We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kasbah Igoudar” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Igoudar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Igoudar to your Saves list
Kasbah Igoudar
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route Amizmiz Marrakech km7 | 7 km avant Amizmiz, Lalla Takerkoust 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kasbah Igoudar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I together with another couple visited Igoudar in December 2012 and wanted a relaxing break in the sun with good food and interesting places to see and visit. The hotel description and photogarphs on Voyage Prive web site made this hotel feel perfect. How wrong were we. On arrival we were met by the receptionist dressed in a large coat with the hood up. It was late evening and the temperature outside was close to freezing. Inside was no different! The room heater was completely inadequate and left on all night which made little difference to the room temperature. We needed additional quilts for the bed. The shower / bath was pathetic; very little water and then only louke warm. Bath was made of concrete - and we had the vip suite!. The promised gastronomic dinner was a joke. You got what they offered and the restaurant was freezing. We (and the waiter) eat with our coats on. The pool was dirty and unheated; the spa non-existent and looked half finished. The location is very remote and is an hour drive from Marrakech. It was obvious that this hotel was completely unsuitable and we feel that we have been duped by Voyage Prive by their holiday description and clever photography. It is strange that they had no photogarphs from the roof terrace showing the (presumably) staff living accommodation adjacent- very disturbing. We have complained without much success so we are in the process of considering legal action them. On the plus side the few members of staff were kind, helpful and attentive. We asked the young waiter to recommend a hotel in Marrakech and we left first thing in the morning - never to return. The hotel he rocommended (Hivernage) was fantastic and a genuine 4 star. The rest of our break was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasbahigoudar, Propriétaire at Kasbah Igoudar, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
dear guest
Thank you for your comment that help us always to improve our quality of service,
Let me first ask you to read reviews of other guests
I also noticed during your stay that you would live in the medina of Marrakech (center of noise polution and odors)
you are so wrong from the beginning of destination because we offer environmentally responsible tourism while not far from the city of Marrakech for those wishing to visit the Medina and the city of Marrakech
especially since you are arriving at the only time of year when the weather is cold and it really rained ,
all the conditions were there for you to write this opinion
I ask you and all who read this to read please the many comments from our guests because unfortunately your comment does not reflect the reality
you will be welcome whenever you want for a quiet pleasant stay under the sun with my team who I consider like mmy family , we will be on foot day and night for making your stay memorable! this is our motto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    33
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
82
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I visited Kasbah Igoudar January 2013. We wanted a few days away for my 58th birthday preferably where neither of us had been. Morocco fitted the bill just perfect. We then got an offer via Living Social for the Kasbah Igoudar. Looking at Tripadvisor it was a no brainer. It lived up to its billing in every way. Even the weather was gorgeous although the gang that worked there all wore coats when we were in shorts. Don't go expecting to loose weight the portions are large but the food is superb. Simple breakfasts and no menu makes an interesting change. Not knowing what you will be eating for lunch or dinner is a strange thing to get used too. If you want the hustle and bustle of Marrakech then this probably isn't the place for you as it is a 45 minute taxi ride there. This is the perfect place for relaxing. Having said that we did a bit of travelling. We did the ballooning trip (up at 04:30) to see the sunrise over the High Atlas mountains. What a fantastic experience. Plus the trip up the Ourika Valley. The driver couldn't have been more helpful although communication was mostly sign language he was on time every time we needed him. Great guy. All the staff where very helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. Having Happy Birthday sung to you by three Moroccan waiters while a huge sparkler fizzes in the cake they have prepared for me was a great surprise and is something I won't forget for a long time. This is a wonderful place to stay you really ought to check it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ok the showers are not the best. They are even poor. And the location is a bit far out from Marrakech but we loved it. Better than we accpected. The rooms are very nice and the beds good. The common rooms with the open fire are really nice. The pool area is lovely (to cold to swim in the winter) and the food is fantastic!
The lady cooking the food is really good. We had full board and even though we they only had a set menu we loved almost every single dish. She is great value for the hotel.
The rest of the staff was impressive. They tryed so hard to make our holiday perfect and they made it. What about arranging baby sitter on new years eve!? Or just entertain our daughter so we could have a quite meal alone!?
We didnt attend any excursions but we heard other people who did and where very pleased.
The spa was not opened when we where there but we want to go back when it is.
This place is like a destionation itself. The view was wonderful and it was so peaceful. We loved the music the played in the pool area and we liked to local beer. And yes... the showers are bad.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and nice. We had the brown/beige room and where very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

very welcoming people and awsome house ! you have to do it !!
the landscapes around are so nice and the area is very quite.
the perfect place to have a nice rest.
I advise people to ask staff for anything they may need. they will get it for them.

Room Tip: all the rooms seems to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Kasbah Igoudar is the kind of place that takes you away from the craziness in Marrakesh. It is 30 minutes away, but the location is perfect if you want to be on the Atlas experiencing solitude and peace in a very relaxing and safe environment with pristine views of the sunset and pleasant mornings by the pool listening to the sounds of nature. The rooms are a good size with a nice décor and comfortable beds. The only electronics in the room is the TV.

The bathroom is a nice size but the hot water at times could be an inconvenience if you are in a rush or visiting in September when it’s cold in the mornings. It’s better to advise reception the night before so the staff has time to turn on the water heater. Please keep in mind that these are very small glitches compared to what you experience on a personal level at this place.

At the time we went, the spa wasn’t finished since this is a brand new place so we decided to take a spa day at Kasbah Tamadot. I will absolutely recommend doing this, instead of a tour on the Atlas, since the road is the same route.

Their food is organic, good and simple, prepared by the ladies that live in the village of Amizmiz. The Kasbah provides you with transportation if needed. We got Abdout, the best taxi driver. He took us to the bazaar and was the perfect guide to find exactly the stores we needed for the exact items we were looking for in just two hours.
We want to thank Jasine, Mounir, and Avdul for making the best of our stay and the ladies in the kitchen Khadija, Aarika and Abderazzak for their lovely meals!

One more tip -- you don’t need a guide to the Ouzod waterfalls just hire a car to take you.

Have fun Morocco, it’s a beautiful country and its people are even more beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with my wife at the kasbah igoudar and I think that is the best property where we stayed ever, before our stay at the kasbah , we stayed 2 nights in a riad in the old medina which was not lovely and lovely like the kasbah , the staff here is very helpfull , only smiling faces :) , wonderful pool face to Atlas mountains , the food was excellent too , specially Moroccan mmmmm delicious , you can trust the cooker even if you don't know what is the menu before ....this is how things are at this charming kasbah ... We will come back in 2 years :)

Room Tip: Try the excursion to imlil .... Very good views between atlas and Berber villages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Initially we were shocked at how far away from ANYTHING it was!!
The property did not seem to be finished. There were lots of loose wiring hanging where lights should have been attached!! There was no spa or fitness centre as we had been told there was and although the pool was large and a lovely spot, it was too dirty to get into which was disappointing!
Our heating did not work until the day before we left and we had numerous problems getting the TV to work.
The cost of getting into Marrakech, which was about a 50 minute drive was £40 round trip which when getting away for a bargain break with Voyage Prive made it more expensive.
The food was very good but we never knew what we were getting until it was presented to us!
However, all that said the staff were delightful and so attentive and welcoming.
Don't know how long they will stay, however, as the staff have to multi- task and work 16 hour days!!! That didn't make us feel good. The driver is a lovely gentleman! Even gave me his gallbier to wear when I was so cold!
Great potential but far from the 5 star we were expecting...
NB if you go to the Square PLEASE spend afew £'s and rescue some of the sad baby tortoises sold for £2 and take them back to the grounds leading to the hotel and set them free!!! It makes you feel good!

Room Tip: We had one of the better rooms with a large bath. ( room 1) some rooms only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasbahigoudar, Propriétaire at Kasbah Igoudar, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,
I hope your return went well ...
Thank you for your testimony on TripAdvisor, I remember you very well Madam, you were crying and tears on the last day of your departure and you repeat that you had a great time and you will come back next year! But you're the only note our establishment as average! we really do not understand, if this is not the hypocrysie I do not know what it is!! However, my team and I were really shocked when we read your comment because we were not expecting that! even the driver that you treat nice was very disappointed when he read your comment ("I do it préciise not lend his djellaba, he gave it to you and you are left with")

Let me first tell you that you you are downright wrong destination, as you originally thought we were in the Jamaa el Fna
it's your fault and not ours because our website is all very well specified

To respond to points raised in your comment:
(1) I said that Yassin and Mounir all the staff work 9 hours a day and not 16 hours like you say! it is absurd to lie like that on forums! My staff tells you that he is disappointed with your comments, they really tried to make you feel at home, they are very disappointed!
(2) Transfer to the airport is free and does not coast £ 40 as you say!
If you paid a surplus is that you want a private car for you (round trip) to downtown center , to my knowledge, this service is not free in any other institution in our country. in our guest house it's coast 17 € or 200dhs by travel
(3) you say that the pool was dirty! and you knew that it was normal for the whole week it rained
(4) about our restaurant : I recall that we serve organic produce from the farm hosting the kasbah, still we consider our customers as our guests in the house, so we can not announce the menu in advance, if I were your guest you would tell me what would the menu? lol thank you god, we have a great leader and our local kitchen is very good , and appeals to all our guests, you just have to read the other reviews on trip advisor and all review sites found on the web
Despite your comment to us disappointed, know that you would always welcome, our house is yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Igoudar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Igoudar

Address: Route Amizmiz Marrakech km7 | 7 km avant Amizmiz, Lalla Takerkoust 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Lalla Takerkoust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lalla Takerkoust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Igoudar 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kasbah Igoudar ... a small paradise to be carried away by the sensuality of "SlowLife" in other words: the art of taking the time to live ... to return to the source of well-being.With its location away from the stress of the city and the foothills of the Atlas, Kasbah Igoudar is an authentic paradise for nature lovers wishing to spend a stay in a relaxing and breathe fresh air.30 min from Marrakech, your stay you will enjoy a peaceful setting in the snowy peaks of the Atlas in the enclosure of an orchard of olive and fruit trees and make excursions and picnics in the beautiful surroundings easily in Marrakech and the AtlasCommitted to responsible tourism and sustainable development, the kasbah was conceived in full respect of the ecosystem (traditional architecture, use of solar panels, local building materials, water sterilization, UV, organic vegetable gardens) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Igoudar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Igoudar Lalla Takerkoust, Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Igoudar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;