We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Igoudar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Igoudar to your Saves list
Kasbah Igoudar
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route Amizmiz Marrakech km7 | 7 km avant Amizmiz, Lalla Takerkoust 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Excellent holiday spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The warm welcome on my arrival was a good impression of my 4 days stay. I had not stayed in a small guesthouse before but the size made interaction easy with staff, who were friendly and helpful at all times, including the property owners. I felt being treated like a member of a small family. I was looking for a quiet relaxing break after 3 days in Marrakech and I definitely got it. The ambiance of the property is highlighted by wonderful views of the Atlas mountains from the pool area throughout the day; sunset and sunrse views are awesome. The Wi-Fi connection was available from everywhere on the property. I enjoyed the Moroccan menus which were different each day and guests would be informed in advance. The suite that I was allocated was high quality,clean, with relaxing Moroccan decorations and had the necessary amenities. The excursion to the Atlas Mountains waterfalls and meeting the Berber village people was amazing, the guide and driver were pleasant, skilled people. Kasbah Igadour is a home away from home, a place to get away from it all. I wished I could have stayed longer. I would recommend it to anyone that would like to have a different, pleasant holiday.

Florence

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    33
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
85
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The property is pretty but is super small, leaving us feeling horribly confined.

The food was good - but is a bit pricey. (note - they only offer a set menu).

The staff was super nice - but obviously understaffed. We had to track down the waitstaff for drinks, by the pool, and guest services had a difficultly accommodating the guests wishes/needs. The maid service never replaced a dirty towel (ended up using pool towel) or replenished depleting items (i.e. toilet roll - ended up using the roll we had packed, in the case of an emergency while we were in the desert).

They did not offer many of the activities listed on their website under 'Excursions', 'Leisures in the Kasbah'. No - Tennis and badminton; Water–polo; Breeding and caring for farm animals (rabbits, chickens, sheep, donkeys); Workshops traditional bread baking; Workshop preparation of specialty Moroccan cuisine (couscous tagine-- Pastilla); Workshop vegetable crops; or Workshop learning Arabic and Berber.

Side notes:
The day trip to Essaouira was 70 Euro per person (based on two persons). The website states 'from 40 Euro'. .
If you have an early departure (prior to sunrise) I suggest bringing a flashlight. (The hotel is very dark at night.)
They do not accept credit cards and the closest ATM is 7 KM away.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hervelille, Gérant at Kasbah Igoudar, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest

i'am glade that you liked our staff and our gardens

but I'm totally disagree with what you wrote in relation to our website
what you said is completely wrong and I am afraid you are driving our future customers in errors !!
all services that are offered on our website exist in real, all what you have to do is just ask at reception, you're never come to see us for one of these services which is a shame!
we offer well on farm visits, kitchen workshops; badminton and ping pong ;
quite consistent with what there is on our website; it's a shame because you could ask the reception to be able to organize what you want from these activities in addition all these activities are free !!
futur guests you are informed now, we wish you welcome among us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this week!
I've seen a lot of hotels in Marrakech and for me they seemed too commercial without any soul.
This week was one of the best I had in Marrakech.
Good food, really well treated by the whole staff, amazing landscape and very astonnished by all the services provided.

So thank you so much and be sure that I'll come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we have traveled a lot and always read trip advisor for a balanced view, I can not see how the upbeat comments got it so wrong.
We arrived at midnight tied and just wanting to go to bed, however we were shown to a table set for dinner. The three course meal was both burnt and flavour less, we were also being kept By two cats and a frog!
We were shown our room which reportedly was supposed to be the best room, the need was two singles pushed together, bath / shower no plug, the shower I had to bend right down due to the short hose(I'm 5'2'')
There were no smoke detectors or fire fighting appliances anywhere to be seen. The management never ventured out of there office and during a two week local holiday they left a waiter to be pool waiter, cook, dinner waiter, pot washer and waiter.
The meals were take it or leave it, no choices, and one one occasion the veg were served as the first course with the exception of the beer and wine any drinks the waiter had to mix, the game we played was guess what alcohol was supposed to be in the glass? The garden was interesting there were a number of plants that appeared to have been dead for sometime.
We did know beforehand that they only took cash if you only had plastic you had to get a cab and travel one hour to find a bank, this also restricted anyone going on any trips.
We will not be returning , please see my previous reports I have found good in all our other trips

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hervelille, Propriétaire at Kasbah Igoudar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest
Thank you for your review, but i'am Sorry i'am not agrée with you regarding some points
The Day Of your arrival , you Côme very late at night , all our guests were on bed and our restaurant was closed , if you had notify us by email that you want a dinner so we will do exceptional organization for you to make you happy
Regarding the point of the bank , there is 3 banks with ATM on the amizmiz village who is 7 km away , 6 min drive , and to go this village we drive for free our guests to withdrawal money

On your review you said 1 hour , it's absolutely false

One more thing , you said that one waiter do everything !! Maybe yes if there is not a lot of guests who booked dinner , it's happened but the average is once by month

Like today we have 13 tables for diner and we have 4 waiters

About restaurant , we are happy to announce that our guest can now choose the menu that they wish between a large selection of Moroccan local delicious food

I want to say to the travelers that they project to visit our kasbah that we will be really happy to receive them and give them the best of what we have , we are always improving our service quality to make our customers happy

Thank you for your review , :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were really looking forward to our 3 days here after 4 days in the centre of Marrakech in the lovely Riad Jona and although we knew it would be some distance out of Marrakech we also knew it would be peaceful and give us time to unwind. However, on arrival it became clear that it was not going to live up to the colours, ambience, interiors and hospitality of the Riad. On arrival we were led to a very drab room, there were toiletries but no bar of soap so we used the shampoo to wash our hands, and there were no glasses or complimentary bottle of water, unlike the Riad we had just stayed in. Like previous comments we also booked through secret escapes and were probably influenced by the photographs on their site. The pool area is large and spacious and as there was only 7 other people staying at the same time as us there was certainly no problem getting a sunbed and there is a good sized pool, although too cold to spend any time in. We had a problem at lunch, having advised that my husband is vegetarian - no meat or fish - he was served a rice starter with tuna! when we advised the waiter of this he simply took it from us and said ok, no replacement was brought, this was followed, fortunately, by a very tasty vegetable tagine for us both to share followed by fruit, the cost of the lunch working out at just over £10 per head. Although peaceful it really is in the middle of nowhere about a 45 minute to 1 hour drive from centre of Marrakech, so you don't really have any option unless you have a car but to eat and drink there. By the evening we sat down to dinner and some wine, the first course was soup which was very nice and for me followed by a lovely chicken dish, unfortunately, my husband fared less well and was served omelette - very bland with very little attention to flavour and a basic salad around the edge. As there was only 9 of us in total, a lovely young couple and a very noisy party of 5 young people from London, this was very disappointing especially as we had just had 4 lovely meals in the centre of Marrakech and knew how good the food could be. I think it was at that point that we didnt want this to be our final experience of the holiday, so we went online and booked another hotel back in the centre but nearer to the airport, we were lucky to get a good deal via lastminute.com and ended up spending our last two days in a great hotel with lovely food, live moroccan music and excellent service. I think for some it will be a good place to stay but if you want authentic morrocan style, good food, great ambience and luxurious interiors, stay at one of the many excellent Riads near the centre, ours was only 10 minutes walk from the main square but amazingly quiet and peaceful and, unlike the Kasbah Igoudar, served excellent food.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the Kasbah Igoudar for 4 days following a 3 night stay in the centre of Marrakech. We'd booked through secret escapes and were hoping to find a luxury mountain retreat to help us recover from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It certainly is quiet and very peaceful at the Kasbah Igoudar and because it's so small there was no worrying about sunbeds etc. However despite the nice pool and lovely sunbeds there were several rather minor aspects that let the hotel down a little. For example, when we arrived we were presented with traditional mint tea and pasties - lovely except one of the pastries had a massive blue bottle baked in to it! Other little things like stains on the bed, holes in the sheets and towels and no complimentary toiletries provided (not even hand soap) tainted our experience a bit. From reading other reviews its clear some of the other rooms are nice but ours was very dark and lacking any kind of character - very different from the stylish, luxourious Riad we'd stayed in in Marrakech. There was no bath and it didn't feel terribly clean. The service was terribly hit and miss - sometimes extremely fast and other times painfully slow. On the first night we waited two hours for our dinner to be served. Most of the waiters were lovely - epecially Adil who was very helpful. But they all seemed to work very long shifts and some seemed a bit tired and grumpy. Maybe because the management sat in the shade and directed them?! Foodwise, my partner who eats meat fared a lot better than me as a vegetarian. All his dishes were delicately spiced, cooked beautifully and very tasty. Mine on the other hand, mainly consisted of unflavoured vegetables. They also forgot twice that I'd ordered a vegetarian meal - no bad thing for my other half as he got double the meat while I had to wait for something to be knocked together for me. I do feel the food was overpriced compared to Marrakech. We ended up just having breakfast and dinner everyday as it was too expensive to have 3 meals - obviously being in the middle of nowhere you don't have the option to go elsewhere unless you have a car or are willing to pay for an expensive lift. We stocked up on water and snacks before we went and were very glad we did. Likewise, we didn't go on any of the trips as we felt they were rather overpriced and even if we'd been prepared to spend more money than we had, we couldn't as they only accept cash. The breakfasts were fine but consisted of three types of breaded good, plus drinks and olives. Some fresh fruit would have been very welcome. We did very much enjoy the antics of the little resident cat who was very friendly and curled up beside us most mornings as we had our breakfast! We also saw some gorgeous sunsets and enjoyed star gazing at night.

All in all, a 'nice' experience, but not Kasbah Igoudar didn't have the wow factor we were hoping for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We've just returned from the most amazing 5 days staying at the stunning Kasbah Igoudar - we were simply stunned at the beauty, tranquility, understated elegance and sheer luxury which took our breath away. A true secret escape, heaven on earth.
We had a beautiful Large Suite Charme with a wonderful sunken bath, voile drapped around the bed with its beautiful bedding and very high-quality mattress, a large seating area, and all the mod-cons, and another suite charme that our three children shared (also a beautiful room).
The staff were all supremely attentive in a very pleasant discreet and non-invasive way, sumptuous freshly baked breakfasts around the swimming pool, and the delicious three-course lunches and dinners also outdoors but at different tables.
More than enough luxury double sunbeds (more like big double beds with matresses!) so no early morning reserving of sunbeds here which was a massive relief. As such no one at the hotel was breakfasting until 9/9.30am and then slowly making their way to snooze or read in the sunshine with no worries about finding a nice sunbed to lie on.
We'd already had four full days in Marrakech so we were glad to have a complete rest, well away from the city or anywhere else and with magnificent views of the Atlas mountains from the bedrooms, the pool, the restaurant, and happy not do much more than sunbathe, read, snooze and swim in the fabulous and big pool.
We did go on donkey rides with a lovely Morrocan man who showed us through a local village, also went out on bicycles, had the best ever massages and generally lapped up the luxurious ambience and felt very lucky to be there.
It was a dream come true - you hear of these places but don't really believe they exist - this one does!!
We travelled as a family with three children (young teens) and we all absolutely loved Kasbah Igoudar and wouldn't hesitate to strongly recommend it.
No need for me to post my own photos as they are exactly the same as the ones on the website which are absolutely true to form and can be taken at face value, showing an accurate picture of Kasbah Igoudar.

Room Tip: Large Suite Charme was stunning, but I think all the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Igoudar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Igoudar

Address: Route Amizmiz Marrakech km7 | 7 km avant Amizmiz, Lalla Takerkoust 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Lalla Takerkoust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lalla Takerkoust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Igoudar 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kasbah Igoudar ... a small paradise to be carried away by the sensuality of "SlowLife" in other words: the art of taking the time to live ... to return to the source of well-being.With its location away from the stress of the city and the foothills of the Atlas, Kasbah Igoudar is an authentic paradise for nature lovers wishing to spend a stay in a relaxing and breathe fresh air.30 min from Marrakech, your stay you will enjoy a peaceful setting in the snowy peaks of the Atlas in the enclosure of an orchard of olive and fruit trees and make excursions and picnics in the beautiful surroundings easily in Marrakech and the AtlasCommitted to responsible tourism and sustainable development, the kasbah was conceived in full respect of the ecosystem (traditional architecture, use of solar panels, local building materials, water sterilization, UV, organic vegetable gardens) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Igoudar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Igoudar Lalla Takerkoust, Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Igoudar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.