We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Kilifi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilifi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House Kilifi
Save
You added Beach House Kilifi to your Saves list
Bofa Beach, Kilifi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilifi B&B and Inns
1 review
“Pure Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This property is pure luxury in every sense. Situated on a secluded white sandy beach where you can can walk undisturbed for miles and enjoy the privacy of your own infinity pool surrounded by billowing palm (and neem) trees, under the African sun it really is pure paradise. We arrived not knowing what to expect after our Safari and were genuinely surprised at the comfort, style and calm sense of the house. From the moment you slip off your shoes and step into the foot bath upon entering the house and walk across the warm stones of the exterior to the cool stones in the interior, you feel relaxed. The bedrooms are spacious open plan style with a huge comfortable bed and open plan bathroom which has a luxurious feel due to the quality of stone and wood work as well as space. The living room is comprised of 3 comfortable couches and a library where you can read overlooking the pool and the Indian Ocean. We stayed for a week and had the pleasure of meeting the owners Pete and JJ and their family (as well as some fantastic friends!), which actually made the holiday so enjoyable due to their hospitality and spirit. It fast felt like a home away from home, except exotic and exciting. The house comes with a chef and daily service which made it all the more relaxing. Infact we were welcomed to the house by Antelim who was really like a guardian angel taking great care of us all week. Having rented many properties throughout Australia, Asia and Europe, this really was a highlight and we were thrilled as it was our introduction to Africa. Kilifi is a quiet location and less touristy than Malindi which is optimal for those looking for a chilled out African experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
joburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The owner has created what someone described to me as "the most beautiful beach lodge in Kenya". We flew in to the local grass airstrip and 10 minutes later were being welcomed with a glass of champagne and an amazing view of the sea. Apart from relaxing in the pool morning, noon and night, we walked on the beach, swam in the sea, drank wine, ate seafood, snoozed, watched the sunset, watched the sunrise, watched the shooting stars... You get the idea. This one will win awards - that's my guess.

Room Tip: There is a 2-room separate house for smaller groups, with its own pool and kitchen etc. A mini vers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm the photographer who took the accompanying photos and got to stay almost a week in this stunning house. The symmetry and simplicity was to perfection, the coordination of raw natural colours was an incredible pleasure to photograph. The energy and the tranquility of this place is superb, there is no way you could stay here even one night without feeling utterly refreshed. A dream few days!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Beach House Kilifi is due to open shortly and I predict that it will be a huge hit.

My partner and I stayed at The Beach House Kilifi in July. We were part of a group of 8 staying for a pre-opening special.

I really loved our time in Kilifi. The accommodation is nothing short of spectacular! The rooms are absolutely gorgeous. The main house has a relaxing living space, a stylish dining room and 4 spacious double guest rooms with elegant interiors and large ensuites. The main house also has a large inviting infinity pool with views directly out onto the Indian Ocean. We stayed in the guest house, 50m from the main house, where there are another 2 spacious double rooms, a living room and another luxurious infinity pool. Everything is set within beautiful tropical gardens and it is right on the beachfront.

The food was divine - everything is included and the chef treated us to delicious, fresh and healthy meals (plus a few naughty indulgences like afternoon cakes, decadent desserts and sunset cocktails!). The service was wonderful and all the staff were friendly and professional.

It wasn't all just lounging about and eating and sipping G&Ts. We went deep sea fishing (and caught 3 huge sailfish!), sailing, cruising on the creek, water skiing and some of the younger/fitter had a go at kitesurfing.

The whole place was just heavenly. I absolutely loved the serenity of the place – listening to the waves lap at the shore and not being able to hear a single other thing at night. Even though it was low season, winter in Kilifi is anything but dreary. It was hot (28 degrees) every day, the water is definitely warm for swimming and we only had one rain shower on one afternoon while we were there.

I highly recommend The Beach House for a family or a group of friends looking for somewhere to unwind, relax and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical (and gorgeous). There are four doubles in the main house and another two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Kilifi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Kilifi

Address: Bofa Beach, Kilifi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a stylish private beach house set on five acres of lush manicured gardens right on the edge of the Indian Ocean, just north of Kilifi on the Kenyan coast. Designed in a Balinese style it’s a perfect Indian Ocean escape. Available on either a totally exclusive or non-exclusive basis, the Beach House sleeps up to 12 guests in 6 suites. The bedrooms are designed in a chic coastal style, each with spacious ensuite bathrooms. There are a wide variety of land and sea related activities including dhow cruises, fishing, waterskiing, scuba diving, golf and bird watching. Guests may be dropped off directly onto the property by helicopter or delivered by light aircraft to the Kilifi grass strip. Mombasa international airport is one hour north of Kilifi or Malindi national airport is one hour south. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Kilifi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.