We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wooo wooo woooo!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers to your Saves list
Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers
Distant Relatives | Kenya Coast Backpackers Hostel | Kilifi, Mombasa | After crossing the Kilifi bridge, you'll drive past Tusky's supermarket on your right. Further down the road, turn left when you see the sign "Makuti Villas" as well our sign “Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers”. Follow the signs from there - we are located about 2.5km down this dirt road., Kilifi 80108, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wooo wooo woooo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beautiful place, beautiful people.
Delicious food, drinks, staff, swimming pool, banda, vibe etc
Only amazing things to say about Distant Relatives, they ve seriously done a stunning job. Get ready for a lush wild sweet cosy escape.
You d be stupid not to stay there...

Room Tip: Private bandas are great, and so is the Dormi"tree".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Best value for money, with a nice welcoming atmosphere. Mainly young backpackers but matured adventurers feel equally at home. Food is simple but excellent. Pizza is awesome and fish dishes delicious.
Johan and Eva-Marie, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Needless to stay we extended our stay! This place brought together a vast melting pot of nationalities and cultures in such a way that we felt truly at home. The beach was a short 5min walk from our private Banda .. The pool was immaculately maintained .. The landscaping was luscious and tropical and the food was amazing. I can't think of anything negative to say. The fact that this place is an Eco lodge just added to brilliance of it. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners of the establishment, Tom and Romain, who showed us around and explained their vision and how everything worked. They were incredibly helpful during our stay and hilarious characters who we are now very grateful to count amongst our friends. This place has to be to one of the coolest places to stay in Africa. We give it our thumbs up and the highest rating possible. If you go to Kenya, don't miss out on kilifi and stay at Distant relatives, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

First of all I have to confess that I was planning on staying in Kilifi for only 4 days and in the end I ended up being pretty much stuck in there for almost the whole of my holidays - with more than a good reason: when I got to Kilifi I could hardly believe my eyes – you are normally having a look on the hostel's website and pictures before, right? But when you actually get to see "Distant Relatives" in reality it is even better!! The best thing about "Distant Relatives" is probably that you don't feel as if you're staying in a standard hostel where everybody's compressed in small rooms - it's the opposite with "Distant Relatives": after only a few days you feel that comfortable you almost feel like being at home - Such a nice area with a wooden swing among other things, absolutely clean and tidy and the staff is friendly and provides assistance at any stage needed!

Honestly - I have never been to any nicer backpackers in my whole life – if you're planning on traveling the East coast it is an absolute "must-stay"!
I stayed in a dorm with two of my friends - there are 4 bunk beds and everyone has enough space. Furthermore, there was a huge tree in the middle of our house which creates a nice natural environment. The beds were made of bamboo trees and with mosquito nets perfectly arranged we were offered the perfect good-night sleep! Another very relaxing thing to do is having a shower surrounded by a "bamboo-forest". If you need more privacy you can also take a private room, including an outside area with a private shower and toilet.

For breakfast you can get different kinds of meals - you absolutely have to try the "French Toast" which is my favorite and you get a very tasty fruit salad with yoghurt with every meals and the veggies of the day! During the day you can always meals and snacks such as sandwiches, sea-food, salads, fries, ice-cream, etc.)
If you want to have dinner, you can sign up at the blackboard next to the reception and you will always get a meat-option and a vegetarian-option - so as you see there is food for everybody and I never got anything I didn't like - the food has always been very delicious!
For example for dinner they offered "burger night:all you can eat" on Tuedays or "pizza night:all you can eat" on Fridays - you get definitely spoilt for appropriate prizes - concerning drinks: make sure you taste the "dawa" (medicine in Kiswahili) - the special healing cocktail!

Not only "Distant Relatives" itself but Kilifi Creek in general is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen! Also there are many opportunities to move around the area.
There is a nice little beach just a 5min-walk from the backpackers itself from which you can head to the boatyard, go snorkling or watch the sunset with a Tusker at hand!

You can always get a tuktuk (3-wheeled vehicle for maximum 3 persons) or a pikipiki (motorbike) to get to Kilifi Town which is just a short drive from "Distant Relatives". From Kilifi Town you can take a matatu (bus) to Malindi, Gede, Watamu, Takaungu and other surrounding areas. I stayed in Kilifi the whole time and went on many different days trips to different towns and as they are not far away it's been enough to spend some hours over there!
As you see there are plenty of things to do around Kilifi!!

It is always depending on who you're with and the people I have met were amazing – especially in "Distant Relatives" you always find many people from different parts of the world which creates a nice mixture of culture and languages as well as exchanging experiences!

So, make sure you embrace the opportunity to spend some time in Kilifi-paradise!

Room Tip: If you're travelling on your own it's always nice to stay in a dorm where you get to meet ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our stay at Distant Relatives could not have been more enjoyable. We had booked a Shamba which turned out to be wonderful. The outdoor bathroom was fabulous and the room itself comfortable and very clean. Despite having made plans to cook for ourselves we actually ended up eating the food from the kitchen most days as it was truly delicious and very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was wonderful; we met many very interesting people and thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Steve (who is just the nicest person you will ever meet) and Peter who run the bar. The beach which can be accessed from Distant Relatives is lovely and very clean (it is looked after by a group of local young men who have set up a co-operative to ensure the beach is clean and hassle free).
Overall I would recommend this place to anyone and will most definitely be returning on several occasions. It was so refreshing to find such a comfortable, relaxed place and well managed which in truth was very inexpensive in Kenya. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a shamba but from talking to other travellers the dorms were also clean and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

When I first went to Kenya in 2012 I found this beautiful paradise, fell in love with it and never wanted to leave again. The area is amazing all surrounded by nature, the dorms as well as the private rooms and the bandas are absolutely comfortable, very clean and the bamboo shower is just inredible.

It's the perfect place for relaxing (check out the hidden hammocks between the trees), meeting people (I had the most amazing nights there) & having rambling conversations in or at the pool, which turns purple at night.

But even more than the place itself I love the people there, who are making this backpackers so special and unique. The staff is so friendly, they are always having a smile on their faces while they are giving you nice advices where to go or what to do. Furthermore they are cooking delicious food, especially the vegetarian meals are great (beetroot burgers, roasted pumpkin, grilled fish with herbs....yammy)

And finally the two owners Tom and Romain are making the hostel unlike any other backpackers I've ever been to before. It's sort of beeing introduced to a group of people, I would say family (that's why I think that the name distant relatives fits so well) and you're having a lot of fun together, they are organizing sunset dhow trips, snorkeling trips, fishing adventures, live music in the the evenings, barbecue, volleyball games......just everything that means fun.

I loved it so much that I came back for 6 weeks in 2013, every day was special and it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Distant Relatives is a pretty unique place. Tucked away on the creek of Kilifi and away from the main hustle and bustle of the town, Distant Relatives is the perfect place to relax. The rooms and dorms are top quality and very inexpensive, the bathrooms are clean and the food is exceptional. The staff are very helpful and friendly and will be more than willing to help you with anything you need. The views beyond the pool over the creek are awesome and there is a small, quiet beach a mere 5 minute walk away. The place itself looks awesome and its ecologically responsible. All in all distant relatives ash it all. Very well done Tom and Romain.

Room Tip: The private bandas are awesome and well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers

Address: Distant Relatives | Kenya Coast Backpackers Hostel | Kilifi, Mombasa | After crossing the Kilifi bridge, you'll drive past Tusky's supermarket on your right. Further down the road, turn left when you see the sign "Makuti Villas" as well our sign “Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers”. Follow the signs from there - we are located about 2.5km down this dirt road., Kilifi 80108, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk up from the emerald waters of Kilifi Creek into hills of Baobab, bougainvillea, mango and the noise of goats and village chatter, to find Distant Relatives: an experimental model of environmentally and socially conscious living. Here adventurers from around the world gather to share tales of the road and mingle with the local community. Distant Relatives is staffed by travelers and locals ready with the best advice for your East African trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.