We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as good as it gets for Gatlinburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets for Gatlinburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are very few new hotels in Gatlinburg if you want to stay on the main strip, so we try to look for clean and remodeled. Clarion Inn and Suites is older, but well kept up. While the rooms are a little dated, they are large (we get a suite) and seem to be clean. The only negative about the room, is the bathtub/shower. I don't like shower curtains as they get nasty pretty quick. They should change these out more often.

The entire staff at the hotel are very friendly and go out of their way to offer friendly service with one exception which I'll get to in a minute. The front counter, housekeeping, and maintenance are all very friendly and make a point of speaking to you whenever possible. We had a small issue with our fireplace. Maintenance came up within minutes of the call. The gentleman fixed it quickly and after that, every time we saw him, he spoke and asked if we were okay and did we need anything else.

Now the exception: Even though the hotel offers a "free" breakfast, we all know it is built into the price of the hotel. Normally, this is a good thing, but in Clarion's, it just doesn't work. They offer a lot of choices, but do not really have the accommodations to pull it off, therefore, it just makes everyone cranky. They are trying to make omelets at the hot bar, and this seems to be the primary hold up. The line blocks the flow of traffic to the bread station on the right and the rest of the food bar to the left. The day we were there, the omelet lady was by herself, and couldn't handle putting other items on peoples plates while making omelets. Because of this, she made sure everyone in line could see that she was angry. There was another girl and an older man running around trying to keep things stocked. They clearly need to cut back on the breakfast offerings, or hire more help. The layout just doesn't flow. We stayed three nights, but decided to for go the "free" breakfast the last two mornings because we don't like starting our day in a hostile environment. The man in front of me even told the hostile omelet lady that he would like a smile with his eggs and all she did was snarl even more.

Breakfast is only served for a short time, therefore when the hotel is full, there are not enough seats to feed the masses. I would suggest doing away with the omelet bar and adding another hour to the schedule and things would definitely flow more smoothly. I am sure that Clarion does not want their customers to start their day with the negative attitudes that we encountered our first morning. We went down just to get coffee the second day and the attitudes were the same as the first.

Overall we like the hotel. We have already booked another stay in May. Hopefully, the breakfast situation will be improved so I can give you a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: 511, 411, 311 are all large rooms with a large balcony and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The hotel strives to provide the most excellent customer services to all our guest and was glad to hear that over all you received that. However the hotel regrets the issue with the breakfast area and has notified the Department regarding those issues. We are very pleased to hear that you will be visiting the hotel again in May and look forward to your arrival. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    128
    61
    43
    26
See reviews for
133
98
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A little expensive. My wife and I spent a weekend at this hotel not long ago, and we reserved a 1 bedroom suite with jacuzzi and fireplace. The entire unit was very clean and up to date, with a nice view overlooking the street and a nice view of the mountain. The price is the only thing that wasnt satisfactory about that trip. It wasnt overly expensive, but it was a little higher than I would have expected to pay. Overall, if you have a few extra bucks to spend then give it a try for a weekend, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The Clarion Inn Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The Luxury King Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace makes for a relaxing stay when visiting Gatlinburg. The private balconies on the city side do offer a birds eye view to all that downtown has to offer. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbourville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with two of my girlfriends and our kids. The location of the hotel is wonderful, which is the best thing about it. They charged a resort fee, which was not indicated to us when we made the reservation. The rooms were fairly clean, although there was a used shower cap hanging on the bathroom door hook, which told us that the door wasn't closed when the cleaning was done. There were stains on the bed skirts, although the comforter was white and clean. All in all, I feel that at a total of nearly $600 for two rooms for two nights, we were purely paying for location. Would I stay here again? Not so sure. Maybe if the time of year is such that the price is lower.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The Clarion Inn Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer without getting into your car. We regret that there were some issues with your room and have notified the Department accordingly. When making future reservations ask if there is any specials that could be applied during your next. We look forward to your next visit to the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

my group of hikers decided to stay at the Clarion at my urging after three days on the AT. the check in took forever, with a new staff member that seemed lost at every move. getting a few things from the snack case took two keys and ten minutes to ring up for only a few items. the rooms were okay but nothing special. Breakfast was unimpressive, serving cooked to order eggs and omelets with only a few items to add. My real gripe is i was a few minutes late ( five minutes) getting back to my room and the cleaning people threw away all my toiletries. toothbrush, paste, deodorant were all gone with the trash. All my belongings were still in the room. I have never had this happen before in any hotel. It's unlikely that I will ever be back in Gatlinburg, but would stay anywhere except the clarion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a great winter trip to this hotel. Great location at the end of downtown where it is quiet and conveniently located across from Ober Gatlinburg and very close the the GSMN Park entrance. Highly recommend, clean, comfortable and affordable.

Room Tip: Great views of the street and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your review of your most recent stay. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access Ober Gatlinburg, The National Park, and all that downtown has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion because the hotel we usually stay at was booked. We had stayed at the Clarion about six years ago and it was nice then. Unfortunately they had not changed anything in six years. It was dated and not the cleanest. The rooms are small unless you get a suite and the tiny bathroom does not have a ceiling fan. The housekeeping came at 9 am ( way too early) then they never came back after you left for the day. The only blanket on the bed was paper thin and no extras in the closet. The only good thing was the location it's in downtown next to Calhouns. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The hotel completed a one million dollar remodel in fall of 2011. The hotel apologizes that your stay didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Overall pleased with stay. Staff very nice and friendly. We booked last minute and had to get the last room they had: king suite. While we did not need that much room, it was nice to have all that space.
Cons: the closet was basically NOT a closet. It was like it was a last minute idea to put a space for clothes. TOO SMALL.
The vanity needs vanity lighting. The lighting was too dark for me to see to apply make up. Bath lighting needs to be updated.
Overall we were pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Clarion's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Clarion Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Clarion is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.