommend to all, even with family and young children.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in one of the bungalows and we used the hotel 4WD transport to visit Mikumi and Udzungwa National Parks. The place is clean and airy. The bungalow was well-appointed with a.c. (which leaked quite a bit) and a nice lounge area. The bar/restaurant was very good and service was excellent. The hotel side of things represents good value, but I think the vehicle hire is a bit on the pricey side.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here, 3 rooms, on our way from Iringa to Dar and was so pleased. Also stopped here for lunch on the way to Iringa.
The rooms are nice with double bed, mosquito net and both fans and air condition that works very well. Big bathroom with plenty space for showering with kids and also my mum that needed walk in; since she have hard time walking in steps.
The food was excellent and a wide range of dishes
The service was excellent and all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was nice with good atmosphere and location. However be carefull of the food you order.
We had no A/C for the 2 nights we slept there as the room was not inspected prior to us coming. The mosquito nets had big spiders up in the corner and it looks like the the rooms are just cleansed enough to look decent and not checked thoroughly. The pricing for the hotel is very fair.

Staff is very friendly, they need a good supervisor to check the rooms after the cleaning maid is done. Otherwise very good overall. Next time I will order chicken items as I think the steaks were in the freezer a little too long.

Room Tip: Check the A/C before accepting the keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After reading reviews on here, my main worry was how to get there! My partner and I caught the 6:00am bus/coach operated by Sumry from the busy terminal in Ubongo on the outskirts of Dar es Salaam. A word of warning here. Get the ticket early. I had a local friend who took me to Ubongo at a quiet time 3-4days earlier to buy the tickets. 100,000Tsh in total for the 2 of us return. (£40GBP or $63USD). There are lots of ticket touts who bug you the moment you arrive there, ignore them, and make your way into one of the rooms to ask for costs. Don't be embarrased to shop around the various rooms off the corridor. Once booked, allow enough time to to get there at that hour. A German company is building roads and infrastructure for a new modern terminal, so there is a huge tailback of traffic, even at 5.00am!!! Once there, it hits you. The place is teeming with people, especially touts who want to lead you to your coach/bus - usually the wrong one. BE VERY CAREFUL of pickpockets. It's rife. One guy had his hand in my partner's handbag but she hit him just in time for him to move away. Don't stand for ceremony or 'please' or 'thank you'. Wallets in the front pocket, not back. Handbags clutched tightly and zipped.

The bus left on time. Other providers are Hood and Abood, affectionally referred to as Hoodi and Aboodi. Both equally good or better. After the first hour, ask the driver to let you know when you reach Tan-Swiss. It's literally on the highway. Prompt a second reminder after Morogoro. If you feel that they may not remember, here's what to look out for. At some point you will see a sign that says you are now entering Mikumi National Park. So the highway runs through it. When you see the second sign, after about 5 hours of leaving Dar, Tan-Swiss is just a few yards up the road on the left. But make sure it's the second sign you see.

Once off the bus, you are at the entrance. A well positioned lodge, very clean and a few European travellers we enjoying their drinks in the bar area when we arrived at 11:00am. We checked in quickly, Were given a clean room with nice enough facilities including a shower, tv, A/C and a mosquito net. Didn't waste too much time. At Reception we booked our half-day tour of the park. We were the only ones on the vehicle with an excellent guide called Samuel who had a demeanour of 'aim to please'. We set off at 1:00pm after lunch, and they brought us back after sunset at 7:00pm. Samuel had a gift of spotting animals where we could only see long grass. On this particular day, we hit the jackpot. We saw lions, elephants, hippos, crocs, giraffes wildebeest, monkeys, and much more. Samuel said he had taken some Japanese tourists the previous week for a whole day and didn't see any lions or elephants.

We had a reasonable dinner (gourmet it ain't), and slept soundly after our exhausting day. We even managed to watch Uefa Champion's League Football in our bedroom!!

After breakfast, the receptionist phoned the agent of the operator of Sumry Bus service to ask what time the bus from Iringa was expected. After a false start, we were driven (courtesy of Tan-Swiss) to the meeting point a few hundred metres up the road in the opposite direction of Dar to a weigh station. And at 12:15pm the bus duly arrived. Always pays to tip the agent who makes sure you get on the bus and you are not forgotten. Going back took 6.5hours due to traffic in Dar.

During the trip, lots of guys board the bus selling their snacks. We were armed with bottles of water and pringles and bought coke or pepsi on the road.

For those with little time, this is a great way to see the game of the East African National Parks, for a reasonable price. We crammed a lot into our 37hrs and saw the animals we wanted, which was a bonus. Joseph the owner of Tan-Swiss was very helpful and made sure our stay was comfortable. Highly recommend it to anyone.

The cost of the room $55. Half day excursion $140. Entrance to Mikumi $20 per person, and bus fare $63. Add a few drinks, meals, taxis in Dar and a few tips - total comes to around $360.

Room Tip: Ask for Samuel as a guide. He was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tan Swiss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Swiss Lodge

Address: Dar es Salaam-Zambia/Malawi Highway | P.O.Box55, Mikumi National Park 000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Mikumi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mikumi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable accommodation in our inviting guest house or cosy bungalows. All rooms are equipped with king-size beds, AC, TV, en suite bathrooms and a private terrace at affordable prices. In our spacious restaurant we serve a wide range of international meals, including tasty snacks, delicious desserts and lunch boxes for your safaris. Our professional and friendly Staff is dedicated to make your visit an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tan Swiss Hotel Mikumi National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Swiss Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tan Swiss Lodge to your Saves list