We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brookside Resort to your Saves list
Brookside Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   463 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This became our fall back hotel since the first was terrible. It was little bit costly for the age of the hotel. But beggers could not be choosers. Overall we liked it. The creek helped with sleeping, fireplace was cool, size of room was great. Door did stick and was hard to open and the elevator slammed open and shut. But the rooms were solid so unless something was really loud like a car alarm, you could not hear anything like at other hotels. Breakfast was free and simple, again free. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Get into newer part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    48
    40
    46
See reviews for
96
108
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon in the smokies we found this place through Travelocity. The hotel staff here was so friendly and helpful i couldnt belive it. We travel a lot as professional wrestlers and have stayed in dozens and dozens of hotels. The staff here was by far the most outgoing friendly people we've encountered. The pool and hot tub was Awesome and our room was HUGE! We got upgraded to the king we had a fireplace a full kitchen and a big hot tub in the bathroom. We highly reccomend this place as we will stay here every year for our anniversary we possibly can.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The people were so friendly. The rooms were a little out dated, but who cares they were super clean. Super cheap, so who could ask for anything else. Their event center was great also. It was nice, clean and big.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked on booking.com which gave it a good rating. The pictures of the property are so photo shopped. The rooms are large, dirty, smells musty, and very old. The furniture and carpet need replacing. I would never suggest going to the Brookside. No breakfast, unfriendly staff. Not worth the price. Halls and elevator filthy. Long walk to the main street and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We too read the reviews and even had some locals at a restuarant kind of roll their noses up when we told them where we were staying but the sheets and bathrooms were clean and the creek running behind the room is very relaxing. We too slept with the window open. Wife and I loved the sound of the running water. Rooms are dated but hey, I've stayed in much worse for this price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Brookside. We love the friendly people, the creek behind it, the location, and the price isn't bad either. ;) ... Brookside isn't your fancy hotel, but it is very clean and we have never had a problem with anything. The girls loved walking along the rocks at the creek and playing on the swings at the hotel. The breakfast was the best free breakfast we've ever had! Not a lot of choices, but it was really good. We stayed 3 nights this past trip. We plan on staying there again next time we visit Gatlinburg. :)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a fridge and microwave ;) Not extra charge, but really helps with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesburg, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here at Brookside for two nights and we loved it. Yes the room was old and outdated with the wood paneling and gold tub, tile, sink and toliet, BUT VERY CLEAN. We felt like we had just stepped back into the early 70's, but that only gave the room more charm and character. Also the room was surprisingly large and very roomy, we loved having a fridg., micro., and coffee pot. And a metal key for entry so cute. The balcony out back was wonderful over looking the rushing creek, just the sound was so soothing and relaxing. The pools outside were beautifully kept with a big waterfall. The breakfast was good and hey it was free no complaints here. The only complaint I would have is NO WIFI at all, not even at the front desk. But thats the mountains not good reception I guess. We will stay here again, and wish we had found this place 15 years ago when our kids were little, they would of loved the pools with the water slides ,play ground and the creek out back to play in. It may be old but it is nice, and we didn't smell any musky smells and we were in the older section at the end. Love your place Brookside!

Room Tip: We stayed in older section but we loved it, and the rooms were huge, we had a room with 2 queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Address: 463 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you’re on the property, it feels like you’re in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a Pavilion for covered picnic facilities, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 heated pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", an Oatmeal Bar with brown sugar, raisans, dried cranberries and pecans, a variety of cold cereal, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg’s premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent tens of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, inroom safes, new linens much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.