We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best is yet to come” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mnarani Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilifi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mnarani Hotel
Save
You added Mnarani Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best is yet to come”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have been going to this Hotel for many years, some times 3 times a year. so that is a recommendation in it's self. It is a friendly hotel and the staff can't do enough for you, and they will leave you alone if that's what you want. The food is wonderful (Just like mum cooks). It is a short walk from Kilifi town,or a 5 min, tuk tuk ride away from a busy but friendly town.
I have booked my Christmas and New year Holiday with them this year.so the best is yet to come. CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR UNDER AN AFRICAN SKY. What more can you ask for..

Room Tip: I prefer Garden View. it is quieter and you have a nice outlook over the creek, you have a Children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    84
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
97
225
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my second visit to Kenya and I enjoyed it more than the previous time. The hotel was great with nice grounds and a stunning private beach where you could wander the waters edge in perfect peace and quiet. The staff were all very friendly from management down they spoke to you every day making you feel that you were more than a number to them. Anyone thinking of going to the Mnarani should not hesitate to do so .While I was there I had booked a safari with Big 7 Kitheka Safaris before going to Kenya this was also the second time I have booked with them. It was great as there was only the two of us in a four by four which was much more comfortable than the usual vans.So if you are looking for something a bit more private contact Daniel Maluku at www,big7kithekasafaris.com
Also if you book before you go you dont have to move out of your room when away on safari which you have to do if you book through the tour company.
A big thank you to all in Kenya for making my time there so special.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What an amazing time we had. The food was amazing and plentiful. Thank you so much for the warm hospitality we received. Asante sana
our hosts were always ready to assist with a smile. Would definitely highly recommend it



  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at the Mnarani Hotel for two lovely weeks with my Husband and it was the best holiday ever. The staff were fantastic just could not do enough for you and called us by our first names after only one day. The food was fabulous different every single day and always hot. We had a bar be que by the pool on wednesday and all the tables were put on the edge of the pool and we were sang to by two kenyans while we ate. Very romantic. On saturday it was on the beach while we watched acrobats which was brilliant. The management Elma and Henk always had their meals with us all and always made a point of asking if you were ok. The rooms were spotless with tea and coffee topped up at all times. The beds very good to had the best sleep ever. Romantic sleeping with the nets all around you. The gardens were kept beautiful and every morning Patric the gardener would leave me a vase of flowers out side on our table which was a nice touch. The beach was lovely had a nice bar where you could get snacks if you wanted.Roger the animation man was great took us on lots of walks to see how the locals lived ( bit upsetting to see) but they were all so happy and always said hello. Went to see the bat cave and also the ruins all on foot so it was good. Roger is great and nothing is to much trouble for him. Did not leave hotel on our own as a bit scarey. The pool was amazing and met some lovely guests, not many were in the hotel so very quiet but we still had a lot of fun and were treated the same as a full hotel.Not much more I can say except if you want an amazing relaxing holiday where you will get good food, lovely staff, sunshine and spoilt the whole two weeks then stay in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 86 which looked out onto the gardens and a small pool also could see the creek. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wonderful place with amazing views, beautiful swimming pool and lovely beach. Friendliest and happiest staff we met anywhere on our travels who made our stay really great. Incredibly good value if you book through Thompson online and we really enjoyed the free kayaking, sailing and windsurfing (all on the hotel's private beach). Rooms very clean and comfortable. Food really good, and the rotating themed menus were great

Room Tip: Rooms 1-49 are more central than rooms 50-90 although its a small resort so not very far to walk whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Mnarani Hotel- what to say. I loved life for two long weeks of great food, great drinks, great sleep, and great watersports.

Will that do?

No?

OK. Great things about this hotel:

-The staff were the best I have ever had the pleasure of meeting at a hotel- consistently, across the board. The reception staff, the barpeople, the animation team, the restaurant staff, the chefs, the beach attendants, the spa staff (amazing deep tissue massage) and the motley watersports crew- all fab.

- The food in the evenings was great. Coming home and realising I couldn't eat 4 different types of meat with each meal was depressing. The beef was unreal.

- The solitude of the private beach was amazing. And if lying in sunshine with a drink got boring, you got free windsurfing, sailing and snorkelling.

Were there minor problems? Sure. Lunch could be a bit more varied, curtains could have been a bit thicker as the security light was quite bright outside. Spa rooms could use a little bit of investment and could be made to look a bit more pretty and relaxing, London spa style, to match the amazing massage I got. But these flaws even look rediculous as I write them. Because that's the best I could come up with.

We chose this place because of TripAdvisor. Glad it lived up to the hype.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Mnarani Club for 2 weeks at the end of July. The staff made us so welcome and couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing and fun. The hotel, pool, beach, restaurant, staff, watersports, weather and surrounding area all exceeded our expectations. For those who are active there is plenty to do, thanks to the brilliant team at 3 Degrees South providing watersports on the beach, and thanks to the Animation Team organising activities such as cycling trips, walks to the local village, beach volleyball and table tennis competitions, to name just a few. We went on safari for 2 nights to Aruba Ashnil in Tsavo East and Severin in Tsavo West - booked through JT Safaris - another spectacular experience which I would highly recommend. All-in-all it was the perfect family holiday and one we shall never forget. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The creek view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
0.2 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#5 of 6 in Kilifi
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lonno Lodge
Lonno Lodge
#1 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
24.2 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#2 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#11 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#10 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Hotel

Address: B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mnarani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cliffs of Kilifi Creek, just where the creek meets and merges with the Indian Ocean, Mnarani provides perfectly for the beach and turquoise ocean under one foot and the activity and adventure of creek-life under the other. Kilifi lives and breathes the gentle sea breeze, at the edge of the ocean, between Malindi and Mombasa. Set in 40 acres of landscaped tropical garden, fragranced by Frangipani blossoms and balmy ocean breezes, Mnarani is an idyllic retreat and holiday destination. Mnarani offers you the true African experience with excellent service always offered with a smile. Explore the coast north of Mombasa and take advantage of the brilliant diving and sailing opportunities. Daily entertainment and fine cuisine complete your fun filled days and make for an excellent holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mnarani Hotel Kilifi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mnarani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.