We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but service is lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but service is lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel in the midst of some renovations. Rooms are quiet and clean, with ample amenities. Our first night there we asked for fiber fill pillows rather than feather; told them our tub drain was slow and needed attention and that we were almost out of kleenex. They only brought us the kleenex, but did nothing about the other requests. Other than that, it was a decent hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We regret all your request were not made during your stay. This is not our hotel policy and will be notifying proper departments to make sure the staff addresses all guests requests.We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. Once again we thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    147
    65
    48
    28
See reviews for
149
110
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Grange Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My family stayed here a few times the first couple of years the Clarion was open. We loved it because of the service, the rooms, the pool, the hot breakfast and the location. We only stopped staying here when the rates justifiably went up. Good motel, worth it.

Well...fast forward to 2014, and this will be our last stay here. I booked a great rate on AAA, and our family was super-excited to return here. Immediately upon arrival, I was greeted by the most rude front desk woman I have ever experienced at any accommodation (dark hair, glasses, scowl). I had asked for a Parkway view room because of the great views of Gatlinburg, and was told over the phone that we would have it, but discovered that we were on the back. When I asked her what happened, she told me, "Well, you booked on online thru Priceline and they just lie. We don't have any rooms on the front. They tell you anything." I told her, no, I called AAA and they made the reservation with me over the phone. She kept repeating, "No. You made the reservation on Priceline." She said it again and again, till I asked her why she kept saying that. I told her this was a pretty disappointing start at a motel we used to love. It really ruined my first evening because of her condescending rudeness.

The next morning we went to the really nice hot breakfast and were met by two very short-tempered ladies at the counter there. Must be the new way at Clarion Gatlinburg.

I will say that the custodial staff and renovation staff have been very kind and friendly. Perhaps they should move these nice folks to the front lines. Again, our last stay at Clarion Gatlinburg. Somewhere else from here on out.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We apologize for your most recent experience at the hotel. We have immediately begun retraining with all departments and individuals regarding this issue. This is not the way of doing business at the Clarion Inn Gatlinburg. Our Reservations Manager will be contacting you within 48 hours to speak directly with you. Once again we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Other than the hard beds, the stay was great. Super close to an amazing trail through the woods and along the creek. The water pressure wasn't very strong. Great breakfast. Workout room was horrible. Only two working machines and no weights.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you bring your concerns regarding the discomfort of the beds and exercise room to us. We were glad to hear that your enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the full hot complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your next visit to the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

At the back of the back of the back of the hillbilly tourist strip that is Gatlinburg, this jewel sits just at the foot of the Smoky mountains. It is easily walkable to all the main destinations (Ripley's, Sky lift, etc), but it isn't in the middle of it: so you get a peaceful place that is at the mountain and national parkside of the strip. The included breakfast was also very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel makes it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer and still be right next to the mountains. We were pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the full hot breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have stayed at the Clarion-Gatlinburg once every year for the past few. I attend a seminar at the hotel and it is well worth it. The rooms have spectacular views and it is steps away from the shopping strip.
If you choose to take a scenic drive, this is the closest hotel to the Smoky Mountain Park.
The hotel rooms just need to be refurbished, but all in all, it is worth the stay!
I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and the beautiful views from our private balconies along with the location. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I did not experience any problems on my stay. Great Location, friendly staff, nice breakfast, and a heated covered pool. The price was reasonable for the season. Will stay again on another visit to the park. The room was on the backside of the hotel so quiet. The smell from the BBQ restaurant next door made my mouth water.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside away for the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
The Clarion Inn Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer. The Clarion strives to deliver the most excellent customer service and was glad to hear that you received it. We can't wait for your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

First thing I noticed was the strange and nauseating odor as soon as we stepped off the elevator.
The room was a "suite" that was dingy ripped carpets stains everywhere woodwork scratched and stained. The coffee maker and hair dryer did not work. The Jacuzzi was a joke. The bed couch and chair were so uncomfortable like sitting or sleeping on cement. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: do not actually stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The hotel regrets that your stay didn't meet your expectations and would've been more than pleased to rectify your issues during your stay if we would have been made aware of them. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Clarion's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Clarion Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Clarion is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.