We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fun had by all....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Degrees South

3 Degrees South
Kilifi Boatyard, Kilifi 80108, Kenya
+254 714 783915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kilifi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a professional watersports company offering rental and instruction in dinghy sailing, yachting, windsurfing, waterskiing, wakeboarding and kayaking. We are open year-round and offer official RYA (Royal Yachting Association) qualifications in dinghy sailing & windsurfing - the only centre in Africa able to do so. We are friendly and love out watersports. We delight in getting our guests involved in the same. We hope to see you on the water!
Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun had by all....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Thanks to the whole team at 3 Degrees South - we really couldn't have spent a more fun filled week on the water in Kilifi Creek. We were two families - four adults and four children and there really was something for everyone. My husband and I both had sailing lessons. My eldest son and a good friend both learnt to windsurf. Our friend's daughter did her RYA Stage 2 sailing course and the rest of the group either kayaked, paddle boarded or went for joy rides on the catamaran! The instructors are all excellent and Anne and Jo both instill such enthusiasm for all things 'water based' that we will certainly be back again......and again!
Truly worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was our first time in Kenya. 3 degrees was an amazing finale to the trip. So memorable and will be hard not to return again and again! It suited everybody. One of us learned to windsail, our daughter had one to one sailing tuition from the incredible Ann who convinced her capsizing was fun and helped her achieve her level 2. My other daughter played with Milo while she wasn't doing acrobatics off the catamaran. In one way or another we were in the water for most of the week.
Its also excellent value - the courses are paid for but there is plenty to do free too - no hire charges on kayaks, boards or catamaran trips etc
All the teachers were utterly lush and with Jo and Ann at the helm it is a wonderful place to spend a holiday. We will return!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fantastic Professional Outfit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We travel to Kilifi especially to sail with 3 degrees South - the creek is the perfect place to learn to sail or take part in any of the water sports on offer. Our kids sail Laser Picos which they love, plus as a family we take out the Bahia and occasionally the catamaran (if feeling brave!). What gives the place an excellent rating is the staff and level of professionalism. Safety is paramount and everything clearly explained and double checked. Kids can be taken for joy rides or try their hand at wind surfing - all under the watchful eye of 3 degree south crew. We have also taken part in their kids holiday activity school and done a RYA Phase 2 sailing course. They also have good rates at Mnarani Club Hotel which is a bonus.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I went at to 3 degrees south at beginning of 2014 the staff are friendly, funny nice people.
Lovely centre

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgil, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant water sports!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

we have stayed at Mnarani Club in Kilifi twice in the past six months, and the real draw card is the close relationship they have with 3 degrees south.

3 degrees south is a superb water sports business located on Kilifi Creek and run incredibly professionally by Anne and Jo. They offer sailing at all levels - my first trip I opted to sail alone in a Laser, my wife and boys in Pico's. This time we took friends, and their 11 year old daughter spent a week with Ann. I look a few lessons, and really improved my laser sailing, my 15 year old son and friend had wind surfing lessons, and got really pretty good in just a few days. They also offer diving and water skiing.

Kilifi Creek is a really special place, and 3 Degrees South just really brings it to life! Their boat yard is adjacent to Mnarani Club which I have previously reviewed, and you can get some really excellent rates by booking Mnarani Club through 3 Degrees South - the big plus being that all guests staying at Mnarani enjoy unlimited use of the 3 Degrees South facilities (diving, skiing and lessons extra).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Degrees South also viewed

Kilifi, Coast Province
Kilifi, Coast Province
 

Been to 3 Degrees South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Degrees South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.