We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Waters Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Waters Motor Inn to your Saves list
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Palm Coast, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

My family just returned from a four night stay at Rocky Waters. We stayed in two rooms, one king size standard and one king size with a fireplace. Both were nicely decorated, and very clean, with very hot showers and great water pressure. We have stayed here before, and the price has gone up a bit, but with the website coupon we still averaged $54 a night for the standard room and $70 for the fireplace. We were worried to find out it had been bought by Days Inn, but had no problems. We also enjoyed the hot tub on the cold evenings. The continental breakfast is nice enough with muffins, bagels, toaster waffles and french toast, and biscuits. They really should provide more room for eating, though. Only a few tables are available.

If you are looking for a higher class hotel, don't go here. If you are looking for clean, simple, and affordable, try Rocky Waters.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    35
    32
    28
See reviews for
26
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Speedway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

My husband and I arrived on a Thursday and felt pretty good about our choice of a hotel. However , at check in, I was greeted with a staff person that didn't know much about the place. I have a trip card he said he didn't know how to scan. That wasn't a big deal. We went to our room and thought it was great. It is a fairly large room with a balcony that overlooks the river and was very clean. The next morning while showering, the tub didn't seem to want to drain and the water temperature fluctuated. Still not reasons to be too upset. On Saturday it was raining and as I began to walk down the exit ramp, which is the only way to get down to the car, I slipped and fell. I had recently had knee surgery so my husband was very upset. He informed a maid and also went to the office to tell the manager to clean the ramp. No one seemed to care. The following morning the tub already had brown water in it, so I washed up outside of the tub. I will find another hotel to stay at next time.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, NC
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2006

Reserved a room here because I wanted to sit by a fireplace and enjoy some much needed time off. In the course of making the reservation, I inquired about the fireplace on three occasions, and was promised there would be one. Got all the way here, and guess what??? No fireplace!!!! It made the trip a lot less enjoyable and down right disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

We loved it!! We stayed in room 140 overlooking the river, What a view! Our balconey hung over the river, the water rushing over the stones was lovely!
There was a beaver dam opposite us and it was delightful to observe the beaver catching fish! The room had a fridge and microwave which was convenient for left over restaurant food. The jacuzzi was soothing. The fireplace relaxing. The hotel staff, very friendly. Lots of ducks to watch and feed in the river. We have been traveling to Gatlinburg for 33 yrs. and would stay there again. The only drawback is that this hotel is a little far from the center of town but if you like to walk it is not a bad walk.

This place was delightfull!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

Everything is fine to us except that I kept hearing something clicking from the ceiling at night. My husband said the sound's from the beam but I am not sure what caused that noise. Anyway it didn't keep us from falling asleep soon since we're too tired. The compact room is clean and the complimentary breakfast is nice, but I will try another hotel next time just to avoid the suspicious sound.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

we stayed at rocky waters motor inn in gatlinburg november 24th and 25th. our rooms were very clean. we had a microwave and small refrig. we had private balconies overlooking the little pigeon river. the only drawback to this inn was the distance from the middle of Gatlinburg. we got in a lot of exercise, but we are in our late fifties and late sixties and still would stay there again. the walk in the winter is very good, i am not sure about the middle of summer when it will be so hot. we would stay there again. the room rates were very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

i just got back from the rocky waters i love the motel and the loctaion . i called 2 days before i was to arrive and ask if the spa was working i was told it was, guess what it wasn't i was told if could go across the river to the other spa yeah right get in the car go over there then get out wet and come back to my room till they get things fixed i will stay at another motel

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Waters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Waters Motor Inn

Address: 333 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Waters Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rocky Waters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Waters Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Hotel
Rocky Waters Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Inn Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Waters Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.