We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory hotel in University of Maryland Vicinity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 Golden Triangle Drive, Greenbelt, MD 20770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Satisfactory hotel in University of Maryland Vicinity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

No problems at check-in and the room we had was a double suite which was very large with a mini-fridge and microwave and separate bed room. The room we had was recently remodled. The hotel is in an office and hotel parkway just off the Washington beltway. Our GPS had a bit of trouble finding it. It was about 3 miles from the University of Maryland. The neighborhood around the hotel was very safe and rural and even had a large park about a block away from the hotel. Many restaurant choices were in the area as well. Accurate billing arrived prior to 6AM under the door and no real issues with the room since the room was very new and remodled. If you receive a newly remodled room, you can't go wrong for a very quiet night of sleep. Lobby was remodled and more modern, but other areas of the hotel were very old with some very worn carpets...hotel management is working on updating.

Downsides: 1. Old fashioned Courtyard design of rectangle of rooms hampers updating the hotel. 2. Some areas of the hotel were under construction while other areas were still quite old and worn. 3. Pool was adequate size, but had horrible, limited hours (too many hotels in DC area have awful pool hours due to the local requirements that a life guard be on site...this pool didn't open until 10 AM).
4. Workout room was very small, had no towels, poor selection of equipment...maybe 3 pieces total with free weights.
5. Similar to all other Courtyards, breakfast is not included with standard rooms and had both menu or small buffet. The hotel has gone to this cafe type breakfast and food area so that a light lunch or dinner could be served and had a small bar. I don't like Courtyard's extra fees for breakfast, but it is the same everywhere. Nothing special on their buffet.
6. Had 2 public computers in the open areas of the lobby, but had no printers attached to them so no real business center. You could print your boarding passes at a dedicated computer terminal and printer, but no up to standards for a real business center.
7. Updated room did not have a wall thermostat...had an old fashioned wall unit air conditioner and heater which was old and clunky. A $120+ average night hotel room should have a better heating and air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
21
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I only stayed one night but was impressed by the service, room, wi-fi internet, and printer access. The front desk was friendly and helpful at check in and out. They have a mini-grocery store if you need a few items but also a cafe that was perfectly adequate for a dinner and breakfast during my stay. The cafe booths each featured their own TV with remote and the coffee was Starbucks which was a nice touch. There were two printers available for free from several computers in the lounge area - which made printing my boarding pass for the trip home easy. The wi-fi in the room worked flawlessly (a gift on a business trip) and the room itself was spacious and comfortable. There was even a small fridge. The hotel itself isn't in a location where you can walk to much but the front desk was able to get me a cab in about 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Had to find a hotel on the road late at night. Decided on MCourtyard, as we can always depend on them. Was a little concerned when reading previous reviews, but we were so tired, we went for it. Even though it was quite pricey for checking in at 10 pm and leaving the next morning, we were glad we did. Quiet, clean and comfy. As rewards members, we can usually count on a very clean room and comfortable bed- the 2 musts for me to even consider staying there. No disappointment. Room clean, updated, lobby and modern. NO worries here. Would stay again if on the road in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenbeltGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Greenbelt Courtyard by Marriott. We are so happy to hear that the room was comfortable and that you had a good stay with us. Our prices are competitive in comparison to other hotels in the area. However, please take a look at our website or check online for the current deals that the hotel is offering. We have a Marriott Reward promotion, AAA and Senior discounts and several other discount options. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to the Greenbelt area.

Best Regards,

Danielle Hood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you have a student at U.Maryland or you are planning visit to see the school, this is the best hotel in terms of location and price. Interior just redone and 5 minutes from University.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenbeltGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your business. We appreciate the comments on the hotel. You are absolutely correct we are located minutes away from the University of Maryland and the hotel had a complete renovation of the rooms, lobby and all public spaces at the end of last year. Additionally if you will be returning please check on our new University of Maryland rate. All terms and conditions are listed on our website.

Best Regards,

Danielle Hood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

Pros - nice lobby, bistro/cafe in lobby, just off 193 - convenient location, flat screens in the room, wifi

Cons - small rooms, smelled like stale cigarettes, room layout is poor, no general vending area, pool is only open from 5pm to 10pm Monday through Friday.

For a hotel that just had a major facelift it was very disappointing. They obviously spent all their money on the lobby and "courtyard". And we paid the "corporate rate" of $200 a night + tax and fees. Honestly, I have stayed in roadside motels nicer than this.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourmetcontessa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We appreciate you feedback on the hotel. We are happy to hear that you like our new lobby area and convenient location. I will address the issue of the smoke smell in the room immediately. We are a non-smoking hotel so that you had that issue during your stay is unacceptable. We strive to ensure that all of our Guests are fully satisfied and have a great experience when visiting the hotel and I am very disappointed that we were unable to provide that for you during your stay.
We do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you should your travels bring you back to the Greenbelt area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for our President's Day weekend trip to DC. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. But most of all it was very convenient. If you are visiting DC from north of the city this is a GREAT location. Coming down I95 from Baltimore it will only take 10 minutes from the time you get to the beltway until you are in the parking lot. It is less than 10 minutes to the Greenbelt Metro station meaning we could leave the hotel at 9am and be on the Capitol Mall in time for the museums to open at 10am. Parking at the Metro is free on weekends and federal holidays, so we only had to pay for the fare cards and didn't have to fight traffic or try to find parking downtown. The Hotel was also less than 10 minutes from Goddard Space Flight Center which was our other destination this weekend. If you are here on a Sunday and are a history buff, check out the Greenbelt Museum's historic house at 10B Crescent Rd. We received a wonderful tour of the house which is an excellent example what life was like during the WWII era.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed here for a business meeting in the area and the rooms were ok for a Courtyard. Rooms seemed renovated but the cleanliness was below my standards. The desk had some sort of substance on it and the bathroom floor had hair on it.

The internet in my room was hard wired and didn't work with my Apple Macbook Pro but after 15 minutes with technical support I was able to self trouble shoot it. The tech support is an automated recording which doesn't have trouble shooting for MAc's only for PC. Good luck getting a live technician.

The hotel staff was ok. When I checked in on Sunday night and asked for restaurant suggestions, she pointed me towards the Fridays across the street. I asked if there were other options and she told me either the Courtyard Bistro food or use the GoBoard for more choices. I understand the GoBoard is a good option but it was Sunday night and she wasn't that busy to give personal recommendations.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt

Address: 6301 Golden Triangle Drive, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
Greenbelt Courtyard
Greenbelt Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Greenbelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.