We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resting spot in midst of corporate park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Greenbelt Marriott to your Saves list
Greenbelt Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“resting spot in midst of corporate park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here to attend a wedding in the area. Reception provided excellent directions on getting from Union Station via the Metro and their free shuttle bus picked us up. The hotel is surrounded by various corporate parks and is in walking distance to nothing. We asked the front desk to call a taxi and they directed us to a limo sitting outside the door that ended up charging a high rate. We were less than pleased as the area has various taxi companies. The two restaurants offer the same menu which we found odd. The lobby Starbucks was almost never open. The sundries shop was very sad. Our room was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
21
8
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Hotel room was large and comfortable, if you like soft beds. We do in general so it was okay, but for those who like beds firm, it could be a problem. The hotel is well kept up and the breakfast in the hotel was pricey, but plentiful. You definitely need a car as the hotel is in an industrial park, though it is close to the Metro. No views, and a ten to fifteen minute ride to U. of Maryland and/or shopping, but by far this hotel is much better than what you find in College Park, so it is an option for those who want a bit of comfort. A bit far for those who want to visit Washington. D.C. however. We ate at a great diner that serves healthy food, the Silver Spoon, about a five minute drive. It is located in a shopping mall complex nearby. Ask the hotel. Staff at the hotel were very nice and accommodating. When we had requests or problems everything was immediately taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed at this Marriott for business. The check in staff were very friendly and quick. Each morning I needed to get a taxi (not a breeze like it'd be in downtown DC) but they quickly called and got me one each day. Very friendly. Room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I had 2 rooms for 6 nights with my wife and four kids. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

Both resturants within the property had good food and excellent service. The omlettes that were a part of the breakfast buffett were delicious and made right in front of us. We ate breakfast and dinner at different times and were pleased with everything.

The Room Operations Manager Wendy always asked us how our stay was going. There was an hourly shuttle from 9am to 9pm to take us the one mile to the Greenbelt Metro station. One morning we came out at 9:20 am. thinking we would have a 40 minute wait for the shuttle. The staff noticed that we were waiting and some one from the reservations desk got the keys and shuttled us to the Metro which was appreciated. There were several gestures like this all week long to make sure that our stay was great.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I usually stay at a Marriott property when I travel. On my last stay at this hotel, I went to the restaurant and stood at the hostess station waiting for someone to come out to seat me for 5 minutes. I stepped into the restaurant area and never saw a server. I went to the desk to ask I'd the restaurant was closed and they said it was open, but finally I went out for fast food. On the good side, the place is convenient for trips to NASA Goddard and the rooms are clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: I have seen no difference in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a really good hotel. Hands down. No questions asked. The property is top notch and the facilities are top notch too.

But, (This is a HUGE BUT) the staff are ridiculously awful. We were a group of 4 at the hotel and our experience with the breakfast staff in the hotel's restaurant was awful.

Location-wise, I heard this is ideally built and suited for University of Maryland visitors. Otherwise, there is not much to see around here unless you want to travel 30-60 mins (depending on traffic) to DC.

Overall I really want to rate this hotel 5 but my heart says 3 because of the poor staff...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed with my family for the Memorial day weekend. The hotel is in good condition except for the pool area that was not really ready for the summer, with reduced opening hours and broken furniture, etc.
The elevators were a joke which was made worse by the fact that the only access to the pool area was through the first floor which only could be reached with the elevators.
The service was as best mediocre both in the reception area and in the restaurants, the later were especially bad during evenings. No real front desk service if you had questions about the area and their short list of recommended restaurants in the area took us to a a really poor experience.
The hotel might be a good business hotel but definitively not for family weekends. My recommendation as a seasoned traveler is that you looks somewhere else if you need something more than just a nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Address: 6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Greenbelt Marriott, an innovative and stylish choice among hotels in Greenbelt, MD. Conveniently located near I-495 and in the midst of many popular business destinations and leisure attractions, guests enjoy easy access to the nearby D.C. Metro Green Line, BWI and DCA Airports and Route 50 leading to Annapolis. Our Greenbelt hotel's Beltway location is also ideal for short commutes to Washington, D.C. And Baltimore. Spacious guest rooms designed for the ultimate in comfort and productivity, feature luxurious bedding ensembles, high-tech amenities and large work areas. Our Greenbelt, Maryland hotel's contemporary lobby provides travelers with free Wi-Fi and refreshing spaces ideal for meeting with business associates and friends or relaxing with a cup of Starbucks(R) coffee. On-site restaurants, a well-equipped fitness center and sparkling indoor and outdoor pools, all complemented by outstanding service, provide guests with added comfort and relaxation to ensure a remarkable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Marriott Greenbelt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbelt Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.