We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gatlinburg Inn to your Saves list
Gatlinburg Inn
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   755 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is an old historical Inn. You have to be aware of that fact and choose accordingly. There are no frills, thrills or extras. Now having cleared the air, the service, cleanliness, price and location coupled with free parking was priceless. This Inn has to be a little known secret. Its location on the parkway is convienant to all the shops and restaurants. Most of the guests are seniors so the place is very quiet. This was my first visit but will not be my last!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
vjbmercy,
Thank you for letting the secret out about the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! I appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to tell the world of the wonderful service you recieved while staying here at this historical gem! I hope that you will come back in the near future and let us host you and your family again!

Thanks,
Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    59
    28
    17
    10
See reviews for
84
117
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews. I give a 4 star rating based on the fact that you are dealing with an area that was developed YEARS ago. Most of the hotels that are conveniently located are OLD. This particular one is old - with some historic charm. And it is clean. It is well situated on the Gatlinburg "strip" and everything you might want to see is within easy walking distance. On our last visit we stayed at Zodor's Inn (which I also liked for many reasons) but it is at one far end of the strip and requires much more walking. It is on a beautiful quiet stream though....

When it comes to this tiny little area at the foot of the Smokies, it pays to do your research to make sure you get what you are looking for. There's a lot of "good, bad, and ugly." Zodors and Gatlinburg Inn are both GOOD - but different in location and nature. At Gatlinburg Inn we stayed in rooms 249 and 250 - a family suite - and it suited us perfectly. There are lots of rooming options so call and ask the front desk staff what's available. Rooms fronting the strip are probably better. Ours faced the back of the strip and had a view of the chair-lift. It also had a view of a Haunted Mansion which played loud, really loud, eerie music most of the day. That said, noise is something to expect if you are right on the strip.

The folks who worked there were very friendly. The free breakfast was above average for the area... Free convenient parking... We didn't use the pool during our stay - it is rather small and right under the chair lift.

If you are interested in the toiletries offered - they provide the bare minimum... as did Zodors...
Bring your own favorites. No restaurant on site - but many within easy walking distance. Family friendly. This is a party town at times - but this establishment felt safe and secure at all times.

The Inn does have a lot of old-time charm. Not antique - but quaintly nostalgic old - yet clean!

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Ask for advice from the staff as there are many room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Ann C,
Thank you for your positive review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We try our best to ensure the cleanliness of this historic masterpiece! From the antique furniture to our brand new mattress we want all of our guests to feel at home while having their every need accomodated. I am pleased to see that my staff treated you well. I am very proud of the staff I have in place. I hope that you will come back and let us host you again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Gatlinburg Inn was a great place to stay, we stay there several times in the past and as of last week we stayed there again, to our surprise they had done some upgrades which was great to see. Now you can have a continual breakfast, all the beds had new mattress on them, coffee anything you want in lobby area. The nicest people you would ever want to meet and every helpful. We were sorry to here the passing of the owner that had been there from the start of the INN. Great to see all the changes, clean friendly and most of all very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: we like the second floor that faces to main road so you can set out on the balcony see the main stri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
78Vicki2013,
Thank you so much for you wonderful review of the Inn. We enjoyed hosting you! I am glad to see that your found our recent additions to be helpful (breakfast, new mattresses, etc.). I hope that you will continue to allow us to take care of your family when you come to the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

just got back from our 3rd stay at the Gatlinburg Inn. It's still super clean, and has the best location in town. But now, they have WIFI, contential breakfast, and flat screen t.v.!! the breakfast area is really nice, the selection was very good. eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy, make it yourself waffles, and pastries. in the past, it was really old fashioned, every thing done on paper, and the housekeeping staff wearing uniforms. now, it's more relaxed with other improvements on the way

Room Tip: they offer AARP discounts, be sure and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
thomas451,
Thank you for your kind words about the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We are trying our best to bring in some modern conveniences while keeping its historic charm! We hope that you will continue to allow us to be your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Usually when we visit Gatlinburg we stay in the mountains, in one of the large modern chalet's and visit the town. This time we decided to stay in town and we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic, the history is fantastic and the charm of staying at a hotel that time appears to have passed by(in a good way) is terrific. I haven't slept that comfortably in quite some time and I cannot wait to go back. The staff was very friendly, the place was extremely clean and all round a great experience. We could have stayed at a fancier hotel in town and had a typical travel experience but I am so glad we didn't. Thanks Gatlinburg Inn we'll see you next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
David T,
I'm glad that we could service you during your family's stay in Gatlinburg. I'm pleased to hear that the staff went above and beyond (as the always do) to make sure your every need was attended to in a timely manner. We are trying our best with our pending remodel to keep the charm of this location's history while updating a few things and adding a few more mordern conveniences. I hope you will come stay with us again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth,ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Inn was very spacious and staff very friendly and polite. We stayed in the Maples Suite which was huge, a king bed in one large room and two full size beds in another plus a third full bed in another room. We had two full bathrooms. Location in center of town was very nice. We were close to all attractions and shopping. Breakfast was good but a little work on the biskits would help. Can,t complain much it was free. Mornings were great you could watch the sun rise over the mountains. The décor was very very nice and fitting in the lobby and the room. It is a must see and stay at. When we get to go back that is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: ask for the maples suite if staying with your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Roger Z,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Gatlinburg Inn. You aren't the first to brag about the location of this hotel. It is in my opinion that we have the best location in town. You can't get any closer to the action than us. But you still have a quite "safehaven" to retreat to when it's time to lay down. Since your stay we have added several other items to our breakfast bar. And, we are about to begin the remodel in January.

Hope to see you again soon!

Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's 6am as I lay in this comfy king bed to write this review. I am just in love with this hotel. I love all of the history here as well. We have a view of the sky lift. We sat in our rocking chairs(yes, you get rocking chairs here) out on our balcony last night. The place is older, so if you want posh and modern this isn't your place. We have what I'm assuming is around a 50 inch flat screen tv. The wifi is perfect. All bars on my phone and laptop. Prime location in the center of everything on the Parkway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
pris1972,
I am glad to see that some of our initial upgrades are paying off! We just put those new mattresses and tv's in a few months ago as well as upgraded the WIFI so that it is now throughout the entire hotel. I hope we can host you and your family again in the near future! Come on back and pull up a rocking chair!

Thanks,
Gary Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatlinburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Inn

Address: 755 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Gatlinburg Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gatlinburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.