We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay Rorkes Drift Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rorke's Drift Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rorke's Drift
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Our stay Rorkes Drift Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are coming to visit the Zulu Battlefields then this is the place to stay. Its location above the Buffalo river with panoramic views across to the drift were stunning. The location simply oozed history. Charles and his team welcomed us made us feel perfectly at home, - more like a house party than hotel. Our battlefield tour organised by the hotel with the knowledgeable Nicki our guide was first class.

On our non battlefield day there were plenty of other things to see and do, we opted on seeing some wild life at a nearby safari reservation which we enjoyed. The interior of the hotel was spectacular; drinks, meals and conversation good. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable, it had its own private balcony with views over the river which I particularly enjoyed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
52
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rorke’s Drift Hotel was simply amazing!

We had views directly over the Buffalo River and could almost feel the history of the area. The setting was in a stunning location and with great thought given to the design to merge into the natural background, The hotel facilities show great attention to detail wih a simple example was the plug wall even had a 3 pin UK option in the bedroom.

The cooking and food was great as was the great dining room overlooking the river in an open plan arrangement. Finally the experience and provision of a charming and intensely knowledgeable local Zulu guide for the day made our stay unforgettable with Charles the owner and staff all acting as superb hosts.

Room Tip: King Shaka bedroom over looked over the river, beautiful in sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent three nights in the hotel in January as part of a trip to the Natal Battlefields. Charles and his staff made it unforgettable especially the sundowners at Fort Melville. The accommodation and food were first class. We would not hesitate to visit the hotel again and can recommend it to anyone visiting the battlefields.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a wonderful setting, nestling on the banks of the Buffalo River a short distance from the site of Rourk's Drift itself. Welcoming, friendly staff, good food and a small bar in which to have an after dinner drink before retiring to very comfortable accomodation.The night time views from our room, looking out across the river to the plains beyond, were unforgettable being full of atmosphere as a result of the engagements fought out in the vicinity in 1879. Highly recommended for anyone seeking a true taste of South Africa and we would return again if we ever can for a longer visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I get the impression from reading the many rave reviews posted since we stayed for two nights at the beginning of our trip before Christmas, that our experience at Rorke's Drift Hotel may have been unrepresentative. In fairness I want to start by saying that.

We did have an unforgettable stay here. The physical setting on the river bend and the beautiful timeless views are really something to behold. The design of the hotel buildings are very distinctive and stylish. We had the King Shaka room with a great balcony, our sons had the Shiess twin room which has a lesser side view - the rooms are very nice and comfortable and the only thing we didn't like was the strong pondy smell of the water (about which guests are warned). It was disappointing that the swimming pool was dirty and unmaintained so we couldn't use it.

Our visit coincided with the absence of the owner and the professional managers and that was unfortunate by the sound of it. Emails to the hotel sent several days before we arrived went unanswered and probably unread as when we arrived staff had no knowledge of our (longstanding) request for a full day Battlefields tour the next day. Luckily it was possible to arrange this with fantastic Zulu guide Dalton, but I think luck is the word. We got what we came for, which was the history of the area.

Although all very pleasant and well meaning, with one exception the staff seemed inexperienced and rather unprofessional. The quality of the hotel itself creates an expectation of a level of service which wasn't in evidence. The difference between the food we were given and that other guests have appreciated so much makes me wonder if the usual chef was also away. There was very little choice and it was really bland and unimaginative - a bit like what a reluctant home cook would produce - absolutely not restaurant quality. A real low was being served tinned fruit salad. On our first night we were the only guests and on the second there was just one other family so it was all a bit ghost town - based on our stay we felt the hotel needs to get a really good chef in and try to get a reputation for dining that does justice to the wonderful buildings and surroundings and bringing in custom and atmosphere. But if they already have a decent chef, they need to watch consistency of standards.

Room Tip: King Shaka room is huge and has the best balcony and river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Each night of my 2012 stay I sat looking over the Buffalo river as the sun set, on the verandah, cold beer in hand, thinking of what had gone passed that same spot before me, and in particular what took place in 1879! This is a really classy Hotel with a difference. Its still quite new and the staff are friendly and finding their way,with Ex Pat Brit Charles at the helm they are doing just fine.
Only minutes from the actual site of the famous defence and overlooking the drift it is superbly located. Charles even took my wife and his two lovely dogs on a guided sunset walk. Food was nice but somewhat limited in menu. I don't hesitate in saying, recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pietermartizburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What an amazing experience for us as a family to spend the night at the Rorke's Drift Hotel and walk some of the route that my great grandfather and my childrens' great great grandfather Alfred Firlie Henderson took from Isandlawana to Rorke's drift. Charles and his team were amazing. Nothing was too much for them. They were friendly, hospitable, and always eager to please.
I can only highly recommend this hotel to anybody that is going to do the battle fields or just to have a relaxing break away. Amazing walks and beautiful veiws. Home from Home.
Thanks Charles we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rorke's Drift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Hotel

Address: Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rorke's Drift on the Buffalo River the new Rorke’s Drift Hotel stands the slopes of Shiyane Mountain (The Oscarberg), in the rolling hills of Zululand. The historic crossing that gives the area its name is within its grounds and the comfortable modern facilities are priced to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. The visitor will enjoy peaceful relaxation in the rural landscape, surrounded by iconic history and natural countryside. Phase One of the construction is now complete with 7 double and four single en-suite rooms. Phase Two will raise the capacity to 30 rooms so that coach touring parties can be accommodated, for the recommended two night stay. The hotel provides an affordable destination at this historic location. Visitors will be stunned by its position overlooking the Buffalo River and with its open views towards Isandlwana, and by its architectural design that is a modern amalgam of Zulu and Victorian cultures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rorke's Drift Hotel South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rorke's Drift Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rorke's Drift Hotel to your Saves list