We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel-nothing to vow about.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Save Saved
You added Greenbelt Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenbelt Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Laurel,Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average Hotel-nothing to vow about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently. Good and convenient location, but nothing great that shouts out to you. Front desk crew not efficient, provide wrong information and don't think twice about it. Room walls are very thin, so you can hear what goes on in adjoining rooms, which is quite disturbing. Bathrooms are very small,so difficult to even move about.Old building,needs some serious renovation. We normally stay at the Sheraton North Washington, which is good. Tried this facility for the first time and it is the last time too. Disappointed with Marriott standards, though have lived at better Marriotts before. For staying in the MD-DC area, would recommend other hotels.

Room Tip: Select anothe Hotel, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    66
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
20
8
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have been coming to this Marriott since 2008 and all of my stay has always been a great experience. The hotel has gone through several renovations to include lobby area, rooms, and the gym. The gym initially was small but after the renovation has gone through a major change to include free weights, treadmills, and other fitness equipment. The rooms are always kept nice and clean. The hotel overall provides all the amenities to include a bar, restaurant, and starbucks. Even though I've never used the conference rooms, I noticed there are always conferences and meetings always in session. So, I assume they know how to best support these types of functions. Another nice feature of the hotel is the free parking. This makes it an affordable place to stay specially that it's near a metro stop for an easy DC downtown trip, The hotel and amenities are always in great condition. However, what makes up the hotel are the professional staff that makes it a very pleasant place to stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly, extremely professional, and always willing to accommodate a demanding business traveller such as myself. As you enter the hotel, the front desk to the right will greet you as if you're coming back to the hotel you own. They will take the time to ensure you check in with confidence that you are going to have a wonderful stay. They are always smiling and so pleasant to work with specially after a 6 hour flight. It really provides you a sense of comfort that you are going to be well taken care of the next few days will be there. The hotel restaurant is great for a quiet meal with some great options. However, I prefer the bar area in which is well staffed with another set of people providing great customer service. The servers in the bar are extremely friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food is surprisingly good for bar food and their selection of well drinks, wine, and beer is well stocked. They are open late which makes it a great place to wind down without leaving the hotel specially during a rainy or cold night. I happen to be a Marriott elite member which gives me access to the concierge lounge. I believe this is probably one of the best lounges that I ever visited. I believe the Greenbelt Marriott's philosophy is based on providing excellent customer service. It is apparent that each individual staff takes great pride on the work they do. Everyone is smiling and it always feels that they are always trying to improve in all areas to make the customer experience like no other. I commend the leadership of this hotel and the service they provide to us travelers on a daily basis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My llast stay at the Marriott Greenbelt this past January 3 and 4 was amazingly pleasant and acommodating. As I arrived from a red-eye early on the morning of Janaury 2, I was immediately checked into my room and provided with a complimentary beverage. The staff was gracious and validating. They actually sang "Happy Birthday" to me on returning to the hotel after a day of work. That was so great!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, anytime, for any event. And, by the way, the food (Room Service) was prompt and delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you don't have other options in the area, stay at this hotel. We stayed as part of a sports tournament and were forced to stay at this hotel as part of playing in the tournament (teams are assigned to "partner" hotels). The biggest problem is that the facility is outdated. There are 3 elevators for 18 floors! There is always a long wait for the elevator and the elevators are TINY. Rooms are small (had a 2 double) with our 2 kids. Partial updates have been made to rooms including HDTV and dark wood headboards which are nice. However, other areas are showing age, the wallpaper, paint, carpet, and bathroom. The shower head is extremely low. I am 5'11" and my nose touched the end of the shower head, I had to duck to wash my hair. One day, no towels were left for our room. We had to call the desk twice before we finally received towels an hour later. As for the Starbucks, they do not accept coupons from the Starbucks brand. We had bags from brewing Starbucks at home which are good for a free tall brewed coffee. They refused to accept the bag and explained that since they are contracted through the hotel and are not a direct Starbucks they do not accept deals. Wifi in rooms costs $13 per day. Really? In 2012 you are still charging for wifi that is silly and that alone would have us stay at another property if we could do so. When we checked in, they had us checking in the night prior - we had called to confirm that we would be checking in the day after most of our team due to our schedule. All items were taken care of in the end, so our stay was acceptable but we would never choose to stay here if we could select a different team hotel.

We did have friends on another team who were placed on the 3rd floor where the HVAC system broke and the temperature was 86 degrees on the floor. They were sweating from the walk to the room. Went to the desk to ask for a floor change and they were told the hotel could not help, they would have to stay in the assigned room. They checked out immediately and changed to a better hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our family recently headed down to the DC area for a 4 day visit. We decided to stay outside the city at this Marriott located in Greenbelt, MD. The Hotel is very close to the Metro so we had full access in/out of Washington DC. The hotel is located right off I-495/I-95 near the College Park Interchange. It is very easy to get to and visible from the main roads as its 17+ stories high. I had stayed at this Marriott a few years back on a previous trip down and had an excellent stay.

Our family had three rooms on the 17th floor during this stay over Thanksgiving. It was very quiet, although my mom did complain one night about the Ice Maker down the hall kept cycling ice. The rooms were typical with two double beds, which seemed a bit small on this trip. We asked the staff to swap out the down beddings for regular beddings due to some allergies and this was taken care of fairly quickly. The showers and towels were above average and the daily changeover was completed without issue. We overlooked the industrial side of the hotel, but not a bad view. On our way out each day we were able to see the University of Maryland campus as well as the US Capitol and Washington Monument in the distance from a hallway window, a nice way to start the day.

On this trip we went ahead and booked the rate with the breakfast included. If you are travelling with four or more I would suggest this. It’s a pretty standard buffet but individually priced its pretty expensive. The food choices were excellent and waffles and omelets fixed to order each day. OJ and coffee are included although a pretty active Starbucks is located in the lobby. We had scheduled Thanksgiving dinner at another location but what Marriott had to offer looked very appealing. I would suggest this if you are traveling over the holiday and looking for a family style buffet.

The kids took advantage of the inside pool each night. It’s a pretty standard lap pool with a hot tub. A lifeguard is on duty at all times. Both the hot tub and pool both have handicap access with motorized lifts – a nice touch for those that need it. The pool hours during week are limited to 5-10pm, while weekends/holidays 10am-10pm. Towels are provided. We used the business computers to access email and base web surfing. Wi-Fi is not included in your stay. After walking around all day we did not use the fitness center, but it is fairly larger from what we have experienced at other Marriotts.

Parking is free, but the front entryway is a bit tight during drop off or pick up. The staff is very friendly and receptive to questions and requests. Like most reviews here I did find it quite annoying the TV plastered right behind check-in. I felt it was very distracting especially when displaying questionable material. The Greenbelt area including College Park has plenty to offer in amenities in both eateries and shopping. You will need a car to get around with only the Metro being within decent walking distance. Overall we had a great experience and left feeling we would return again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view. Ice machines are not behind closed doors in the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel with a very nicely redesigned lobby, very clean guest rooms, and a new Starbucks in the lobby. The staff here were very friendly and accommodating. Higher floors are better due to road noise in the lower levels. Parking was very easy on property, free...

Room Tip: High floors are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel with a great staff. The people are very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay again if I am in the area. The only drawback would be that it is not near any shopping mall or major attraction.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Address: 6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Greenbelt Marriott, an innovative and stylish choice among hotels in Greenbelt, MD. Conveniently located near I-495 and in the midst of many popular business destinations and leisure attractions, guests enjoy easy access to the nearby D.C. Metro Green Line, BWI and DCA Airports and Route 50 leading to Annapolis. Our Greenbelt hotel's Beltway location is also ideal for short commutes to Washington, D.C. And Baltimore. Spacious guest rooms designed for the ultimate in comfort and productivity, feature luxurious bedding ensembles, high-tech amenities and large work areas. Our Greenbelt, Maryland hotel's contemporary lobby provides travelers with free Wi-Fi and refreshing spaces ideal for meeting with business associates and friends or relaxing with a cup of Starbucks(R) coffee. On-site restaurants, a well-equipped fitness center and sparkling indoor and outdoor pools, all complemented by outstanding service, provide guests with added comfort and relaxation to ensure a remarkable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Marriott Greenbelt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbelt Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.