We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but clean and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brookside Resort to your Saves list
Brookside Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   463 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Warren, IN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dated but clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As all the other reviewers have stated, this is a throwback to the 70s. However, the room was huge and clean. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. One of the jets didn't work in the jacuzzi tub and none were very powerful, so it was nothing special. My parents stayed in the room next to us and had a fireplace in their room. I kind of liked the atmosphere!

The staff was very helpful. I loved the outdoor balcony overlooking the brook! It's away from the hustle and bustle of the main attractions, which we liked. There is a trolly/bus that stops right in front of the office which will take you practically anywhere you want to go and saves you the money on parking. Would have been nice to have wi-fi or even high speed internet in the room.

Breakfast was nothing to brag about, but it was enough to get us on the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    49
    40
    46
See reviews for
96
109
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I read previous reviews on this motel that were favorable. However, when we arrived with our pet to stay two nights, the room was "NOT" at all what we expected! We felt like we had stepped back into the 70's with the way the room decor was (paneling, furniture, etc).....but that was not the worse part. The carpet was absolutely filthy, the veneer on the front door was peeling off, there was a large rip in one of the chairs, the bathroom was dirty and there were water stains all over the ceiling. The only reason we are giving it a one star is because the view from the rear balcony was beautiful overlooking the stream. Also, we were supposed to have Wifi and kept trying to access it but keep getting a server error. We had to end up walking to the office lobby to use the Internet. Not once did we get an apology for our inconvenience, especially when we told the clerk when checking out that our accommodations were less than desirable. We are not sure if all of their rooms are this bad but felt because we had a dog, we were stuck in this sub-par room.
Please reconsider before making reservations at is place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not worth the money. The stream was nice off the balcony. Is very old and dated. The breakfast was terrible. It was stated as a full breakfast was only dry bagels and a egg casserole that wasn't ready when they opened and the coffee was cold. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Older hotel with spacious rooms, fireplace, balcony overlooking brook. Badly in need of up-grade - carpet was very stained. Beds were clean and comfortable, bath was clean - thouugh fixtures were old, wear/tear on the facility is obvious. Elevator broke down shortly after we arrived. Breakfast didn't start until 8 a.m. Coffee only, and attendent had to keep making it. Toaster kept trowing the circuit breaker. Only fruit were some apples and didn't appear very fresh. Staff was friendly enough, but couldn't get the computer to work to provide a receipt at checkout. Over-priced. Could be a really nice facility with up-grades and then the price would be about right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A lovely place with very friendly staff. The fireplaces in rooms are great. The balcony overlooking the brook.is great. We also slept with the window open to listen its just so peaceful and nice. The jacuzzi tub was a surprise but nothing to write home about. We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This motel is quite old and shows it's age but was clean and spacious. The balcony overlooking the stream made the stay perfect. However the free breakfast was probably one of the worst we have ever had in a hotel. We ended up going to a Pancake place across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just checked in and got to our room after a long traffic filled trip to find an amazing space that immediately made us feel at home! I'm sure that from our very first viewpoint that this place and stay will not disappoint! Thank you in advance Brookside...I know we will be back in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Address: 463 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you’re on the property, it feels like you’re in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a Pavilion for covered picnic facilities, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 heated pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", an Oatmeal Bar with brown sugar, raisans, dried cranberries and pecans, a variety of cold cereal, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg’s premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent tens of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, inroom safes, new linens much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.