We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spring getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
The Edgewater Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spring getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I and our son and his family spend a weekend in the Smoky Mountains. We like to hike so we wanted to stay near the park entrance. We chose the Edgewater Hotel because of its location. Great choice. It was off the main road, which was good; but you could walk to everything. I liked the sound of the water, which I could hear from my balcony.

The staff was extremely nice and treated us like family. The rooms were clean and roomy. The breakfast was great; what a savings that was with children. We walked to the acquarium and that was great not to have to worry about parking.

I would definitey chose Edgewater again. We will probably go in the fall and take in the fall folliage and maybe a UT football game.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front with the view of the town. I liked that. I also here the rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Edgewater Hotel. We appreciate your staying with us and are glad you and your family had an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    193
    111
    55
    30
See reviews for
209
174
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed in king suite on 8th floor best view of all Gatlinburg and mountains. Planning another trip in September. Usually stay at Clarion but too many hidden fees. Very clean and rooms are a good size. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor for the view. Also its a lot cooler on the balcony more wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your Mother's Day visit to the Edgewater. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay in one our suites. I agree they do have a lovely view of the mountains and downtown Gatlinburg.
We look forward to serving you again when future plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay. Close to everything but still in a quiet location. It was very clean and was exactly as advertised.If we ever went back to Gatlinburg this is where I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your fun getaway. We appreciate your positive remarks and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful Hotel! Our room overlooked the river and was extremely nice. We were with a group of kids that were there for the Smoky Mountain Music Festival. All the kids enjoyed the heated pool and the game area. The kids went through alot of towels, all we had to do was notify the staff and they were right there with more. It was a great location and very convenient to everything in Gatlinburg. We parked at the hotel and walked to everything. Would highly recommend this to anyone. This was our first stay in Gatlinburg and we throughly enjoyed it. Would definitely return again!!!

Room Tip: I would definitely go with the rooms with the river view, other side is just a hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw of the Edgewater Hotel. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and agreeable. We appreciate your business and look forward to a return visit when your travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great Location and Awesome access to everywhere in Gatlinburg!!! We walked everywhere to help with parking in Gatlinburg. Free and covered parking. Kids loved pool area. Great breakfast with a lot of healthy options. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May 2010 and again in March 2013. Both experiences were good. During the most recent stay we enjoyed the heated pool, the temperature was comfortable, even though it was only in the 40's-50's the two days we were there. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and the employees courteous. Parking is not so great (we have a midsize SUV), however, we LOVE the convenience of leaving the car & walking...the location is great! Definitely get a river room, not a mountain view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

40 members of our family met at the Edgewater April 4-7 and had the most amazing time!! The accomodations were good, and the catered dinner the evening of the 6th was well turned-out and delicious. Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating and willing to help any way possible. The children in our group were well entertained with the pool, and the hotel was in a perfect location for dining our and seeing the town. We are going back in July with hopefully even more family members!!! Thank you Kim, Kimberly, and Debra at Edgewater for a fabulous trip!!!

Room Tip: Rooms face the mountain or the river & downtown. We liked the river/downtown view best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.