We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buckhorn Inn to your Saves list
Buckhorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2140 Tudor Mountain Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
seattle washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I would love to keep this place a secret, but that wouldn't be fair. It is wonderful. The location is magical, the rooms are beautiful, the service is friendly and the food is the best in town... really.
Would love to come in all four seasons, but fall was lovely!

Room Tip: we had room one in the main building and the view was beautiful. Room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    26
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
240
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent our anniversary weekend at the Buckhoen Inn. From the moment we arrived it was just wonderful. We had an amazing view of the Smokies from our bedroom and the Inn was just charming. We booked dinner for our first evening and we were not dissapointed. The food was excellent! It was so good that we booked dinner for our next free evening, and again it was excellent. The breakfasts are a treat too. Gatlinburg itself was a little dissapointing - very touristy - but the Inn and the mountains made up for it. We will definitely be planning a trip back to the Buckhorn Inn in the future

Room Tip: A mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I researched long and hard to find the Buckhorn Inn. Since we enjoy B&B's and have been to many, this is at the top of our list. We stayed in a cottage that looked out to the mountains.
All the grounds, rooms, main hall, quiet areas etc are extremely well maintained. You can tell alot of time and effort and thought went into this Inn.
The owners are there almost every morning and are warm, welcoming and very interested to make sure your stay is going good.
Their food is so good. Our son in law is a high end chef and we know good food when we have it. Buckhorn did not disappoint. We were glad we had dinner twice, but should have been more.
We were also given maps and tips of where to go and what to see and do.
So helpful and glad to answer any question.
Sitting on our porch at night watching the sun set is so beautiful. Very quiet too.
We felt pampered for the entire week.
We would surely return when in the area again.
This is not in Gatlinburg, which is a good thing. It is on the Arts & Crafts loop. Great shops. Also the Wild Plum Tea room they told us about was so fun.

Room Tip: our cottage was great but I'm sure all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Buckhorn Inn in the Tower Room. At the time it was the only room available and we were not disappointed. It was like having our own apartment. The bedroom is at the top floor and you literally lay in bed and look out at the tree tops. This room is for those physically able to handle narrow steps, but just a darling room layout.

The morning breakfasts were outstanding - bananas foster french toast, eggs benedict florentine, blueberry pancakes, etc. Service was wonderful - the staff was so personable and the owner came out each morning to greet us (a wonderful personal touch). You can make a reservation for dinner and it is definitely worth it - the four course meal was again amazing and such a wonderful setting in the dining room, looking out over the Smoky Mountains.

The owners take great pride in ensuring their guests are well taken care of and have great information on hiking trails, attractions, and other restaurant recommendations.

The property has a wonderful nature trail which is well worth exploring (and even it's own pond with 2 friendly swans). There are also cottages that couples and families can rent.

If we return to the Gatlinburg area we will definitely stay at the Buckhorn again. It truly was one of the best lodging facilities we have ever stayed at and we travel a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms would be wonderful; the tower room is exceptional but you must be able to travel up narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had always heard that this was a good place to stay so we thought we would give it a shot. We looked it up online and looked at the pictures and it looked great and the pricing was good. So we went. The room we booked was different than what was shown in the Internet picture. most of the furniture was different, not as nice. The carpet was dirty. It had the overall appearance of a place that was running down. We were disappointed. The inn keepers were an older married couple. The gentleman was nice but is wife was not nice. We noticed that almost everyone there was 60 years or older. They provide breakfast and you can eat dinner at your expense. I would rate the food as decent but not off the hook. I would not go here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee M, Owner at Buckhorn Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We were very sorry to learn that this guest did not enjoy her visit to the Inn. We so wish we had had an opportunity to respond to her concerns when she was actually at the Inn. I can assure all propsective guests that we do not post deceptive photos of our accommodation. To do so would be self-defeating as guests would be disappointed and our reputation would suffer. If this guest would contact us directly we would welcome an opportunity to understand her experience more fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Another fantastic week at the Buckhorn Inn. The hospitality and service are outstanding. The rooms and grounds are maintained to perfection. The breakfasts are extraordinary. The dinners are superb. We cannot think of a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you want a romantic getaway, we recommend one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I went to Buckhorn Inn for our anniversary dinner on Satyrday, Sep 1, 2012. We did not stay at the Buckhorn Inn, so this review is only about the dinner meal. The Inn is very clean well appointed and I would suspect their rooms are as clean and as nice as their restaurant.

They have a dinner meal every evening at 7 pm. Reservations are required. The Buckhorn Inn offers a very elegant dining experience at a reasonable price. The price was $35 per person (without wine). You can choose from their wine list or bring your own and pay a $5 uncorking fee. We chose to bring our own wine, which would be my advice.

Our meal was the beef tenderloin accompanied by a salad, soup, a side of green beans and one half of a small twice loaded baked potato and of course dessert. The meal was absolutely superb and the service was excellent and professional. Plenty of food for my wife and i. The restaurant dining area which is warm and inviting, beautifully decorated with 2 separate rooms and was full the night we were there. The weather was perfect and we sat on the porch in the rocking chairs right outside the dining area. Breath taking and romantic. There were young people there as well as seniors. We count ourselves in the senior market of 50+.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or who just wants a great meal in the Gatlinburg, TN area. Get there early for a good parking place and so you can enjoy a glass of wine on the special porch with a fabulous view. Not recommended for children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.