We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, remote, unparalleled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaokoland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp
Save
You added Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kunene River, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Big Island, Hawaii
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Amazing, remote, unparalleled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a fairly last minute add on to our Namibia trip as our original booking at Wilderness Safaris' Skeleton Coast camp was cancelled when the camp closed. I was very hesitant to book Serra Cafema because of the very long small plane rides. And indeed, these were, for me, very scary and difficult flights in bumpy thermals. I probably wouldn't do it again. However, the lodge was spectacular. Visiting the Himba tribal members in the area, probably the last generation that will live in the traditional ways, setting foot on Angolan soil, floating down the crocodile-infested Kunene River, and walking with the lovely and knowledgeable guide, Gert, on the dunes and watching the beleaguered oryx sometimes drop dead in their tracks from thirst...pretty amazing.

We stayed three nights and it was perfect. Rooms, villas really, were gorgeous, food was excellent, service world class, and the best bloody marys we have ever had we're right there, on the remote Namibian/Angolan border. Probably the most unique place I've ever been.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved this camp set in a remote but beautiful part of the world. Large, spacious comfortable rooms and outside deck. Our two nights weren't enough. Thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise, after all the hot dry windy deserts and dunes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The long drive from the airstrip brought us deeper and deeper into no-man's land and as we rounded the last curve, going over the last "mountainous" sand dune, the river and greenery suddently came into view. It took our breath away. As you probably already know, this is the most remote camp in Namibia and two nights here was not enough - at least for us. We had been happily watching lions and such for the previous week in Botswana and were well aware that this was a "special" place...a magical place, if you will and a very different experience. Yes, showering naked outside, overlooking the mountains of Angola ...sleeping in the hammock, gliding quietly down the river in search of crocodiles.......that's magical in our book! The staff is amazing and you are treated as if you are the only ones in the camp. As has been said before, they don't miss a single thing and we considered it a privilege to be there. Special thanks to our wonderful guide, Gert! Treat yourself to Serra Cafema ...it will call to you in your dreams!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Serra Cafema.

Rooms: Large spacious and very luxurious. It is very well decorated and the bed was large and very comfortable. The style is very modern, There was an indoor and outdoor bath, both of which were very nice. We had a large patio next to the river which was excellent to lounge in.
Service: Outstanding. Every staff member was polite and very attentive. They particularly took extremely good care of our 7 year old catering to her every need. Every part of our stay from pick up at the airport to the guided trips and the meals were well thought out and seamlessly executed by the staff. You will be pampered and it is wonderful.
We did a number of activities, the quad biking was simply superb, the boat ride was great, lots of Nile crocodiles, and the scenic animal drives were superb. The scenery is simply breathtaking. Our guide was excellent, a great spotter, as well as, extremely knowledgeable on the region, the Himba tribes and the wildlife conservation efforts.
Ambiance: The lodge is located in a desolate area with beautiful scenery surrounding it. The main dining area opens to a wonderful deck next to the river that makes for a wonderful setting for drinks after your day. As it was cold they lit a fire every evening which makes for a nice setting for pre-dinner drinks.
Meals: the food is very good. Most meals are multi-course and they nave excellent vegetarian options. They will read out the menu to you in English and the local click language of you ask. Lunch can be served outside on the patio if the day is good. The wine selection is excellent.
We wished we could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Breathtakingly beautiful and isolated location, combined with total pampering made for an especially relaxing and restoring stay. Real luxury, outstanding service and hospitality, and calming ambience. Food was excellent and imaginative. Staff warm, very friendly, very professional, and provided countless thoughtful extra touches. One of us was sick with a stomach bug when we arrived, and chef and kitchen staff were very accommodating and creative in meeting our temporary dietary needs. Our guide made every day special, and our last evening sundowner was perfection itself, with champagne to toast an incredible landscape and an incredible four days. Boating on the Kunene, hiking in the dunes, exploring the surrounding hills and valleys, visiting an Ovahimba camp and meeting the people there ... everything was a marvel. A jewel of a place. The flight there and back is pure magic, viewing an otherworldly landscape. This is a very special place. We had a wonderful wonderful time. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Having such luxury in one of the most isolated places in the world is truly incredible and they didn't miss a single detail. The rooms were wonderful. They were incredibly spacious and there were so many places to sit and relax that we didn't have time to use them all! The hammocks and outdoor showers were a nice touch.

Our stay was pretty short (only two nights after an all day scenic flight to get there) so our guide "Gerry" did everything he could to make sure we got to see and do as much as possible. It is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Some rooms are right on the river with a wonderful view of the Angolan mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had the great good fortune to visit Serra Cafema in March. As you fly in, you can't help but be overwhelmed with the natural beauty of the expanse of dunes and grasses, and you realize how remote the camp really is. The juxtaposition of red sand dunes and the fast-flowing Kunene is quite startling and the soothing sound of the river is always present. All the facilities are built on platforms well above the river and beneath spreading shade trees - you need never touch the sand or feel the hot sun unless you are so inclined. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed; food is excellent (so it is very hard to manage one's calories), and there is even a real espresso machine. Trips on the river, brilliant bird life, drives around the adjacent valleys to visit Himba settlements, sundowners with astonishingly lovely panoramas all contribute to the uniqueness of Serra Cafema. But the best part of the camp is the staff. They are universally outgoing, cheerful, friendly, and willing to do whatever they can to make your visit a happy one. Highly recommend a visit here; probably ideal as the last stop after safari in more wildlife intensive areas and before heading back to civilization

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp

Address: Kunene River, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Kaokoland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Kaokoland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst shady trees on the banks of the Kunene River, Serra Cafema is one of the most remote camps in southern Africa, its Portuguese name originates from the mountains that dominate the northern skyline. Guests fall alseep to the sound of rushing water, while by day they explore one of the driest deserts in the world. The camp's eight unique canvas and thatched chalets, each with its own en-suite bathroom, show great attnetion to detail; the elevated decks and simple structures of wood, canvas and thatch create a camp that is at one with its surroundings. The dining room and pool look out over the Kunene River. Activities here are varied, including boating (seasonal), walking, viewing breathtaking landscapes,as well as carefully guided quad-bike excursions that tread lightly on the dunes. In this isolated region, the Himba people continue their nomadic, traditional way of life and when in the area, offer guests the opportunity to learn about their lifestyle and traditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serra Cafema Camp Hotel Kaokoland
Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp Namibia/Kaokoland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.