We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-Par Accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Greenbelt Marriott to your Saves list
Greenbelt Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Orlando, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sub-Par Accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay here. The suites are extremely over prices. We complained to management and were refunded $1000. The best thing about this hotel is the breakfast buffet. It's an old property that's been renovated. Small restrooms. There's nothing in the surrounding area. On a positive note there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

Room Tip: Booking a suite is really a pain-staking adventure as they have only one person who makes those rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    68
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
21
8
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

great location (close to metro, beltway, bw parkway), easy to get to. only downside, nothing interesting within walking distance if you just have a couple of hours to spend.

stayed on one of the concierge floors, which was a treat. breakfast, snacks, etc in the private lounge.

fantastic bed and linens and they even have great reading lights.

bathroom is quite small, and wish there was a big mirror in the room as well as in the bathroom. also wish they has a magnifying mirror.

Room Tip: choose a room on one of the concierge floors if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are planning a trip to DC, but do not want to stay in the city, this is a great choice. The accommodations were very good and the staff is very friendly. I only gave a 4, because we were unaware that their shuttle to the metro stops at 9 pm. This was one of our main reasons for staying at this hotel. We had tickets to see a 7 pm Nationals game and had the hotel shuttle take us to the metro. Upon dropping us off, the driver told us that he would not be picking us up because they only run the shuttle until 9 pm. Had we known this, we would have driven ourselves to the metro and parked. Instead we ended up paying a taxi to get us back. Other than that, this was a very nice place to stay. There are places to shop and eat not far from the hotel. Plus you are pretty well located to a lot of other attractions.

Room Tip: We use our cell phone to book this room and got a much cheaper rating then was on the internet. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family stayed at the Greenbelt Marriott the weekend of May 18. We found it to be very comfortable, clean, had great amenities (restaurant, bar, fitness center, lobby) and would definitely stay there again. The hotel was sold out as many guests were there for graduations, but the service was still excellent and very prompt. It's in a great location and parking was no problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We traveled to Greenbelt for a friend's wedding. The reception was held at this hotel. The front desk staff was very nice- my room key deactivated, and they fixed it, I thought I accidentally purchased a movie, and they were super nice about checking to make sure there were no charges. When we first arrived, our fridge wasnt working, and we also had to contact the front desk about it, as well. We then discovered the coffee maker wasnt working- turns out the GFI outlet was tripped in the bathroom. Simple fix. The beds were super comfy, but I needed 2 pillows to be comfortable. One was way too flat. Otherwise, I slept well both nights. There was a bit of hall noise. We were on the 12th floor. One small complaint we had was that a block of rooms were reserved for the wedding guests, but they were scattered all over the hotel, which let to a lot of noise coming from the bridal party noise after quiet time. We did get a bunch of noise complaints the first night. If they would have put us all together, it would have made more sense. The reception was downstairs, the food was very good, however they were very slow to restock- h'ordourves were empty, they ran out of plates during the cocktail hour and were slow to refill buffet items. We also went to the bar at the hotel. it was very expensive for food and drinks, but I guess that is a hotel for you! Over all we had a really good trip, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just spent two nights at this property in early May, and had a great experience. My wife is a very frequent Marriott guest, and this hotel is one of her favorites. We had a great rate for the Friday-Saturday night stay (and the parking is FREE - something you will NOT get at a downtown DC hotel)...the room rate was the best in the DC area...and, because it was a weekend, the Concierge Level Lounge was not open. Not a problem. Instead, the front desk people told us to enjoy the restaurant's breakfast at no charge. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet - freshly-made omelets, fresh waffles and pancakes, and the usual assortment of breakfast meats (very crisp bacon, thank you!), scrambled eggs, yogurts, fresh fruits and breads. The coffee was delicious and the orange juice freshly-squeezed. Our room was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was quiet. On Saturday night, the hotel was hosting a prom, where they expected over 200 kids. They were ready. At the elevators were guards who ensured us the kids would not be allowed upstairs. And they weren't. We felt very safe here to say the least. Additionally, the Greenbelt Metro station was a three minute drive away...at the most! Left out of the hotel to the end of the street, another left and a right at the end of that street to the station's ample parking lot. (Google Maps had horrible directions...would have sent us on the Beltway to the next exit and all the way around to the station...). We found the staff to be very accommodating and very friendly. We had one issue with the AC unit, but a call to the front desk sent maintenance up right away. It was fixed within minutes. Thank you! We definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Check in was quick and easy. It was a breeze. Clean room, clean bedding, very comfortable bed. Loved my stay at this property. Everything and every one was awesome. I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Address: 6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Greenbelt Marriott, an innovative and stylish choice among hotels in Greenbelt, MD. Conveniently located near I-495 and in the midst of many popular business destinations and leisure attractions, guests enjoy easy access to the nearby D.C. Metro Green Line, BWI and DCA Airports and Route 50 leading to Annapolis. Our Greenbelt hotel's Beltway location is also ideal for short commutes to Washington, D.C. And Baltimore. Spacious guest rooms designed for the ultimate in comfort and productivity, feature luxurious bedding ensembles, high-tech amenities and large work areas. Our Greenbelt, Maryland hotel's contemporary lobby provides travelers with free Wi-Fi and refreshing spaces ideal for meeting with business associates and friends or relaxing with a cup of Starbucks(R) coffee. On-site restaurants, a well-equipped fitness center and sparkling indoor and outdoor pools, all complemented by outstanding service, provide guests with added comfort and relaxation to ensure a remarkable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Marriott Greenbelt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbelt Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.