We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Igoudar

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Igoudar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kasbah Igoudar
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route Amizmiz Marrakech km7 | 7 km avant Amizmiz, Lalla Takerkoust 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Treated like royalty!

Truly a tremendous experience.
The staff were extremely friendly, attentive and timely. Whether it was room service or in the restaurant. The food was delicious, breakfast being included in the price was well worth it!

The hotel looks great and more importantly feels great. Looking at the picturesque Atlas mountains from my room and the pool could not be topped!

It felt so great to get away from the hustling and bustling of inner city life. Apart from the surreal views, the peace and serenity of the whole place. This really appealed to me, it felt like I was in a eutopia, not a sound or thing in sight apart from beauty.

I stayed here for a week and it was it stunning!? I feel miserable having left!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasbahigoudar, Gérant at Kasbah Igoudar, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest
in my name and in the name of all our team we want to thank you for your review
it makes our hearts warm
we hope that your return travel was good and that you keep good memories about your stay

thank you very much and hope to see you again in our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived to Morocco via Rabat at 11pm.. a 4 hour coach journey meant we would arrive in Marrakech city centre.. 3am and deep in the night we received a call from Amine the ever so efficient Hotel Manager. He arranged for us to have transport. At 3am as soon as we arrived in Marrakech our driver was waiting and was even kind enough to stop for Snacks as it was outside reception hours and the welcome package obviously was not available. Our groupon voucher expired 5 months ago yet Amine allowed us to use the voucher which entitled us to 5 nights in a double room. We arrived into the moutain resort 30 mins after leaving Marrakech to the noises of crickets and complete and utter tranquility. It was a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of the city life. Our bedroom was luscious and was cleaned well and smelt beautiful every evening.. theres an amazing outdoor pool with great views of the atlas mountains. I literally felt away from day to day life and nothing felt like I had escaped the worries in my life until I woke up the next morning to burning sunshine and simon one of the waiters asking if he could get us something to eat. Him along with kamal and another waiter were at our beck and call all throughout the duration of the stay. Polite elegant and traditionally dressed they were amazing!! Food was beautful and reasonably priced at around 40 gbp for brekkie lunch and dinner. We also took advantage of the hamam and massage on site which was better than all massages ive had in london. . So good that we booked it twice.. we also took advanatage of the Jacuzzi and donkey rides which were free for the donkey and 10 pounds gbp for jacuzzi.. all in all the peace you feel from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave is one you will fail to find anywhere else in the world!!! P.s make sure you ask about the peacock which the staff bring out to take photos with hotel guests in the afternoon... 5 star service 5 star people 5 star experience... thank you amine and others in the hotel for such a lovely holiday. Aslan and friends

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say when your expecting 5* luxury as the pictures and statement from the hotel itself say you can expect, it wasn't, we had a shabby dark room, this is meant to be a superior double, 2 single beds pushed together, toilet and bathroom no better than a 1*hotel, the bath tap water dripped out, the noise the pipes made were horrendous, we were told breakfast was included in our deal, it wasn't, the hotel Shuttle is NOT free, even though it advertised it was if you stayed 3 nights or more.. a complete lie, the transport from hotel was an hour and a half late, after an early start and a 4 hour flight, not good the transfer from airport is well over an hour!!!! .NO Wifi at all, yes there is internet access via the hotel computer but if your thinking of using an i phone or any other phone for Wifi, don't bother, there's not even Wifi at airport,
The furniture you see around the pool in pictures is not half there,
The food was very bland and repetitive, No menus.... their choice, just lots of chicken... no rice no cous cous .... too much bread. all about bread I am sick of bread...
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.. unless you are a hermit.. and expect very or a honeymoon couple who dont want to leave the room.. if you are honeymooning get a suite only room any good ..NO fitness centre... very small spa book a day in advance,Very very upset and disappointed .....I am not fussy I just expect to get whats advertised.. who wouldn't.

Room Tip: The best suite they have, make sure if you want a double bed you state that, even if its a double oo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasbahigoudar, Propriétaire at Kasbah Igoudar, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest
thank you for your review on tripadvisor , this will really help us to improve our service and try to please all our customers even the harder like you
First of all I would like to correct your written comments to not lead to errors our guests that we love so much
the first day of your visit you were disappointed because you thought our hotel was a few minutes instead of Jamaat el Fna or your disappointment and your comment who only implies you

our hotelier establishment is a guest house category 1 best category for guest houses and Riads , palaces in Morocco), we have 10 rooms, our hotelier establishment has never been noted by stars even if it corresponds to the first category 5 starsin the category of riads and guesthouses ( riads and guesthouses are more typical in morocoo as we call hotel : tourist manufaturies here !!)

Contrary to what you said the Internet is available to all our guests and this free course

our restaurant (dinner) serves typical delicious Moroccan dishes at any time of the day, upon check in you were well advertised that if you do not want to take the daily menu you can ask us what you want and we will be happy to prepare all your wishes

Finally I would like you to invite you to read the many glowing reviews of our customers, I am sorry you assign this note to our hotel because it really does not deserve it, you've seen it by yourself during your stay, we give great importance to the satisfaction of our customers,

pleasure to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at the Kasbah Igoudar with my boyfriend for 4 nights.
Firstly, it is a stunning property with great rooms. They are very spacious, nice and cool and the place has an amazing view of the Atlas mountains.

The staff were also very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They were extremely welcoming. We had been stuck at passport control at Marrakech airport for two hours (that's another story...) and we were panicking that the driver would've given up and gone home, especially seeing as it was around 10pm at this point. But when we came out he was still there and the staff were waiting for us back at Igoudar with tea and pastries.

The food was nice enough, plenty of it and due to being in the middle of nowhere we knew they would come with a price. Worked out around £10.90 for each meal which had three courses (so google currency converter tells me.) This doesn't sound to bad on paper but in Marrakech city you can get the same for half the price.

There are also free donkey rides which I would recommend as they take you to a little village and its amazing to see how many of the Moroccan people still live. The Kasbah really is in the middle of the sticks as it were so its just you, the donkeys and the chap who tends to the gardens and animals (they also have a peacock in the grounds!!) It was a great experience.

We also opted for a hammam. The lady worked so hard to give us a really good treatment and used all the traditional oils and soaps. I'm assuming it was more overpriced then one in the city but we just didn't want to leave the pool that day after having had a 14 hour day in the city the day before! My only niggle would be the open window in the waiting/relaxing area. We were set on by about 50 flies - not so relaxing battering them off. There was an air con unit in there and i'm sure they are trying to be environmentally friendly but the flies drove me crazy!

A few things to be aware of..... I believe somewhere on the website it states there is a free shuttle to Marrakech and that it's about half an hour away. Its not free and its takes around 45 minutes. We managed to get the 'shuttle' with another couple we met at the hotel, reducing the cost and decided to spend a full day in the city to make it worth while. However, coming back to the calm Igoudar after the hectic city feels very satisfying!

On the whole we really enjoyed our stay and came away feeling very relaxed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just spent a week here on our honeymoon and it was the PERFECT combination of relaxation, Atlas Mountain trekking, lounging by the pool with wine and olives, and exploration, shopping in Marrakesh (not far away) and romance. The staff is amazingly friendly, helpful and sweet, the grounds are gorgeous, the pool is amazing and the rooms are so lovely, tranquil and smeel wonderful (some oil in the air, Id love to bottle it)...truly a treat!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite instead of a room, WORTH THE SPLURGE, trust me! **AND YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR THE R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The perfect place to spend some holidays far from the distractions of the world, rooms are gorgeous (Incredibly romantic), the staff is very hospitable and the atmosphere is pretty cosy and has a great view on the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Me and my girlfriend came across this hotel on secret escapes and thought it would be perfect for a short break. How right we were! Right from the start there was a lovely man to collect us from the airport. The rooms are pretty average, but that's pretty much all we could fault! The pool area and gardens are beautiful, and so relaxing for a short break away. Not recommended for longer holidays as it's so far away from Marrakech city. They only offer a set three course menu for lunch and dinner, but every meal we ate was tasty, traditional moroccan cuisine, and we were never feeling hungry for too long. On the first day we didn't think we would be hungry for lunch, but by about 3:30 we were feeling peckish, and they were more than happy to fix us something up.
Overall fantastic stay and would highly recommend. Perfect for couples for a short break, but if going for longer would recommend hiring a car! They provide this service too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Igoudar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Igoudar

Address: Route Amizmiz Marrakech km7 | 7 km avant Amizmiz, Lalla Takerkoust 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Lalla Takerkoust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lalla Takerkoust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Igoudar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kasbah Igoudar ... a small paradise to be carried away by the sensuality of "SlowLife" in other words: the art of taking the time to live ... to return to the source of well-being.With its location away from the stress of the city and the foothills of the Atlas, Kasbah Igoudar is an authentic paradise for nature lovers wishing to spend a stay in a relaxing and breathe fresh air.30 min from Marrakech, your stay you will enjoy a peaceful setting in the snowy peaks of the Atlas in the enclosure of an orchard of olive and fruit trees and make excursions and picnics in the beautiful surroundings easily in Marrakech and the AtlasCommitted to responsible tourism and sustainable development, the kasbah was conceived in full respect of the ecosystem (traditional architecture, use of solar panels, local building materials, water sterilization, UV, organic vegetable gardens) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kasbah Igoudar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Igoudar Lalla Takerkoust, Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Igoudar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.