We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mnarani Club and Jawamu Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mnarani Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilifi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mnarani Hotel
Save
You added Mnarani Hotel to your Saves list
B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mnarani Club and Jawamu Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mnarani Hotel in Kilifi in September. It was our first time in Kenya and it was a fantastic holiday. Having contacted James from Jawamu Tours beforehand because of his good reviews, he visited us at the hotel the night before we were to go on safari to talk through our itinerary with him and make sure we were good to go. It was absolutely amazing, so well organised, we saw so many animals and couldn’t have been looked after better. The Mnarani was all it claimed to be, we made a friend for life in one of our waiters, Chengo, who took us to his house and village, shared his coconut wine and texted us to check we got home safely after we left. It was a holiday we’ll never forget, thank you James and all at Mnarani!
Keeley and Ashley x

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for an ocean view room and it was 100 million per cent worth it. Views to die...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    76
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
217
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

While this is not a review of the hotel, we own a house in Kilifi that we visit 6-8 times a year. We do like to go out for a drink, and Mnarani has a stunning bar. However getting in is such a process. I do understand security processes need to be followed, but the guards have to ring reception to see if we can go in, then we are told we can only have drinks and no food (written on the security slip), you have to get the slip signed and stamped by reception and so on.

Mnarani needs to be more welcoming to non-resident guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here just before Christmas and was very impressed. The hotel is relatively small but very friendly. The staff are a great asset and very friendly, always remembering your name etc. If you have any problems the management are always on hand and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The beach is on the creek but there is a short walk when the tide is out to get to the ocean. The creek is ideal though for the water sports. The infinity pool is fabulous with plenty of shade and staff constantly looking after your drinks needs. If you want a lively place this is probably not for you but if you want to relax and chill this is it. We stayed in a pool view room and although these were slightly older than some thought the upgrade was good value. We did choose a taxi transfer and this ensured a quicker and less messy experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As confirmed by most of the reviews already written, this is an outstanding gem of a hotel situated in beautiful grounds with well kept gardens, a small private beach, infinity pool and wonderful views of the creek. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was basic and comfortable (Not that we spent much time in it) Thank you to David for my daily Swahili lesson and for keeping our room perfect including the beautiful flower displays. The managers are welcoming and friendly, engaging with everyone in the evening. The food was of a good standard with a large choice including fresh vegetables from their own allotment and if you are a fussy eater the breakfast and the daily soup was perfect. This hotel is quiet and friendly as stated and for late nights expect to see only a handful of people at the bar. Thank you to Nixon, Harrison and all the bar staff who were friendly and attentive. The animation team worked hard during the day to involve the sunbed huggers in activities, but they were not pushy and were always friendly. The 2 hour bus journey from the airport was a sightseeing experience ( and the return check in at Mombasa was a very long process - not the hotels fault). My only negative for the hotel (from my personal perspective and maybe not others) was the amount of families accessing day passes and using the hotel. As a person who usually avoids school holidays, at times the pool area was busy and noisy from the extra visitors.
Prior to our stay we booked a safari with JT Safaris through their web site/email and this was an experience that I will never forget. We had our own driver Ken and a 4x4 vehicle. Ken was very knowledgeable and made our experience so good throughout the 4 day safari. Thank you Ken. I am so pleased we did not book a Thomsons option in a 2 wheel drive vehicle with 6 people.

Thank you JT and thank you Hank, Elma and Sean and all your staff ( too many to name) for a memorable Christmas holiday.

Room Tip: We had creek room number 20 with a good creek/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntingdon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A superb Hotel in a lovely location. I didn't think it could be as good as the reviews on here claimed, but it was. Staff are very helpful wouldn't want to name them in case I missed some one out. The rooms are clean and well maintained, we appreciated having a Mosquito net but never saw a Mosquito. The buffet in the restaurant was excellent & varied, the service was friendly but very prompt. The bar staff like everyone else were brilliant. My partner keeps to the beach whilst on holiday normally, but she loved the infinity pool which was kept spotless by the pool team. We had a Garden Room which gave us a great chance to meet the Vervet monkeys, the Gardener's were a wealth of information about plants & wildlife. Many thanks to the Management & staff for memorable holiday. We never usually return to a resort or hotel however we are already looking to return to the Mnarani next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A client recommended this hotel to us and said it had been one of the best family holidays they had enjoyed, so we did have some expectations. On reading previous reviews we were excited! I'm pleased to say it lived up to them all and we enjoyed a very special and memorable holiday for two weeks over Christmas. The watersports and sailing provided by 3 Degrees South were first rate - the standard of teaching, friendliness of staff and the quality of equipment impressive. Henk and Elma where so eager to hear your experiences and were such friendly, charming people. The food was excellent and they made such an impressive feast for us to enjoy on Christmas Day.I can't finish my review without commenting on all the wonderful staff. They make your holiday! Patrick and Dida on the beach, Mercy, our lovely and attentive waitress, the gardener on Cardiac Hill who was always a smiley face in the morning and finally Alex our Housekeeper, who not only decorated our beds with floral decorations on Christmas Day but who also managed to keep our two rooms habitable with three teenagers for two weeks! Finally, we did a two day safari with JT Safaris who did a fantastic job in organising and managing a really good safari experience. I can highly recommend them and their 4x4 vehicles. Thank you to you all at the Mnarani Club and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

All this praise for the Mnarani Club is well deserved. It's an excellent hotel in a beautiful location. My partner and I stayed there as part of a Thomson package deal over Christmas and we cannot fault the place.

The management and staff make a real effort to ensure that everyone is happy and relaxed. Henk and Elma, the resort managers, take time to talk to the guests, listen to the feedback and go out of their way to address any issues. Henk even lent us a fan from his house for our room when we found it difficult to sleep in the heat! The food choice and quality are outstanding. The evening entertainments were varied and interesting (though not at all compulsory).

The animation team were enthusiastic and friendly, but not too intrusive. We tried a couple of day trips organised by the hotel and enjoyed them both.

On our less energetic days we lay by the infinity pool and gazed out across the beautiful view of Kilifi Creek and the Indian Ocean.

I recommend this hotel without hesitation and would gladly go back.

Room Tip: As mentioned elsewhere, the 'creek' rooms have a better view than the 'garden' rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mnarani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Hotel

Address: B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cliffs of Kilifi Creek, just where the creek meets and merges with the Indian Ocean, Mnarani provides perfectly for the beach and turquoise ocean under one foot and the activity and adventure of creek-life under the other. Kilifi lives and breathes the gentle sea breeze, at the edge of the ocean, between Malindi and Mombasa. Set in 40 acres of landscaped tropical garden, fragranced by Frangipani blossoms and balmy ocean breezes, Mnarani is an idyllic retreat and holiday destination. Mnarani offers you the true African experience with excellent service always offered with a smile. Explore the coast north of Mombasa and take advantage of the brilliant diving and sailing opportunities. Daily entertainment and fine cuisine complete your fun filled days and make for an excellent holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mnarani Hotel Kilifi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mnarani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.