We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Eight Gables Inn to your Saves list
Eight Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   219 North Mountain Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plano, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June and although new management has just taken over, it was a fantastic experience. The rooms are in three different buildings but they are closely nestled together with beautiful lush landscaping. This is just outside of Gatlinburg and it is so quiet it's hard to believe the circus atmosphere of the town is just down the road. But you are only a couple minutes from town. We were in "Heart of Roses" room which was in the main house and it was so roomy, more so than the pics may look. Clean and fresh, and a dessert awaits you on the turned down bed each night. The wrap-around porch on the main house has rocking chairs and a large swing. Just delightful! Breakfast is served at individual tables in a dining room and you will not leave hungry. Everyone we dealt with was so friendly and helpful. Just loved the stay. By the way, go to Smoky Mountain National Park! Unbelievably gorgeous!

Room Tip: I have no doubt all rooms are great. Just depends on how many beds you need or what size you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    31
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
276
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were going to hike up Mt LeConte and I had seen others review this B&B as being welcoming of guests staying before and after their hike up to LeConte's Lodge. We knew this B&B to be beautiful due to the pictures on their website, but take it from one who has stayed in hotels, resorts and B&B's all over our beautiful Country, this place is a bit of heaven in a town full of a lot of second rate establishments. They are a part of the "Select Registry" for B&B's and let me tell you, that's a hard title to come by. They deserve it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and well decorated. The inn is spread out in three different areas and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently returned from a lovely 6 night stay at Eight Gables Inn. We celebrated our 1st Anniversary there and are very happy with our choice. We stayed in the Grand Orchid room which is very spacious and beautiful! The entire Inn is beautiful, quiet and relaxing. The breakfasts were very good as were the desserts. The staff is great! They are friendly and very accomodating. To our surprise, when we arrived we found out that the Inn has recently changed ownership (the week we were there). After reading all of the reviews and speaking directly to Guy prior to our arrival, we were somewhat concerned to find that he and Lee were no longer running the Inn as we had read such wonderful things about them. However, we were not dissappointed in the least. We enjoyed everything, from the accomodations to how the staff carried themselves and made every attempt to make sure we were comfortable and happy. It was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Eight Gables Inn is a nicely situated property tucked away in a quiet, wooded spot, close to the park entrance (beautiful mountains and valleys) and convenient to downtown Gatlinburg (which has more than a touch of boardwalk atmosphere). The lodging rooms are in three separate buildings, and the original main building (22 years old, but built with attention to charm) houses the breakfast dining room, lobby and shared parlor. If you want easy access to these features, it is best to stay in the main building. Breakfast is filling and well prepared. The staff is excellent and focused on the customer experience. Guy and Lee sold the Inn in mid-May and are no longer the innkeepers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights at the Eight Gables Inn. They are under new ownership but to us the transition was seamless. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Spared nothing in the decorations. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent. Ice, water bottles, coffee, etc always available. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Can view the rooms on the web. Each is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Eight Gables at the end of a wonderful 3 week tour through some of the Southern States. We had wanted peace and quiet and to get away from it all and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the "Tea for Two" room (one of the gables rooms) and we really liked it. The picture on the web didn't do it justice, it is much much larger than it seems and much nicer with a lovely bathroom to go with it. They had a really good mid-May offer which we took advantage of. It was excellent value for money.

Gatlinburg itself was quite a shock - we have never seen such a busy (and not in a nice way) little town by any of the national parks. We went hiking in the NP every day and only had one dinner in town which was okay but nothing special. We therefore decided to picknick on the porch the other days!

Sadly Guy and Lee (who were just lovely!) have sold the inn now (they literally left half-way through our stay) and the new manager hadn't started when we were staying there so I cannot comment on how the inn will be run going forward, but we certainly had a nice time.

I would not stay in Gatlinburg because it had a very crowded and touristy feel about it and we were quite stunned at all the amusement arcade type places there. However, the Eight Gables is far enough away from downtown and feels quite secluded. I am a very light sleeper and didn't hear a thing from the other rooms or indeed the road which was great.

If I had to pick out anything at all that could be improved it would be to clean the bathroom floor every day (it wasn't cleaned at all during our 3 day stay) and to re-think the free offerings. The candy bar doesn't seem quite right during times when so many people are overweight though I can understand that it is a cost-effective solution for the inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for our 5 year anniversary. The room had everything we needed. The location was good, nice and quiet. Only a mile to downtown area. The inn keeper was not my cup of tea, however most might enjoy him. The turn down dessert wasn't that great. The breakfast was wonderful and service was great. Beautiful outdoor area, nicest place I have seen so far in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eight Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Gables Inn

Address: 219 North Mountain Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eight Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gatlinburg, TN offers 21 luxurious rooms and suites. All rooms have private baths, cable TV, feather top beds, plush bathrobes, personal amenities, telephones, and several feature the warmth of fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Our rates include a full breakfast and evening desserts.Eight Gables Inn is conveniently tucked away minutes from Downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Our casual elegance and charm will delight you. Eight Gables Inn is easily accessible to great restaurants, golf courses, shopping, Dolly Wood, musical theaters, white-water rafting, hiking, nature trails and horseback riding and Knoxville is just thirty miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Eight Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Gables Hotel Gatlinburg
8 Gables Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.