We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buckhorn Inn to your Saves list
Buckhorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2140 Tudor Mountain Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$280 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 12 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stellar place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent two wonder days at the Buckhorn Inn. Our room had a great view of the mountains, the property was well maintained, the hosts were most hospitable, and the breakfasts memorable. There's no doubt that when we return to the Smokies, we will stay at the Buckhorn again. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    28
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
253
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in cabin #6, wow place had a very romantic setting. Very neat, clean and just enough room to make you feel at home. Oh and the juccuzi tub ...wow. Need I say more!! Also the Hearty Breakfast, was exactly that! It was just a Fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Cabin #6, Screened in porch to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine, and Jacuzzi tub! Go For It!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A lovely hideaway in the foothills of the Smokies. Relaxing and peaceful-great for couples. We stayed in cabin #2 and just loved it! Clean, tastefully furnished with plenty of room for two. The cabin had a small refrigerator and 4 cup coffee maker, full living room and a jacuzzi tub that felt great after a long day of hiking.
The gourmet breakfast- no continental breakfast here- was delicious and served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the Smokies, We especially enjoyed the Gusto coffee, it helped put an extra spring in our morning hike!
We ate at the Inn one night (you must make reservations and dinner is served at 7 pm only) and we were both happy w/ the 4 course meal. Our hosts Lee and John Mellor were very attentive to all details , and to their guests..The perfect hosts.
If you are a couple looking for a beautiful relaxing week or weekend, look no further- this is the place. We are already talking about when we are taking our next visit to the Buckhorn-it's that great!
Kathy and Charlie

PS (also the artisans in the area are very talented and we found the artwork and crafts to be both beautiful and reasonably priced)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Arriving at the Buckhorn Inn, we knew we chose the perfect location. The Inn is secluded in the mountains but near Gatlinburg and the Arts & Crafts community. When we arrived, we were graciously met by the innkeeper, Lee Muller. We found out that Lee is a fellow East Texan so we felt we had something in common. She upgraded us to a premier room, which was beautiful, comfortable, and had an outstanding mountain view.
The Inn had a wonderful breakfast each morning with a limited menu to order from. There was fresh fruit, biscuits, muffins or coffee cake, and coffee and juice every day. We could choose from things like lemon souffle pancakes, cream filled crepes, and the best omelet I have ever eaten.
They have a set dinner each night and you have to make a reservation for the dinner. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious.They also have fresh baked brownies or cookies every afternoon, along with coffee and an assortment of soft drinks.
The service at the Inn is very friendly and they go out of their way to help you and make you feel at home.
I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone making a trip to the Gatlinburg area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony and a mountain view are the best. They have cottages, but we liked the convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is probably our fourth visit to Buckhorn, this time to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. We stayed for two nights, including two breakfasts and two dinners. (Look for mid-week specials on off-times like late winter/early spring and most of the summer) The service was spot-on as always, as was the food! We stayed in Cottage #3, a rustic space with a good-sized living room, bath, big bedroom with King bed, and two outdoor sitting areas (a screened-porch and also an open porch). There is also a small fridge, microwave, sink, etc.
We enjoyed the one-mile nature trail, and as always we LOVE how quiet and relaxing it is here.
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The first four cottages are older (1 & 2 are stand-alone, 3-4 are a "duplex" but no ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently returned from our stay at the Buckhorn Inn, very close to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. We would highly recommend this inn to others! Our room was comfortable, private and spacious with a breathtaking view of the mountains from our windows and balcony. Each morning we had a sumptuous breakfast with fresh fruit, fluffy home baked pastry and our choice of main dishes. At our request, the inn prepared a delicious box lunch that we could take on our hikes into the park. And one night we enjoyed a delicious four course dinner in the dining room. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. It was a wonderful, relaxing, restorative respite in our hectic lives. We hope to return and feel this inn is the perfect place to stay in an otherwise very crowded area. It is away from the main tourist area, but not too far away if your goal is to visit the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently returned to the Buckhorn for our 4th visit. We unfortunately had to cut our visit short. We, as always, found it wonderful! We enjoy the quiet, solitude, and wonderful treatment we receive. Try the Buckhorn when you are in the area! We will be back for many years to come.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. They will make helpful suggestions to ensure you get the "right"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, peace, and solitude emanate from the pine and hemlock forest surrounding Buckhorn Inn, while the ever-changing view of the Great Smoky Mountains across mountain meadows of wild flowers never fails to inspire the visitor. We offer a range of Gatlinburg accommodations, from full, private guesthouses to private cottages to traditional inn rooms. Pick the Smoky Mountain lodging that fits your style and length of stay and plan your Tennesee vacation today! East Tennesee's classic country inn, The Buckhorn offers the grandest Smoky Mountain views of any Gatlinburg bed and breakfast. Elegance and period charm mix with the inn's friendly, romantic atmosphere of a Smoky Mountain lodge. Buckhorn has been a favorite destination for visitors to Gatlinburg, Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains since 1938. Situated less than a mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Buckhorn Inn is convenient to all activities and attractions in the area including hiking, arts and crafts, musical theaters, and the Pigeon Forge Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckhorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.