We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ikweta Safari Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ikweta Safari Camp to your Saves list
Ikweta Safari Camp
Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$135 (USD)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good value place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for one night, friendly attentive service, lovely clean tents, good food and plenty of it and very close proximity to the park gate. The pool was clean but you would need to keep an eye on children as there is no lifeguard on duty. You get woken on a Sunday morning by the singing from the local church but that just meant we were awake for a morning game drive!
Highly recommended and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Ikweta Safari Camp in May 2013, and were very imprssed with the accommodation, the food and the friendly service. As as been observed by other reviewers this camp is a rough diamond, and the staff just needs a bit more professionalism and speed to make your stay completely flawless.
We hired a guide at the NP, and were slightly disappopinted that he did not know more about the nature and wild life. But he was excellent when it came to changing the wheels after a puncture.

The Safai Camp is highly recommendable.
Flemming

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki, Rift Valley, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Ikweta safari camp on the eve of my birthday. Driving from Nanyuki at night was not an easy task but we finally found the place. we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and shown to our tented accommodation, which was very clean and comfortable.
the food was also delicious and the staff were always nearby to offer assistance.and when we were about to retire to our room after dinner, i was surprised with a birthday cake.much thanks Susan and the staff who organized that.
we will definitely be back and this time round stay abit longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ikweta was our first stop on our 17 day safari .it was a long drive from Nairobi but I had chosen the itinerary and we had decided to go the bumpy road around the east side of mount Kenya loads of sleeping policemen ,but nice to see all the town and little villages on the way .
Our driver did get a bit lost on the way and we did get a puncture but all part of the adventure.
the camp is really well set out we had a tent called hippo all the tents are covered by a roof and have a lovely porch not much view but look out for the little birds on the grasses and plants and Susan the owner said there is also naked moles didn't see them though.
The room is lovely with a comfortable double bed and a very modern sink and bathroom.
You are woken in the morning with coffee and biscuits before your game drive and when you return there's a full English breakfast on the patio.
There is a large room that serves as TV room lounge and restaurant .
The camp has a very warm pool which we used even though Susan was very worried we would burn in the midday sun.
luckily for us there wasn't many other guests when we were there in January so it was like having our own lodge, Susan and John came for a chat each evening and were pleased with what we had seen in the park .they are a lovely couple and have worked hard to get the property to the standard it is and the staff were really happy and helpful.
The park gate is 2 minutes from the camp and I think we were the only people in there the one day.
I would definitely go again we had 3 nights and it was lovely having time to relax as well as do the park properly. The park has a rhino sanctuary and we spotted just about everything there are grevy zebras, loads of giraffes and elephants and we watched 3 lions watching the giraffes. Really Excellent Park.

Susan if you read this we had a fantastic safari and we did manage to find all the other 6 lodges. Though some were a challenge especially in laikipia We wish you good luck for the lodge and hope to see you in near future sure it won’t be long before were looking for route plans again.
Julie, Karl, Adrienne and David (travelling with Gilbert from glorious safaris)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Julie & Karl, Adrienne & David, appreciate your review! It was great to welcome you at Ikweta Safari Camp, we so enjoyed your stay with us! We are already looking forward to your next Safari to Kenya (please Karl!). And thanks Glorious Safaris for bringing these delightful Safari-goers to Ikweta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just 30 minutes before arriving, we were told that unfortunately we had been "double- booked". and that the family were to seek out alternative accommodation. The security guard at the the gate, would not let us in. Without any water, food or supplies, this pretty much ruined our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikweta, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We regret that we were unable to accommodate this Reviewer and his family on 1 January 2013. Ikweta Safari Camp was fully booked during this past Christmas and New Year period. Majority of bookings for this holiday period were confirmed months in advance. The terms and conditions of our Reservation Policy (as stipulated on our Website) include a 50% deposit to confirm a booking. The Reviewer contacted the Camp on the morning of 1 January 2013 for accommodation that very night for his family. No advance deposit was made hence there was no reservation or 'double booking". We tried our best recommending our sister property - Ikweta Country Inn - in Maua Town some 30 minutes away from Ikweta Safari Camp on a tarmac road. We even arranged another accommodation at Meru National Park for the Reviewer. We would certainly welcome the Reviewer and his family to Ikweta Safari Camp another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ikweta Lodge

A very short drive from Meru National Park Gate is Ikweta Lodge. It is very new and very nice. I was immediately impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and things continued to get better and better. It is a tented camp with elegant and comfortable accommodations including a bathroom (toilet and shower) inside the tent. The decorations are very interesting and carefully chosen. The food was delicious and served to one's taste (medium rare etc.) and the presentation was elegant. There is a large swimming pool that looked very inviting, but I did not have time to try it. Next time I will.

It was quiet with spectacular stars at night, good birding in the morning, and some very interesting fossorial mammals nearby. Susan and John the owners were helpful, knowledgeable and delightful to talk with.

Best of all is the value for the price. In my opinion this is much more interesting and intimate than most of the lodges in parks, and for less than half the price one gets personalized service, scrumptious food and better acommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ikweta is superb! conviniently located near Meru National park, loads of birds around, great service and I enjoyed their meals. Did I mention its pocket friendly too! yes it is.
The camps location also favors those who wish to mingle with the locals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ikweta Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikweta Safari Camp

Address: Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikweta Safari Camp, a small owner-operated tented camp, is about affordable luxury, as well as high standards and great value for money. Located just 2 km from the Murera Gate of Meru National Park, Ikweta is a year-round destination and a convenient base for exploring both Meru and Kora, two of Kenya’s national parks to offer a complete wilderness safari experience. Ikweta offers ten spacious canvas tents with thatch roof overlay of doum palm (Hyphaene thebaica) indigenous to the area. Tents are airy and cool by day and cozy and romantic by night. Tastefully decorated in Safari-style with high quality furniture including either twin or double beds, writing tables and safes. Each tent has its own en-suite bathroom with solar-heated hot water for showers separated from the bedroom area with a natural stone wall. Each has private verandah facing East for the most stunning sunrises. You can sip your early morning steamy hot Kenya coffee or Kenya tea, while you Facebook or Tweet as the sun rises over Meru National Park. Tents are fitted inside and out with electric power sockets for guests to be able to power their laptops or charge their electronic devices and camera batteries. Our large salt water Swimming Pool is delightfully warmed year round by glorious sunshine. Our “Two Zebras Restaurant" serves fresh produce grown in the Camp's own Greenhouse and Ikweta Farms. We offer international and vegetarian cuisines as well as children's menus. Each guest is served to order: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner! You're in the bush but we provide Wi-Fi access throughout the Camp: You can connect to the Internet by the Pool or at your Tent or in the Residents Lounge or at the Restaurant… Catch up with news on DSTV. No night time blackouts or ‘10:00 o’clock night-curfews”: There is mains electricity backed-up by a high-capacity generator. If you are awaked by the sounds of nature you can snuggle under your duvet and read or watch movies on your iPad or DVD. Optional morning and afternoon game drives or itineraries to interesting places in the vicinity of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area. Nature walks to the Gatwe (“Skull”) Hill for panoramic and spectacular views of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area and the Nyambene Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ikweta Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikweta Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.