We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous start of our Moroccan adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zitoune

Save Saved
You added Dar Zitoune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Zitoune
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar zii, caidat d'ouzguita, Lalla Takerkoust 42202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous start of our Moroccan adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Incredible food, wonderful & kind staff and gorgeous bedrooms/suites. Dar Zitoune was the perfect start of our family adventure in Morocco. Anour is a fabulous, gracious host and helped us plan the rest of our trip across Morocco - arranging local hikes, tandem paraglides (he's an advid flyer!), trips to Marrakesh and, best of all, a wonderful driver (Hassan) who took us to the Sahara and back. Our room had a lovely, exotic, private bathroom and the beds were warm, comfy and luxurious. From the rooftop patio we watched gorgeous sunsets, paragliders soaring overhead and the local children walk to/from school in the neighboring village. In the garden we dipped our toes in the pool (would have swam for sure if the weather was a little warmer - we were there in early March), drank lovely local Rose while nibbling olives and snacks. The dinners and breakfasts were the best of the trip - all homemade and brilliantly flavoured. Our daughter had a flu the first day we arrived so the chef made her a silky, savory, delicous, healthy soup for dinner - it was one of many small kindnesses that enticed us to extend our stay another 2 nights because it was just too wonderful to leave. We have traveled extensively as a family around the world - Dar Zitoune was a highlight of Morocco as well as all our adventures. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the top of the house with the patio and our own private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Made a prolonged afternoon stop here after a trip to Imlil from Marrakech.
My son was feeling unwell and was well looked after by the wonderful staff whilst the rest of us passed the afternoon in the gorgeous gardens with the magnificent view.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A great place to stay to escape Marrakech for a few days. We stayed for two nights - we had a wonderful suite, with fantastic views out over the plains and the mountains. There are lots of outdoor things to do nearby, but we opted to just relax and go for a few walks.

Fantastic meals - the best we had in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have recently been staying at the Dar Zetoune hotel Taraudant Morocco. It lies near the foothills of the Anti Atlas Mountains. When you arrive you are led through the reception room and through to the courtyard where you are served with welome freshly squeezed orange juice. You are surrounded by perfume of orange, lemon and pawpaw blossom. Our room was a bungalow amongst others round a large swimming pool. The room itself was comfortable tidy and clean.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Dinners in the dinning room in front of a roaring log fire
were delicious and service perfect. The Manager Monaime was always on hand to answer questions and give you advise. The atmosphere was one of tranquility and peace.
I cannot speak more highly of this little bit of heaven. Next time I would choose to go in April as March was still a little cool and cloudy.

Room Tip: If you prefer more privacy and quietness a bungalo further away from the swimming pool would be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Zitoune for 3nights in March 2012, before heading into Marrakesh. This was the perfect way to relax and enjoy another side to Morocco. There are lots of outdoor activities to explore, all of which I am sure the very helpful Anouar would be able to arrange for you. We however opted for a more sedate pace, choosing to enjoy the panoramas of the Atlas mountains and amazingly tranquil surroundings. The Riad staff made sure we wanted for nothing, were always on hand and only too pleased to assist us with any requests, not to mention the amazing cuisine. If you are looking for an escape from the madness of Marrakesh, we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Beautiful, magnificent ... all of these adjectives can’t describe this place as quiet as beautiful ,nature without a human touch, it feels really far away from stress, a place to freshen up, lucky it was only by chance that I discovered this beautiful riad, I too loved it not only for the beauty of the place, but also for its warm and welcoming staff, and quality of service, was the first time and it would not be the last, if you want to spend a holiday especially exceptional try to go ...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeurbanne, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Thanks so much Anouar for this fantastic stay with you and your team.

Everything was amazing (quad, buggy (180° ;-) and 4x4). My daughter did her first paraglide's jump and flight and will never forget if.

the food was so good and I'm dreaming about your "couscous" (too much kg after !!!)

The site is so nice and the view amazing.

Muriel from Lyon

Special thanks to Mohamed and Anouar.

I will come back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zitoune

Address: Douar zii, caidat d'ouzguita, Lalla Takerkoust 42202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Lalla Takerkoust
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lalla Takerkoust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zitoune 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zitoune Lalla Takerkoust, Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zitoune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.