We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife, up-close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Springdale
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wildlife, up-close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Location:
VERY convenient to the strip. We were able to walk to wherever we wanted to go in Gatlinburg.
Appreciate the parking pass/mirror hanger. In our mind, this kept non-hotel guests away.

Room
CLEAN: a bit small but we dealt with it.
Housekeeping was friendly and did a very good job.

Staff
Desk clerks were very helpful and friendly

Breakfast
We didn't take advantage, no way to comment on that.

Internet
Be prepared to have a banner ad pop up and run across the top of your screen. Also, there were some sites that didn't seem to want to load correctly. I don't know if there was a conflict between my browser/ the web site/ hotel Internet or what the problem was. It was annoying but I was able to work around.

Noise level
Traffic outside was not that noticable. There was some activity heard from the pool. That was covered up by turning up the AC

Wildlife
Kind of scary but neat....there is a bear that visits the hotel late at night/early in the morning. I Would alert folks to be aware of this. The trashcans outside the rooms were tipped over and rummaged through by the visiting critter.

Room Tip: We liked our room facing the direction of the strip. it was kind of neat to see the space needle an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at BelleAire EconoLodge. It sounds like things were mostly positive for you. We have renewed our efforts to make sure that trash is placed in the dumpster nightly so as to make sure our ursuline friends (aka "bears") do not empty the trash cans all over the property looking for food.

Other than that, seeing bears whenever and wherever is an integral part of the Gatlinburg experience. Please keep your distance and above all, do not feed them!

Again, thank you for your feedback, and please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
port richey,fl
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked this hotel since it was a block from downtown and included free parking. The room was decent but the jetted tub (which was missing some jets) had mold and mildew in the jets so would not want to use it as a tub. The man who cleaned our room was excellent and even left us a note saying he hoped we had a nice day. Upon check in he stopped to see if we needed more towels, coffee, etc. The breakfast was very basic - pastry, bagels and cereal but worked out fine for us.
We stayed 2 nights and would certainly stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the first floor and the first night we stayed they had a bear go through the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for commenting. We apologize for the condition of the jetted tub. It may be in one of the rooms we have taken off-line for renovations. We are pleased that the rest of your experience at BelleAire EconoLodge was positive. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

we had reservations thru a booking site for this hotel on Memorial Day weekend. I received a call 1 week before our trip that they were over booked and wouldn't be able to honor our reservations. they could offer us one of their other hotels, but after looking up the options on trip advisor and the horrible reviews the options received, I declined and made my own reservations at another wonderful hotel. the booking site said this was normal for them. when we got to Gatlinburg and settled in, that evening when we passed by the Belle Aire, guess who had a vacancy? After they told us the were overbooked, they had vacancies. Not that I am complaining, the placed we stay was awesome and it worked out for the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for comments. We are happy that things worked out for you, despite the inconvenience. We do apology for the overbooking situation. We make every effort to see that we do not overbook (or do not get overbooked by third party sites), but rarely, this does occur. When it does, we make every effort to provide alternative accomodations of equal or greater value.

Also, please note that, with six properties, we leave the vacancy sign lit at each hotel until all are sold out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My brother and I stayed at this hotel (which is now an EconoLodge) two different nights. The first we had reserved, and it was a decent stay,room was just fine, breakfast a little lacking but wasn't expecting much. It is a good value. The second night later in the trip we came unannounced and got a room, which was upgraded to the suite on the second floor. This was a really nice room which we got for the same price as the normal room, and it was nice that they upgraded us for free based off the availability that day. This hotel is close enough to walk to everything in town, which is suggested due to limited/pay parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We're glad you've enjoyed staying with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very clean hotel!! Would stay again anytime! Comfortable beds and very quiet. Can't say enough good things about this hotel! The receptionist (Susan) was very professional and so very helpful with all my questions. I hope the hotel realizes what a great receptionist she is!! They are right across from one of the best pancake restaurants. They only serve muffin and roll in the morning but their prices are so reasonable that this is not an issue. Walking distance from all the attractions and the trolley stops across the street. Housekeeping is done by a very nice man who will go out of his way to help you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your very nice comments! We will pass your kudos on to Susan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was nice and CLEAN with all the basics you need. The king bed was comfortable, air worked well, bathroom had a jetted tub, and sink/dressing area was separate from shower. Check-in went smooth, nice young lady at the desk. Highly recommend for staying within walking distance of downtown. I'm not sure about breakfast - we never made it in time (slept late-our fault). My main concern was cleanliness and I have no complaints at all. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check in is before 11:00pm -office closes then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your positive experience. We work very hard to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We hope you will return and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a fairly old hotel which recently has gone under the EconoLodge chain.

The good:

This hotel has a great location, with easy access to the Park, and downtown. The beds were comfortable. The blackout shades worked. The prices very reasonable, and the room seemed clean.

Housekeeping is done by a super guy who was a hoot, and very helpful.

The not so great:

We had a couple of maintenance issues, and they were unable to repair them until after 10 o'clock in the evening. Their clerk indicated that they are having difficulty finding maintenance and front desk staff.

Breakfast is very basic – cold cereal, bagels and jelly, store-bought little muffins, juice (which was frozen), and coffee. There is a excellent pancake house just down the street where we chose to have breakfast. The price of the hotel was so good that we didn't mind paying an additional $20 for a good breakfast.There was no breakfast before we checked out on our last day there, because the clerk didn't show up for work.

We thought the blankets (especially an extra one my wife requested) needed washing.

Some of the directions we received from one of their front desk clerks were wrong. Traffic in Gatlinburg is very heavy. A mistake can cost you 30 min. or more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We now have maintenance available on the evening shift seven days a week and are also working to address the other issues you raise, including ensuring that our front desk staff are capable of giving accurate directions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel

Address: 405 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Belle Aire is situated on Historic Nature Trail just one block from Gatlinburg Convention Center and next door to the ever-popular Log Cabin Pancake House. Our limited "Easy Start" breakfast is a great way to start your day in the Park or on the streets of Gatlinburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;