We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and excellent venue to explore the battlefields” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fugitive's Drift

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fugitive's Drift to your Saves list
Fugitive's Drift
Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
PONTEFRACT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stunning location and excellent venue to explore the battlefields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The lodge is set in an amazing location very close to the 2 great battlefields. The memorabilia in the lodge is fascinating and staff warm and welcoming.
Charl was our guide at Rorke's drift and his passion for the history of the 2 great battles fought here was impressive, he is a superb historian and the visit was totally captivating.
The food at dinner was really good and we simply couldn't manage all 5 courses.
We had wanted to visit this area for many years and our expectations were exceeded.
A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
106
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were persuaded to add FD to our SA trip by our travel agent - the best thing he did for us. One is never taught about the Anglo/Zulu wars in Britain, and you understand why after you've been here. Stay 3 nights if you can; it's best to do the 2 battlefield tours on separate days (they are physically and emotionally tiring). The place is beautiful, the food (and wine) is superb, and while much of the accommodation is quite pricey, we stayed at Kwa George - a separate bungalow half a mile from the main centre. This 2-person house is the bargain of FD, and has a huge jacaranda tree full of sunbirds outside the door. The Rattray family who run FD are amazing - it's a privilege to meet them and share their stories of this remarkable area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have always wanted to go to Fugitive's Drift, friends and family have been and it was everything we hoped for and more. We stayed in the Guesthouse (5) (nobody was in the Lodge) and it was lovely, calm and everything worked. Great linen, most efficient and spacious bathroom, Thermos jugs of iced water . It was seriously warm but we were fine ( we abandoned the duvet and the blanket before we started!) Meals were communal and very lively (we had great DR Foundation company) The staff (after my first request for Rooibus it came automatically !) and "the Gappies" (beautifully mannered, helpful and informative) could not do enough for you and were infinitely patient in answering questions (most of which they must have heard ad nauseam) about the area, the history, the birds and the flora. The Battlefield Tours did everything we wanted, we both "knew" the story and had heard David's tapes (when cassettes were the way forward !) I bought the CDs - thoroughly recommend doing that (we listened to 1-4 as we drove into Drakensbergs and finally back to Durban - and the last from Airport to home - in the snow!). Charl at Rorke's Drift, Mphiwa at Isandlwana and Harry who got us to Melville and Coghill's Grave(and back) in blistering heat without any grumps (he even carried the water!) were by turn entertaining and informative and didn't mind being interrupted! David will never be dead with such wonderful staff in such an inspirational and iconic setting to pass his legacy on. You know, we will go back - that's how good it is. Oh and the guard of honour of 13 (or 15) Giraffes within well less than 100 yards as we drove out - now that is special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having just spent three and a half weeks camping whilst on safari in Southern Africa I had the opportunity to make it out to Rorke's Drift for about 24 hours. Although only a one night stay the staff at Fugitive's Drift Lodge made the experience a true highlight.

The excellent and friendly attitude of the Lodge staff (who came to all meals and had a couple of drinks), luxurious accomodation, delicious food and the compelling story telling of the battlefield guides (Rorke's Drift and Isandlwhana) combined to make my stay truly memorable.

The Hartford Library offers breathtaking views of the area and down to the Buffalo River.

What the Rattray's have achieved at Fugitive's Drift Lodge through their dedication and hardwork is commendable and a credit to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our travel agents booked Fugitive's Drift as a stopover between the Drakensberg and the coast. It was one of the highlights of a trip to S Africa. Excellent accommodation, a really lovely setting and superb battlefield tours which are its raison d'etre.

Meals are around a common dining table with lunch is a beautiful libary with stunning views.

Nothing was too much trouble for the very well organised staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What stands out to me about FD are 2 things: the service and the tours.

The rooms were comfortable, and the food was delicious - but the reason this is the top place in the area is because of the tours.

The hosts were gracious and friendly - obviously passionate about the lodge - and a pleasure to interact with. The vivid, nail-biting descriptions of both guides kept us riveted through the 34C plus weather for more than 3 hours. Now THAT'S talent!! I am still fascinated with what I heard there, and am spreading our unbelievable history. If it's a good tour you're after, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Yes, so much has been written about Fugitive's Drift I cannot add much that is new. We had a marvellous time and stayed at the Guesthouse which we were very pleased about. It is very peaceful with a wonderful wide view and manages to mix a relaxed atmosphere with a very professional operation. The rooms are lovely and there's plenty of hot water which must be quite a feat in itself. The pool is also lovely with a beautiful lemon tree at one end of it and a perfect temperature. I need not say that the battlefield tours are top notch and we were lucky enough to hear the Zulu guide's wonderful descriptions at Isandlwana followed by Andrew's stirring talk at Rorke's Drift.
The food was delicious, especially the lunch! Chengi is a very caring and discreet presence who knows everyone's names after almost a few minutes.
It was terribly hot when we were there and we did rather wonder why there's no air conditioning but we managed with the fans.
Tiny criticism, it would have been the icing on the cake to have had one of the experienced guides doing the graves walk in the afternoon. We found it quite hard to hear the young chap who was doing his best but obviously not a pro.
It was a great finale to a wonderful trip in South Africa and of course to be recommended to everyone.

Room Tip: We had 1 and 2 which are furthest away but means nobody walks in front of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fugitive's Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fugitive's Drift

Address: Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fugitives' Drift Lodge, established by David and Nicky Rattray 19 years ago, has become world famous for the passionate stories, delivered by our resident lecturers, given on the battlefields of the Anglo-Zulu War. Our flagship tours, conducted daily, are to the battlefields of Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana. The Lodge and Guest House both feature luxury accommodation with pools, horse riding and fantastic game walks through this remarkable terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Fugitive's Drift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fugitive`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Fugitive's Drift South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fugitive's Drift, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.