We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel, but don't expect to eat here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 Golden Triangle Drive, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“decent hotel, but don't expect to eat here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The rooms are good enough, and there is free wifi that works very well. They also provide a free shuttle service to local points of interest which was very helpful to me and is the main reason I'm not goig to rate them below average.

However, their so-called bistro sucks. I got breakfast there the first day, and they dried out the canadian bacon. I had no intention of eating there again, but we got snowed in so options were limited. I attempted to eat breakfast at 9:30AM -- closed! (????) I tried to find real food in their fridge, none, it had been wiped out. Attempted to finally eat at 12:30, they kept telling me to wait even though there was no line, so I did. I finally made an order to an obviously new girl who had to look at a picture on the counter to understand the menu item. She walked in the back and I never saw her again (nor any food). I'm very hungry now, so walked across to the other Marriot (?!?) who had a stocked fridge and microwaved some food.

I lodged a complaint afterwards to the Bistro at 1PM. he said, "sorry we're closed now." Wow. Is this place for real?

Incidentally, there are only two other options: the horrible TGIF down the street, and the Holiday Inn close by (where I finally got a real meal for dinner). Better be prepared to bring a sandwich or eat elsewhere, and hope there isn't a snowstorm so you get stuck. They don't even give free coffee here.

I expect a manager to reply on this like he has on others. Please spare me your reply and do something about your stupid bistro, and don't ever starve your clients again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
21
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel in a couple of years. We were impressed with the makeover of the lobby and common areas. The breakfast we had was cooked to order and the wait staff is exceptional. The front desk personnel was great upon check-in and check-out. The location was perfect. I would stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Staff was good but rather than bed the room was below standard. TV in the living room didn't work and wifi either. Paid almost $200 for yhe nigjt for this, very disappointed in the quality of the room, if i were staying more than one night i would check out,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGB, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you during your stay with us. Here at the Greenbelt Courtyard we take great pride in providing outstanding service. In order to serve you better in the future as well as other guests who may stay with us, we asked that you contact the property directly so that we can gather more information from you. This information is used to train our staff on how to provide excellent service. We take your comments seriously and I would like to talk to you at your earliest convenience. Please call and ask for the Property Manager.

Thank you,

Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are looking for good price, near the metro with easy access to DC, a nice Bistro, shuttle, friendly and helpful staff, clean room, this is it. Also easy to get to University of Maryland, and that area. I was here for National History Day and was always on time.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to be close to Bistro as the property at first was a bit confusing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

No coffee was available in the evenings even though there was a Starbucks in the lobby. Bath towels were thin and rough. It was very difficult to control the heat in some of the rooms. The pool was very nice and the lifeguard was excellent - very good with the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGB, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing the Greenbelt Courtyard. We value your comments. Please accept our apology for the towels that you received. I hope you reported it to the front desk so that we could have brought you some new towels. We have made adjustments so this should not happen again. This spring/summer we will be installing thermostats and new units in our rooms so that you can adjust the temperature easier. If you are ever in the area again please do not hesitate to give us another try. You may also contact the property directly.

Thank you,

Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Recently turned a three night stay into a two night stay, shortened due to weather, but enjoyed the location and accommodations.

We were in the area to visit friends, and easily drove into DC via the conveniently located BW Parkway. We were in downtown DC in less than 30-minutes.

The staff was very helpful - allowing us to use silverware and dishes from the closed cafe to eat our late dinner purchased outside the hotel.

The lobby area is warm and welcoming (great fireplace!)

The only things we did not like: the pool hours! Weekdays it is closed all day until 5pm-10pm.
The fitness room is fine, but small. Just 2 treadmills and one elliptical. Weights.

Free wifi!

I would stay here again at the right rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I selected 2 Queen Beds for maximum comfort. Our room and the premises were very clean, very comfortable, and close to our destination. The convenience of free Wi-Fi and the business center made our trip that much more pleasant. We were aware of the indoor pool and exercise center; they both looked inviting, but, time did not permit our usage. Excellent overall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt

Address: 6301 Golden Triangle Drive, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
Greenbelt Courtyard
Greenbelt Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.