We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did the trick!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Greenbelt Marriott to your Saves list
Greenbelt Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It did the trick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Warm and friendly, and it happened to also have the best rate for the weekend. They gave us complimentary waters and snack for being the first visit. They charged for the wifi in the room, but there was free public wifi in the lobby. It had a pool, and a good gym with a good number of treadmills and workout stations. There was only one stationary cycle though. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the hotel, ice machine, or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
21
8
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Everyone on staff went over the top making this one of the best hotels stays I've ever had....In fact, for a moment I wondered if I'd been mistaken for a celebrity or a surprise hotel auditor.... From the moment I arrived, including phone calls I made to the hotel to get directions from the airport the Marriott staff at Greenbelt could not have been more helpful...Arriving late they suggested I go up to the conceirge floor to relax have dinner and enjoy all the added perks their high level customers enjoyed....High-level service did not end at check-in...one day I wasn't feeling well and the next thing I knew I had gingerale and saltimes delivered to my room then another hotel professional went out of her way to make my calling and internet needs less expensive when I was having difficulty getting all my communication devices to cooperate....When in one of those moods to drink my coke from one of those long stemmed wide-mouthed glasses the room service professional came back with the exact glass. If you've got to travel, or not, The Greenbelt Marriott is as good as any 5 star hotel I've been in lately...In fact I stayed at the Ritz Carlton in DC and for my money I'd choose Greenbelt every time....Now I can"t vouch for what it would be like to get into downtown Washington in the middle of rush hour...or can I ? I actually had to get to the other side of D.C.. by 5pm and left Greenbelt well after 4 pm. making it over to the American University area with 10 minutes to spare.......granted I don't suggest you cut it as close as I did...but it worked Getting from one side of D.C. to the other many times can take longer in this city that only just dropped from being the #1 worse traffic cities in the U.S....to #6..... I sailed back to the Greenbelt Marriott without a hitch where dinner was waiting in the conceirge lounge (oh, did I mention they extended my conceirge privilegeson the 16th floor,?) eliminating the hassel of dinner decisions leaving only thoughts about which movie to watch, paper to read or internet program to choose in the immaculate updated room where I could decide whether to sit at the large updated desk w/ergodynamic seating, legs up on the desk, the overstuffed livingroom chair w/its own standing lamp and sidetable again legs up on the wide window ledge or on the comfy mattress to die for as I enjoy the taboo of dinner in bed....to later enjoy a soak in the extra-deep tub with coffee with its own supply of real creme and the cold desert I'd kept in the fridge from the night before...leaving the relaxing tubbie where dimmer lights made the soak feel more like a private spa the architected doorway (minus the door) back to bed made the room feel more like a suite than just another hotel room box....Of course, one could choose to have dinner in the open but surprisingly private main dinning room or the more dimmly lit bar that doesn't appear from a distance to be,too loungy or the occupied area around the starbucks situated across from an i array of couches amidst the large water wall people watching or just be among them is always an option.......especially during football season when football players and those from every aspect of the game stay regualarly.....Yes, this hotel experience left an impression...in fact remembering Theresa, Marcus, Katherine, Crystal, Flame, the gal from Sir Leone in the room wait staff, Nya, Tim, Alex, the wonderful Conceirge Hostesses in the evening whose first-names just escape me but one of them has been there for 23 years (now that speaks volumes) and the other a sweet portugese woman who was just so kind....I'm sure I've forgotten someone...ah yes, Diedra...with the large sparkling pin...each of these needs to be applauded...that I'm remembering them some 2 weeks later is shocking ...I hope the executives at Marriott reward them generously....A unexpected gem...

Room Tip: Ask the front desk..they recommended mine....Check the photos online what you see is what you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

The banquet and front desk staff were wonderful. Ricardo and Theresa deserve special commendation for going above and beyond. Be Aware: the pool is only open from 5:00 - 10:00 PM Monday thru Friday. Definitely a problem if traveling with kids. The "Business Center" is a counter on the 2nd floor with 1 working and 1 broken computer. Not up to Marriott standards. Trash on the counter on Monday was still there on Thursday afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We live in the area and this is our go to "let's pretend we are going away for the weekend, hotel"!

The staff (housekeeping, front desk, restaurant and even the Barrista at Starbucks) are very customer focused, welcoming and just make you feel right at home. The rooms are not as spacious as most Marriott's but the bedding is right on time!

The location is easily accessible from the major thoroughfares and is in a quiet business park area.

The Sunday brunch is a treat and the room service is excellent as well!

The only downside is the parking lot being a bit too small for a property of this size.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was my first stay at the Greenbelt Marriott. I typically stay in Arlington, VA at the Renaissance Capital View, but needed to stay closer to my family in Maryland. As a Gold Elite member, the concierge lounge surprisingly served dinner. My family enjoyed steak fajitas for dinner which was quite yummy. Breakfast was great as well.

For those traveling with kids, there is a nice indoor pool as well as outdoor pool.

Overall we had a great stay. The rooms were clean, but the mattresses were a bit too soft. The lobby was inviting with a nice Starbucks (for die hard coffee drinkers).

Service was great!!

I am planning a return stay on my next trip to the DC area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS Gulf coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice comfortable stay for business trip to Greenbelt. Room was as expected with some tv problems. Room service was timely and good. The staff was the highlight of the stay. This was the first time someone explained my Marriott member benefits to me at check-in, which was appreciated. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was seeking a hotel that was between Baltimore and DC and this Marriott fit the bill. It is just a few miles from the Greenbelt Metro line which offers direct commuter rail into DC and is about a 30 minute drive to Baltimore. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local restaurant listings. The lounge was open late and had a nice atmosphere and good food. Bedding was comfortable and good TV selection. Nice indoor pool area with a lifeguard. Internet is okay but will cost money if one is a non-Marriott elite member. They have one free laundry machine set which comes in handy but with there being only one, there will be some "competition" to get it. Overally, I am very satisified and would strongly consider this location the next time I come to DC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Address: 6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Greenbelt Marriott, an innovative and stylish choice among hotels in Greenbelt, MD. Conveniently located near I-495 and in the midst of many popular business destinations and leisure attractions, guests enjoy easy access to the nearby D.C. Metro Green Line, BWI and DCA Airports and Route 50 leading to Annapolis. Our Greenbelt hotel's Beltway location is also ideal for short commutes to Washington, D.C. And Baltimore. Spacious guest rooms designed for the ultimate in comfort and productivity, feature luxurious bedding ensembles, high-tech amenities and large work areas. Our Greenbelt, Maryland hotel's contemporary lobby provides travelers with free Wi-Fi and refreshing spaces ideal for meeting with business associates and friends or relaxing with a cup of Starbucks(R) coffee. On-site restaurants, a well-equipped fitness center and sparkling indoor and outdoor pools, all complemented by outstanding service, provide guests with added comfort and relaxation to ensure a remarkable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Marriott Greenbelt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbelt Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.