We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 3-Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 Golden Triangle Drive, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Solid 3-Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Wanted a Priceline hotel near the University of Maryland. This Courtyard is handy - just a few miles from campus. Silver Diner is just down the road with a Giant grocery store is in the same plaza.

Room Tip: Our King had a fold-out sofa which came in handy for an unexpected guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
23
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

So I stayed here on business and got some sort of deal where I received a $10 coupon for dinner as well as a free breakfast coupon. While it was a limited selection -- the food was good, hearty, and reasonably priced. Staff was attentive and friendly. Rooms were in good condition - and were of an ample size.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I recently stayed here on a trip to Washington for the Phillies-Nationals series. Upon arrival I was given an upgrade to a full suite which we didn't really get to enjoy since this a a one night trip. the hotel is easily accessible from the Beltway but not close enough to hear it and is a short 5 minute drive on local roads to the Greenbelt Metro parking lot which offers free parking on weekends. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a short visit to the DC area with a car looking for a place with easy access to DC without the expense and hassle of staying downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

No problems at check-in and the room we had was a double suite which was very large with a mini-fridge and microwave and separate bed room. The room we had was recently remodled. The hotel is in an office and hotel parkway just off the Washington beltway. Our GPS had a bit of trouble finding it. It was about 3 miles from the University of Maryland. The neighborhood around the hotel was very safe and rural and even had a large park about a block away from the hotel. Many restaurant choices were in the area as well. Accurate billing arrived prior to 6AM under the door and no real issues with the room since the room was very new and remodled. If you receive a newly remodled room, you can't go wrong for a very quiet night of sleep. Lobby was remodled and more modern, but other areas of the hotel were very old with some very worn carpets...hotel management is working on updating.

Downsides: 1. Old fashioned Courtyard design of rectangle of rooms hampers updating the hotel. 2. Some areas of the hotel were under construction while other areas were still quite old and worn. 3. Pool was adequate size, but had horrible, limited hours (too many hotels in DC area have awful pool hours due to the local requirements that a life guard be on site...this pool didn't open until 10 AM).
4. Workout room was very small, had no towels, poor selection of equipment...maybe 3 pieces total with free weights.
5. Similar to all other Courtyards, breakfast is not included with standard rooms and had both menu or small buffet. The hotel has gone to this cafe type breakfast and food area so that a light lunch or dinner could be served and had a small bar. I don't like Courtyard's extra fees for breakfast, but it is the same everywhere. Nothing special on their buffet.
6. Had 2 public computers in the open areas of the lobby, but had no printers attached to them so no real business center. You could print your boarding passes at a dedicated computer terminal and printer, but no up to standards for a real business center.
7. Updated room did not have a wall thermostat...had an old fashioned wall unit air conditioner and heater which was old and clunky. A $120+ average night hotel room should have a better heating and air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I only stayed one night but was impressed by the service, room, wi-fi internet, and printer access. The front desk was friendly and helpful at check in and out. They have a mini-grocery store if you need a few items but also a cafe that was perfectly adequate for a dinner and breakfast during my stay. The cafe booths each featured their own TV with remote and the coffee was Starbucks which was a nice touch. There were two printers available for free from several computers in the lounge area - which made printing my boarding pass for the trip home easy. The wi-fi in the room worked flawlessly (a gift on a business trip) and the room itself was spacious and comfortable. There was even a small fridge. The hotel itself isn't in a location where you can walk to much but the front desk was able to get me a cab in about 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Had to find a hotel on the road late at night. Decided on MCourtyard, as we can always depend on them. Was a little concerned when reading previous reviews, but we were so tired, we went for it. Even though it was quite pricey for checking in at 10 pm and leaving the next morning, we were glad we did. Quiet, clean and comfy. As rewards members, we can usually count on a very clean room and comfortable bed- the 2 musts for me to even consider staying there. No disappointment. Room clean, updated, lobby and modern. NO worries here. Would stay again if on the road in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenbeltGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Greenbelt Courtyard by Marriott. We are so happy to hear that the room was comfortable and that you had a good stay with us. Our prices are competitive in comparison to other hotels in the area. However, please take a look at our website or check online for the current deals that the hotel is offering. We have a Marriott Reward promotion, AAA and Senior discounts and several other discount options. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to the Greenbelt area.

Best Regards,

Danielle Hood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you have a student at U.Maryland or you are planning visit to see the school, this is the best hotel in terms of location and price. Interior just redone and 5 minutes from University.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenbeltGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your business. We appreciate the comments on the hotel. You are absolutely correct we are located minutes away from the University of Maryland and the hotel had a complete renovation of the rooms, lobby and all public spaces at the end of last year. Additionally if you will be returning please check on our new University of Maryland rate. All terms and conditions are listed on our website.

Best Regards,

Danielle Hood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt

Address: 6301 Golden Triangle Drive, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
Greenbelt Courtyard
Greenbelt Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.