We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Riad

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Riad
Route de Goulmima, Errachidia 52000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Errachidia
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms with a bath. Ask for a plug!!! Tele with English films. Tele was about twenty years old though and sound was rubbish as speaker was blown. Very clean and nice big bed with good sheets and blankets. Air con. Feature is the pool and central courtyard which was beautiful. Beautiful gardens too. Dinner in the restaurant was good. Tajines were reasonably priced and tasty. Breakfast was good although clearly not someone who drank coffee who made the coffee. Was like syrup with amphetamine sulphate. 700 dirahms. Bit pricey but comfy and a good bet for a stopover. Oh loads of red hot water at night - none in the morning!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stopped here after a long drive on our way to Merzouga. The common areas are richly and beautifully decorated in traditional colors and fabrics. The rooms are very big and ours included a living/sitting area, refrigerator, large bed and large, modern bathroom. The rooms are comfortable but not plush. A star of the hotel is the large well-maintained pool. Breakfast was good and included meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt and olives. They weren't serving dinner when we arrived but directed us to a nearby hotel that was.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This hotel is on the outskirts of Errachidia, an uninspiring but not unpleasant town. It has the feel of an out of town motel. It is certainly not unpleasant. The pool area is nice, the rooms are clean and well presented (if a bit bland and functional), bathrooms good and the communal areas are reasonably authentic. It has none of the charm of a Riad in Fes or Marrakech and at points is a bit rough around the edges but this is entirely comestic (wonky light fittings in places etc) and nothing that seriously detracts from the experience. The staff are also very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel's website (and indeed the Lonely Planet) somewhat oversell it but if you lower your expectations slightly as a place to stopover en route to or from Merzouga, it is perfectly acceptable and probably better than most other offerings.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Attractively designed hotel with rooms as a rectangle around a large central pool. Well maintained and the staff are very helpful. Only a little English spoken but fluent in French as you would expect. Rooms are clean and quite large with seperate sitting area from the bedroom and bathroom. Best to get the rooms that face into the pool. Breakfast is good but dinner option are limited. Would recommend you decline the half board option and eat out or in as you please. Cost should be similar. Note the hotel is about 4km out of town so you will need a car or taxi to get there. From the research I did it seemed to be the best hotel in town. Has wifi that works well in the reception area (1Mb download and 250Kb upload) but less well in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Hotel Le Riad was included as part of our tour and was a stopping point for us between Fes and Merzouga. As such we only spent one night there and had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It is a lovely main building and has a gorgeous pool (although we noticed a lot of birds using it as their bath and toilet). They offer wireless internet but only from the lobby of the main building and we could not access it from our room. The restaurant smelled a little musty but we ate a tasty 3 course meal for dinner. We didn't find it to be the most heated of hotels. There was a heater in the room (that was also the A/C) but it never got very warm. Obviously we were there in the off season so we expected some hotels to be cold. The beds were pretty standard for morocco (hard) and they only provided one thin pillow. The TV did not have any English language stations. The sitting area furniture had some ancient stains on it but appeared to be clean. The shower and bathroom were spotless. I'd say this was an average hotel and fine for our one night stay in the winter,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Riad

Address: Route de Goulmima, Errachidia 52000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Errachidia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Errachidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Le Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.