We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Inn to your Saves list
Chalet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Sunset Drive, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We walked into our room and walked right back out went to office and requested a refund. Photos on website are very misleading. Extremely old and out dated. There has been no renovation or updating since property was built. I have never seen a hair dryer like the one in the room. Bathroom extremely

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are sorry the accomodations were not what you were looking for. We are beginning an extensive renovation process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    21
    15
    32
See reviews for
33
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

was not a nice place to stay, the bed was clean, the curtain to the balconey was torn and would not close all the way, husband went to take a shower hot water was barely warm, needs lots of improvements done when I went to take a shower the water was brown, the price we paid $65.00 should have been a lot nicer, we went down the road got a place for $29.95 a night it was wonderful. was musty smelling.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of undertaking a process of addressing these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bavaria, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As a participant in Interval International, I was appalled with the condition of this hotel, if you want to call it that. The carpet was filthy and the room reeked of moth balls. The first night, we pulled out the sleeper sofa to find rat feces. Not mice, much to large. Had to use the sweeper to clean it up as the office was closed. We notified the office in the morning. They said they would sent housekeeping up that day. Had they done that, they would have seen the dead mouse still on the floor where the sleeper folds into. When we reported the feces, we also reported the dishwasher not working. Again, they were to send someone up to repair it. We had to notify them a second time before anyone came up. There were zero hangers in the closest. This would have been nice since we had snow jackets and pants to hang up. When we asked the office for additional laundry soap, they charged us for it. I thought it was a little absurd with all the other issues from the room. After all, 6 people came to play in the snow. That means extra clothing, extra laundry. We won’t stay there again and we will be sharing our thoughts of the place with Windham and all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks for the post, Amy, but I believe you may have our motel confused with another property, as we have no affiliation with Wynham, we don't have sleeper sofas and we don't have a room number 8B. Let me encourage you to give us a try on future visits to Gatlinburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Hotel is situated at a very convenient location and a scenic background. It is just next to all major attractions. However hotel maintenance is horrible. The rooms are not kept well. In fact the room where I stayed the toilet was blocked causing flooding in the room. And they were not willing to change the room then also. Nor did they refunded any money for discomfort Caused. DONT USE THIS HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night in October. For $90, we got a king room with a twin add on. It turned out to be like a suite. The twin room was average side, but the king side had a fireplace and couch, with plenty of space. Things were older though. The bathroom was very small, and the shower temperature would randomly change from time to time while you were in it. It is about a block from the end of the strip (light 8 I believe) and the hotel manager told us to watch out for bears in the parking lot. Overall it was a good stay,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Room service steals your personal belongings and does not clean properly. We will not bring staying here while in town ever again. Rooms have awful smell and the fireplace has not been cleaned out for use. The heater smokes causing the smoke detector To go off no batteries in the hall smoke detector.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I pulled into town with no reservations in July and got a good deal on a room. Close to town, nice outdoor pool, 2 blocks from the park entrance and 2 blocks from the main street for some peace and quiet. Next to a nice stream. Very friendly service. You can't stay that close to town for less. It's an older hotel but reminds me of the way hotels should be in a vacation town. I'll stay there again for that price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Address: 516 Sunset Drive, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.