We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
The Edgewater Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we stayed here on September 28 for one night on a last minute vacation. Staff was very friendly..the hotel is very clean. we stayed on the 7th floor. The room smelled very clean and it was very nice. We had a mountain view and the room also had a refrigerator, coffee pot, blow dryer and complimentary shampoos and soaps. the bedding was very clean and they have an extra blanket between the sheet and the top comforter. We had plenty of towels. The complimentary breakfast was great ..buiscuits and gravy, waffles, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, doughnuts, fruit, cereal...We will stay here again!

Room Tip: get a room on the top floors for the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Edgewater. We appreciate your positive comments and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are again in the Great Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    192
    111
    55
    30
See reviews for
209
173
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Edgewater is a nice enough hotel and is in a great location. The staff is friendly, the place is clean, and the beds are comfortable. The creek view would be nice on a lower floor but up higher one has it's pros and cons. The pro is that one can enjoy the city lights and space needle; the con is the unsightly excavation going on directly across the street. This is by no means any fault of the establishment but it does make the view less than wonderful. The river flows directly in front of the hotel so a room on the lower levels would afford one the opportunity to enjoy it. The noise level is a bit on the high side as there is traffic on up into the night. There is a continental breakfast and the only good thing I can say about it is that it's free. Honestly, don't waste your time - the offerings included cottage cheese, frozen berries that have just thawed out, granola, cereal, stale white bread for toast, coffee and juice. The only thing that looked to be remotely appetizing was the biscuit with gravy. Several people walked in and then left after seeing what was being offered. The elevator service isn't great but there are benches where one can sit and wait on it. Overall this was an average experience. The price was reasonable and the location unbeatable.

Room Tip: Ask for a creekside room on a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. I will forward your comments on to the appropriate department heads for review. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to host you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartrace, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel while we were there for the Rod Run. Check in went very smooth and we got to the room on the 8th floor it was very nice and roomy. It was a little hot and stuffy in there but we cut on the air conditioning and it cooled down fast. We really enjoyed hanging out on the balcony. The beds were comfortable to sleep in and the room had a microwave and refrigerator. We liked stayed here because it is so easy to get to downtown! Breakfast was ok and they had Biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juice and fruit. We didn't get to enjoy the pool and hot tub since we got back to late but they looked very nice. I hope when we come back to the area that we can stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. We're glad you chose to stay in Gatlinburg during the Rod Run, and especially happy that you stayed with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you on a return visit to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the Edgewater when stopping in Gatlinburg. After reading a few negative reviews, we were a bit worried. All that went away instantly when we walked thru the doors here. This place is beyond beautiful. The free parking in the garage was a plus. Right in downtown gatlinburg and within walking distance to everything. We stayed on the 6th floor and had an amazing view of the spaceneedle,. The pool and hottubs were extremely nice. We were the only people using them at the time we went in. The breakfast looked good, but we skipped it to go eat in Pigeon Forge,.I give this place 5 stars and would recommend it to anyone looking to not spend alot of money on a hotel in Gatlinburg!

Room Tip: City View Rooms are worth the Money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Edgewater. We are delighted that you chose to give us an opportunity to host you and we look forward to your future visit the next time travel plans bring you to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Every time we visit TN, we stay here. You can easily walk the streets of Gatlinburg staying here and make the drive to pigeon forge. That way you have a place to park while in Gatlinburg. They have nice amenities, the pool is nice since it is indoor/outdoor and the game room to keep kids occupied. The only downside this last trip was all the kids. There was some band competition in the area and you couldn't move without there being a kid underneath you. They weren't chaperoned at all. The kids were nonstop in the elevator pushing all the buttons and the chaperones that were there were very rude. I was actually yelled at by one because he mistook me as "a girl that ran off" as a fully grown 5'7", 21 year old engaged woman i was offended that he never said sorry for yelling or mistaking me as a little kid in middle school. I think if the hotel is going to have all of these kids they should enforce some rules. When my sister took her 8th grade trip the kids were not allowed out of their room and if they were they were with an adult at all times not running around the hotel and banging on people doors. Other than that mistaking stay during the busy time i do love the hotel. It is always clean and our rooms are always kept up. We only stay in a creek side room so that we can sit on a balcony at night to look at the town and and during the day we can look down at the creek. Just be careful getting in the pool, there is so much chlorine that it stripped all the color out of a $80 bathing suite when i wore it for the first time. But i rather be in a clean pool!

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed with a room overlooking the town and creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate your choosing the Edgewater as your hotel destination when in Gatlinburg. I agree that sometimes the elevators can get crowded, and I thank you for your patience while using them. Thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit to Gatlinburg and the Edgewater Hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is just mediocre. We kind of booked last minute and didn't have a lot of places to choose from. The hotel is very old and aged, but they have tried to update it but fails to compare to newer hotels. The beds were not the greatest in the world, which is one of the main things I rate a hotel on. Cleanliness is the other and this place was clean. The pool was not much to speak of it is an indoor/outdoor pool all in one. The free breakfast exceeded my expectations of a continental breakfast.
My biggest complaint with this place is there parking garage. I drive a 4x4 super cab truck and trying to fit into these tiny outdated parking spaces was horrible. I ended up having to park at there alternate parking a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your August stay. I appreciate your honesty and your comments regarding the hotel. I will pass on your suggestions to the proper Department Heads for review. Should travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area, I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to host your stay.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very Accomodating for the meetings and events for The Smoky Mountains Songwriters Festival! Great location and easy access to everything on The Parkway! They have a large parking garage so you can pull in off the street, and the atmosphere is nice and peaceul with the river running in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater Hotel. We enjoyed hosting the Smoky Mountain Songwriters Festival and are glad that you chose our hotel. We look forward to your return visit when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.