We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 Hanover Dr., Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Fort Mill, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Some friends and I were in town for the Stephen Colbert/Jon Stewart rally and found this hotel to be very nice. It was a little further outside of D.C. than we had anticipated but with shuttle access to the Metro or commute in and out of the city was very easy. All of the staff were extremely helpful, as we were pretty unfamiliar w/ the D.C. area. Everyone was very accommodating and always were willing to assist us in any way they could. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in suburban Washington.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to the Washington, D. C. area. With hotel shuttle service available, we are just minutes from two metro stations. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your enjoyable experience. Our staff strives to provide customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    96
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
64
47
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our room was fine in a mediocre way - comfy beds, nice bedding & pillows, OK lighting, fairly quiet, and fine service. The towels were plush, and the tub drained perfectly (not clogged). The bathroom however was tiny and had no exhaust fan, so after doing anything in there it was difficult to go back in there for an hour or so. The mini-fridge froze our food solid until we figured it out, and the TV was oddly slow to turn on (20 seconds) or change channels. There was no hot tub, which I would have enjoyed very much, but there was a coin-op laundry fortunately. Wi-fi was slow, but they have free printing in the business center. This would have been fine for a stay of a day or two, but we were there for 8 days and it was too long.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank you for staying with us during your visit. We apologize for the challenges you had during your stay. All of our mini refrigerators come with an independent temperature control, which we have asked our housekeeping staff to check the setting, when preparing the room for a guest. Our 37" LCD televisions do take time to warm up and turn on. We welcome all guest reviews and truly appreciate you bringing the issues you had to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Your basic hotel that's a little out of the way. For business is okay, but for family vacation I would not consider. The rooms are small and very dated. They need a major makeover.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that our rooms did not suit your needs. We recently completed a full renovatiion, which began with our spacious guest rooms. We are conveniently lcoated near two metro stations with the hotel shuttle service available to both. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHODE ISLAND
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The first room we were given (Room 117) was fine the first night, probably because there wasn't anyone in the next room. The second night, we could hear voices. At first, I thought it was from the speaker of the phone or the radio. On closer examination, the talking was coming from the next room, but after moving the night stand (which had dead bugs and cigarette butts behind it), the noise seemed to be coming under the wall. I stuck my fingers under the baseboard and there was a cap. The people next door were just talk, not making a lot of noise, so I didn't want to complain about they. However, when we tried to go to sleep, all we could hear was the talking. At about 11 pm we finally went to the desk and they had us change rooms. After we changed rooms I had one of the desk clerks coming into the room so I could have her witness the problem. She said sshe would advise the manager.
The second room didn't have the same problem, but was not great either. The air conditioning/heating units are either on or off. At the temperture we adjusted it to, it would come on and go off all night. Also, it blew right toward the bed and made it very umcomfortable. In addition, the refrigerator made a lot of noise and we had to turn it off during the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Greenbelt. We are truly sorry about the challenges that you experienced during your stay. Please know that we take every guest comment very seriously, and we are taking measures to ensure that this doesn't happen to any other guest in the future. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate the time that you took to bring these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Me and my family never stay in a Holiday Inn before.We was surprise how the room was actually nice and how great the service was the associate at the front desk by the name william Hill was the most respectful and helpful person.Me and my family are planning staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We are delighted you enjoyed our service and accommodations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

On the bright side, the hotel was a great value compared to hotels in D.C. proper, and the room and desk staff were both nice. With (apparent) access to the Greenbelt Metro station (without a car) it seemed like it would be just what we needed.

However in reality the shuttle service to the station is completely inadequate. Limited hours and limited runs to the station (on the hour) are best case.

In our case we could not get picked up at the station on arrival ($15 cab ride) and wasted almost an hour waiting for a shuttle back to the station that was supposed to "be back in 15-30 minutes". It was almost impossible to get information on the shuttle status from beginning (we would have had lunch or taken a taxi if we had known up front it was going to take a hour) to end (when the manager was going to call a taxi for us because she didn't know when the shuttle was going to be back.). (Every hotel shuttle I've been in has had a radio, and most folks have cell phones these days...). Of course we needed to take a taxi back to the hotel in the evening as service stops at 7PM but I was told about that in advance.

We didn't need much, but we needed the shuttle, and it was a liability from beginning to end. If you have a car, or are in the Greenbelt area it is a perfectly nice Holiday Inn but I would never recommend it to anyone who was planning on going into D.C.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to communicate the challenges that you faced with our shuttle service. We are taking steps to remedy this situation and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Hotels in Washington, DC are expensive so I looked for a cheaper solution. This hotel is fantastically situated in the suburbs of the city. Free hourly shuttle service to the Greenbelt Metro Station gives easy access into town and half the cost of the DC hotels.

The check-in was smooth and the staff welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful. Interior of the hotel is semi-standard Holiday Inn. The room was large, well appointed. Wifi is free but in my room (729) it was unreliable. It kept on cutting off. My colleague who stayed on the same floor had no problems with this, so this depends per room.

Bathroom was clean and had all the usual trappings. The steam iron didn't work as good as it could have been which made me lose a lot of time.

Each room has a microwave and a fridge. There is a shoppingmall around the corner of the hotel.

Breakfast buffet is good. Hotel has a nice pool area.

I would stay here again when visiting DC on a next trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and aplogize for your inconvenience. The issues have been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD

Address: 7200 Hanover Dr., Greenbelt, MD 20770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt completes multi-million dollar renovation! The newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt is a full-service hotel conveniently located near many government and corporate offices: NASA, Verizon, IRS, FDA, USDA, Lockheed Martin, the University of Maryland in College Park, and New Carrollton Amtrak and Greenbelt Metro stations are within 5 miles. Corporate guests will appreciate the free high-speed Internet, and fitness center. Leisure travelers staying at the Greenbelt hotel will enjoy visiting Six Flags America and the Greenway Center Shopping Center, plus the many attractions in nearby Washington, DC, Baltimore, and Annapolis. Sports enthusiasts will be convenient to FedEx Field - Washington Redskins, RFK Stadium - Washington Nationals and DC United, Verizon Center - Capitals, Wizards, and Mystics. At the newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt, our service is outstanding and our accommodations are superb. Kids Eat Free in Willy K's, our comfortable and recently renovated restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Washington, DC/Greenbelt offers two meeting rooms and is located adjacent to the Martin's Crosswinds Catering Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Md Hotel Greenbelt
Holiday Inn Greenbelt Nasa
Greenbelt Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt MD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.