We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay outside DC with easy Metro Access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Save Saved
You added Greenbelt Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Greenbelt Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Local Calls
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Greenbelt
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent stay outside DC with easy Metro Access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our family recently headed down to the DC area for a 4 day visit. We decided to stay outside the city at this Marriott located in Greenbelt, MD. The Hotel is very close to the Metro so we had full access in/out of Washington DC. The hotel is located right off I-495/I-95 near the College Park Interchange. It is very easy to get to and visible from the main roads as its 17+ stories high. I had stayed at this Marriott a few years back on a previous trip down and had an excellent stay.

Our family had three rooms on the 17th floor during this stay over Thanksgiving. It was very quiet, although my mom did complain one night about the Ice Maker down the hall kept cycling ice. The rooms were typical with two double beds, which seemed a bit small on this trip. We asked the staff to swap out the down beddings for regular beddings due to some allergies and this was taken care of fairly quickly. The showers and towels were above average and the daily changeover was completed without issue. We overlooked the industrial side of the hotel, but not a bad view. On our way out each day we were able to see the University of Maryland campus as well as the US Capitol and Washington Monument in the distance from a hallway window, a nice way to start the day.

On this trip we went ahead and booked the rate with the breakfast included. If you are travelling with four or more I would suggest this. It’s a pretty standard buffet but individually priced its pretty expensive. The food choices were excellent and waffles and omelets fixed to order each day. OJ and coffee are included although a pretty active Starbucks is located in the lobby. We had scheduled Thanksgiving dinner at another location but what Marriott had to offer looked very appealing. I would suggest this if you are traveling over the holiday and looking for a family style buffet.

The kids took advantage of the inside pool each night. It’s a pretty standard lap pool with a hot tub. A lifeguard is on duty at all times. Both the hot tub and pool both have handicap access with motorized lifts – a nice touch for those that need it. The pool hours during week are limited to 5-10pm, while weekends/holidays 10am-10pm. Towels are provided. We used the business computers to access email and base web surfing. Wi-Fi is not included in your stay. After walking around all day we did not use the fitness center, but it is fairly larger from what we have experienced at other Marriotts.

Parking is free, but the front entryway is a bit tight during drop off or pick up. The staff is very friendly and receptive to questions and requests. Like most reviews here I did find it quite annoying the TV plastered right behind check-in. I felt it was very distracting especially when displaying questionable material. The Greenbelt area including College Park has plenty to offer in amenities in both eateries and shopping. You will need a car to get around with only the Metro being within decent walking distance. Overall we had a great experience and left feeling we would return again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view. Ice machines are not behind closed doors in the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
37
19
8
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel with a very nicely redesigned lobby, very clean guest rooms, and a new Starbucks in the lobby. The staff here were very friendly and accommodating. Higher floors are better due to road noise in the lower levels. Parking was very easy on property, free...

Room Tip: High floors are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel with a great staff. The people are very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay again if I am in the area. The only drawback would be that it is not near any shopping mall or major attraction.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Greenbelt Marriott in surburban DC- September 28-30- and was very pleased with the my stay. The location was close to EVERYTHING. Was able to go to attractions/nightlife in DC/Baltimore/Silverspring/Bowie with any hassel. The hotel offers free parking and we were able to get rates for $90/night. They also have a dinner special - 2 entreees for $22 which was right on time. Would like to see a breakfast rate included with the room but not a deal breaker. Rooms are great and overall the property is in excellent condition. Great weekend stay in the DMV!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while in town for a wedding. The front desk staff was very pleasant and the hotel lobby was bright and nicely decorated. My favorite part of my stay was my morning run in the fitness center. It was surprisingly big for a hotel fitness center and pretty clean. The guest room was adequate, notwithstanding the small bathroom and poor lighting near the closet. It was a little noisy in the hallway (I stayed on the 9th floor) and the noise traveled into the room. I wish there was free WiFi in the room, but was pleased with the free parking, so I won't complain too much. Overall, I had a nice stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Hotel had a great concierge. I had to stay for a month for work and they had breakfast and light dinner M-F. The ladies that host were the best! Overall, the staff in general were great. (I only had one problem with a package that was "lost" for three weeks. Good thing Fed-Ex records signatures! It was tampered with so the hotel gave me a full refund for the package and assured me that this NEVER happens. I wouldn't advise having anything delivered there.)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Overall hotel experience was positive.

One disappointment was the frequency of the hotel shuttle to and from the Greenbelt Metro station. The shuttle runs EVERY HOUR which is not the most convenient schedule for those business travellers doing business in DC. On my 1st day there I missed the shuttle by about 10 minutes and had to wait 50 minutes outside the Merto station in the hot sun in my business suit for the next shuttle. A call to the hotel to request a special pickup did not help and I was told that I would have to wait for the next shuttle in 50 minutes. Certainly not what I expected of a Marriott property and certainly not what I expected as a Gold Elite Member.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the highway for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel
Marriott Greenbelt
Address: 6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbelt Marriott in Maryland features newly renovated guest rooms that are the ultimate in luxury and style. This hotel near DC is perfect for business, weekend getaways, and family vacations. The Greenbelt Marriott Hotel offers professional meeting space, elegant wedding reception sites, and easy access to the Washington DC metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbelt Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.