We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing worse than the room is the staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit of Gatlinburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Summit of Gatlinburg to your Saves list
The Summit of Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Ski View Drive, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
us army, everywhere
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The only thing worse than the room is the staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Where to start. First off i will give the only two positives about this facility. The view and the quiet outside of your room. Now for the rest. The night we arrived we checked in successfully and after walking into the room we noticed the fire extinguisher for the room, by the door, is completely empty, and had just been "inspected", this was not a deal breaker in and of itself but was a warning sign of things to come. We mentioned it to the front desk at the same time as our next adventure and to the maintenance guys we had the joy of meeting later, but alas it was never replaced and excuses were plentiful When your in your unit you have a front row seat for the audio show that is anyone else in the building as sound travels wonderfully between the units. This brings us to our second issue and that is the reception of a gift from the unit above in the form of water coming through our bathroom light fixtures and ceilings. We called up the after hours staff to report it and you would have thought i asked her to walk the mountain and not just from building four to the office. Once again, excuses and "i guess i can have maintenance look in the morning". Add on to this that the back porch is rotted, black mold in the edges of the bath that we discovered thanks to my son and the joy of a shower door that is self removing due to lack of attachment and the picture becomes clearer. Oh i forgot to mention that the shower door, when it decided it was time for its own vacation, also decided to take a small piece of my finger and some blood with it, who knows, it might get lonely on the trip onto my foot. I contacted my booking agent and they contacted the office as i got almost nowhere speaking to the front desk staff and they stated she (front desk staff) was refusing to issue a refund because i had not complained enough to her. Also the ceiling in the master bath shows definitive proof of this water issue being ongoing as the joints are separating and falling down. Save your money, time, and patience don't book here. Unless of course you want to experience the wonderful view from your own personal pseudo-slum environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
54
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went down to The Summit and spent a great family weekend on May 2nd and our absolute favorite thing about The Summit was the breathtaking views of the Smokies, it was beautiful! The ERA staff were very helpful and friendly and the condo was very comfy and had a homelike atmosphere! The only thing bad I can say is that there was no elevator in the building so it would be hard for anyone handicap to access and the pool and hot tubs closed to early for us to enjoy when we came back in at night! All in all we had a wonderful weekend in the Smokies and loved The Summit and especially it's breathtaking views!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a beautiful place we love it . The view was excellent . It was hard to fine . The road was a bit dangerous but well worth the trip up once you got there. The staff was very friendly and helpful . The inside pool was small but hat to hot tubs, nice outside pool. We seen 3 bears. Which thrilled the children. We had a two bedroom full living and kitchen . Everything was clean and neat. . They even had grills for cooking out. which we used that were keep nice and clean.
I would give it 9.7 out of ten.

Room Tip: It would not be good for people with handicap due to steps at most every entrance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Building 6 had great views. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even saw a couple of bears. The drive up the mountain isn't bad after a couple of times. Rooms were clean. Condo was fully furnished. They are not brand new but they are nice and cozy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiden nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed at 2 different condos here and have enjoyed both of them. They were fully stocked and had everything we needed. The drive up is not that bad, you get used to it after a couple of times. The grounds of the condo are very well kept and clean as well as the pool areas. For all of the not so good reviews on here, I guess it depends on who you rent from. We rented from 2 individual owners and had a great experience with them. And as expected the view can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The drive to the top is scary and dangerous. Do not attempt this drive at night or in bad weather unless you are very experienced with steep and narrow roads.
Only selected building units have a view. We were in building #3 and had no view. The only views are from building 7 and 8. The rooms were not very clean. The water pressure is very strong and painful when you take a shower. If you don't stay in the upper floor, you will hear everything above you. Missing dishes and silverware and a can opener that did not work. Finally, you are a good 1/2 hour from all the attractions in Gatlinburg. Stay in a good hotel in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

1. We drive up the mountain to get away and enjoy some mountain view. Not other people 's balcony. While, the balcony is what we can get from this stay. And they are not able to move us to a better one
2. Balcony was covered in snow. No one clean that up. There suppose to be a cover on top of our balcony since other balconies do have one. Their excuse is they don't have time to clean that. We have to live with it.
3. No hair dryer in the room. I have to walk down three floors with my wet hair. Walk out of the building and go to the office and get it myself...
4 Old old furniture and decoration

Room Tip: Ask them about the view. Building 6 has a good view. Not building 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Address: 1260 Ski View Drive, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit of Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.