We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn
Save
You added Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Grassy Branch Road, PO Box 707, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned from another wonderful visit to Hippensteal's Bed and Breakfast. We've gone there once a year for over 10 years and are never disappointed. Such a beautiful place, with a breathtaking view. Vern and Lisa are always so welcoming. The inn is clean, comfortable and so relaxing. If you go, make sure to take time to spend on the porches and relaxing at the inn. You need to soak in the peacefulness of the mountains. The breakfasts are outstanding and evening dessert is always decadent. They will share recipes if you ask! One of our favorite things to do is have pizza and a bottle of wine on the porch and watch the mountains disappear as the sun goes down.

Room Tip: We like the corner rooms on the 3rd floor- great view and lots of windows. All rooms are exceptiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbern, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was hubby and my first bed & breakfast experience and I am willing to bet we won't find another one this fabulous for a long long time...if ever! We were so very pleased with every aspect...so much so that we are going back in just a few months! If you think b&b's aren't your thing, give yourself the experience of hippensteal's. It's wonderful!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are my fav...but, all are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

In 2002, as we were buying a painting at the VERN HIPPENSTEAL GALLERY, a brochure for this "B&B" caught our eye....the clerk suggested we take a drive up there and look around....we did, and we fell in love with it immediately.....without even knowing how fabulous the breakfasts would be (to say nothing of the evening desserts!). Our first stay was the next year, and we just completed our 7th....going from a single day initially, then two...three....next time will be four! This trip, our first night featured a downpour, but the next two were absolutely perfect....we made sure to finish the day's activities, including dinner, to get back to the Inn between 5 and 6 pm, to be able to enjoy the evening and sunset from the porch....heavenly!!!

Room Tip: Going to hippensteal.com will give an overview of the rooms, by theme, but given their low vacancy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We really enjoy this beautiful inn. What wonderful people- everything is first class.We try to go every year because it is such a great place to relax. The bedrooms are lovely and the view of the mountains can't be beat. I can hardly wait to try the desserts in the evening and the wonderful breakfasts served by Vern, himself. Thanks again for such a wonderful retreat, Vern and Lisa. We will be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

The hospitality, the peace, the view, the breakfast, the friendships, did I mention the breakfast has never been beaten for Carolyn and I during the last twenty something years. Thank you Lisa and Vern.
Harold Vann

Stayed June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have stayed at several B&B's but this was the most comfortable one we have stayed at in this area. Very hard to get into, and the other guests we met were all repeaters. This was a gift from our family, and a very memorable visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

The Hippensteals have a beautiful and relaxing retreat at their inn. We stayed in the guest house and our room was extremely clean and exceedingly comfortable. The location in the mountains is beautiful and inspiring. There is a lot of art all around the house but we were never pressured to purchase anything. The inn was full when we visited but we frequently felt like we and our friends were the only ones there- it is a quiet place and peaceful. Breakfast at the Hippensteal is a production! The meal is probably enough to tide you over until dinner and it is decadent! We also loved being able to wander over to the kitchen to get a fresh baked cookie or cup of tea at any time. All in all it was a wonderful getaway and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn

Address: Grassy Branch Road, PO Box 707, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hippensteal`s Mountain View Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippensteal's Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.