We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Smoky room in the Smoky Mts.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brookside Resort to your Saves list
Brookside Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   463 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Smoky room in the Smoky Mts.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room had a fireplace, but even with the fireplace doors closed, there was a smoky smell all the time since it had never really been cleaned out from the previous time someone had used it. The place was being renovated, but none of the rooms available had been renovated yet. I think they were working on the conference center area first. All the people we met there were there because of a special deal through Groupon or Living Social, so I guess that was the only way they were getting any guests.Also, even though it advertised that all rooms had a balcony on the streamside, it was really like a roaring river.So loud that we had to turn up the tv to the max volume to hear it when we had the window open! Breakfast was in a small room with very limited choices: sweetened cereal, bagels, English muffins,biscuits/gravy, and fruit on the day that the "cook" was not there. We were all looking for something with a little protein, and finally got the "owner" or manager to make some scrambled eggs. Beds were clean, carpet was stained, and the tub had stains on it, or else it really needed a good scrubbing. The whole unit definitely needed renovation, but they should have a bigger crew working on it so that it would get finished faster, and have some "finished rooms" available when reservations are made.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms before you check in, to make sure it's okay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    127
    76
    48
    58
See reviews for
133
155
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nashville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Brookside is an older typical Gatlinburg hotel. About a block off the strip, easy walk. Our room overlooked the Pigeon River. Beautiful sight. Desk staff very helpful. We didn't eat the complimentary breakfast because too crowed.

Room Tip: Room 305. Has a vaulted ceiling and very spacious. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Read the most recent reviews, this place is a craphole.

So we rolled the dice with a living social deal at this hotel. Sucks we did. We arrived at the hotel and to be honest, I was giving it a chance because the lobby area of the hotel was extremely outdated, not just slightly, but 100%. It's like I took a step back in time to 1975. I'm ok with that, if it looked brand new, but it definitely looked and smelled very old.

We were given metal keys for our room. Yes old style original metal keys. So if you're staying at this hotel (which I recommend you don't), def lock all the locks on the doors so someone with a bump key doesn't break in.

So we go up to our room, open the door and it smells old, cold and a tad moldy. The carpet was stained (see pics for all of these problems), the door had a crack in it (which tape was just placed over it on the inside it that was falling off), the molding around the kitchen area was all chewed off, paneling covered EVERY SINGLE WALL. The bathroom still had a "steam bath" device hooked up to it, it was extremely out of date. Gotta love avocado color right? Wrong. The shower also had a sliding glass door on it, but the top was covered in the glass as well so when you shut the door, it was extremely claustrophobic. The "kitchen" area had a bathroom vanity sink in it and a large mirror... so was it really a "kitchen" area because there was a microwave on top of the counter?

I backed up the toilet once I got there and when I called the front desk, they said that plungers don't work on those toilets because the piping was old and the guy at the bring a big ol snake for the toilet into the room. so after about 5 min of fiddling around with the toilet, it finally flushed. The guy was really nice, but the hotel just plain sucked.

I could hear people through the walls on both sides. The fireplace was nice in our room, but we were never given anything to light it with.... I guess they expect everyone to smoke these days and carry a lighter, so we never made a fire, but did have some embers from the person above our fireplace fall down and I could hear them stoking the fire as I was trying to sleep.

We locked ourselves out of the room because we were never told NOT to push the button on the knob before we shut the door. I've always locked a door by pushing in the button. Well they informed us this was the "master" lock and only a master key would unlock it. so after I drove to the front desk (proper it split up into building units and we were the last), they came up about 30 min later and the guy was fiddling with his keys and wasn't even sure he had the correct one to let us in. He finally found the right key and let us in.

And this "breakfast bowl" they make look so great in the pics, is an egg casserole made in a lasagna dish and served in a lovely Styrofoam bowl. This was only given to us when we asked. It seemed as though it's something they advertise, but don't want to actually part with.

Read the reviews, look at the photos I posted and don't stay here. Put your money into another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This must of been a great place to stay years ago. The setting is very nice with the river running right through the resort. The rooms were very big with a fireplace and the back door opened up to a little porch looking right over the river. You can tell the setting was carefully designed and lots of work put into the rock walls etc.. But with all things it is time has come and gone.
The breakfast was good but the women running it had such an attitude and had a tip jar that said feed the kitty with no money in there. Like I said some things just need to be gone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After driving for hours with my husband and little girl we were looking forward to a good rest. We checked in and walked into a room from the 50s. Now i was expecting a little bit of outdated, but this should be considered thrift store furniture. The bed sheets were nasty. The strip is about 1.5 miles away. The strip itself is about 2 miles then a 1.5 mile walk back to the hotel. So if you walk all the way with little ones thats almost a 7 mile walk. NOT really convenient. Either way, the hotel was truly nasty and we checked out after the second day. Definitely will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the worst experience at a hotel ever. I checked in today and did not get what I booked on Priceline. I paid extra for a fireplace smoking room. I got a room that had no fireplace, dank smelling, no microwave as it said on website. I went to front desk and was told it was pricelines fault and they did not even try to help me out. I asked nicely for a microwave since I am staying two notes and brought food and was supposed to have one, the gentleman said we would try to do you one, I do not think he even tried. Told them Internet was not working and he said they would reset router again not done. So so disappointed. I can't see how anyone writes a good review. I think when you book through Priceline the give you the crap not cool. Do not stay here I am forced to stay another nite and so regret not paying a few extra dollars for a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Brookside is not a Hampton Inn. It is an older resort that is being upgraded. I stayed there recently (Mar 2013) and I have no complaints. My two adjoining rooms were clean, had new carpet, and was what I needed. The prices are in line with similar places. I have stayed there several times and find we really spend little time in the room. It's a great location, my four teenagers walked back and forth to the Parkway and we had no issues. The Brookside is a family owned resort and the economy hits them as much as the rest of us. I saw plenty of work being done quietly towards the resort upgrade. The fixtures we had were older and whether or not they will be replaced doesn't matter. On top of everything, during this past visit, our maid found a set of keys outside and asked me if they were mine. My teenaged daughter had dropped the keys and we didn't miss them until our maid found them. This is a good place. We are planning to return later this year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Address: 463 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you’re on the property, it feels like you’re in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a Pavilion for covered picnic facilities, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 heated pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", an Oatmeal Bar with brown sugar, raisans, dried cranberries and pecans, a variety of cold cereal, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg’s premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent tens of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, inroom safes, new linens much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.